We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #48 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great find”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having never visited Brighton before I had no idea where would be good to stay but we really struck lucky with this hotel. The location was great, just off the seafront and a very short walk to wonderful shops and restaurants. The room was very clean and spacious and beds comfortable. One of the best showers I have ever had in a hotel too!
We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was delicious. On my next visit I will definitely try out the bistro in the evening as the menu looked very good.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only negative for me was that I found the communal areas to be too hot. Luckily, heating in the bedroom could be turned off.
I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, very quiet but you need to be fit with all those stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us, as we pride ourselves on our service and product.

As you pointed out, we do have rooms on higher floors, however we are always more than happy to assist with guest's luggage, should they require.

We hope you return to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    207
    85
    36
    46
See reviews for
88
285
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here for one night with a colleague whilst in Brighton on business. From start to finish - the team couldn't do enough for us. Check in was quick yet efficient and my suitcase was carried up the stairs to my room which was a lovely touch! We ate from the set menu and it was great - I would highly recommend the Crème Brûlée as that was delicious! (a signature dish I was later told!). Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked with locally sourced ingredients and it showed. It was one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel and the larger chain hotels could learn a thing or two from this property. Overall it was a lovely stay and a shame it was only for one night. Will definitely go back when next in the area and cannot speak highly enough of the team at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Cat_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully you can return again soon and stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This was second time we have stayed here. Lovely little hotel.staff are very helpful. Our room this time was on second floor, we found the room to be too hot( same last time) , but were able to turn heating down. Shower could have been bit more powerful. Toiletries are good. Breakfast was fine, local produce. We were able to leave our luggage and collected it later, which was a big help as we had business in Brighton. We thought it was a fair price to pay for a comfortable night. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dinah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for returning to stay with us, and we do hope you will become one of our regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful little boutique b&b hidden away in kemptown. A wonderful owner and host who pays close attention to detail. His staff are also wonderful and very welcoming.
We booked deluxe double room and it was lovely with cute touches around the room. Breakfast was great and you can basically choose what you like and they cook it fresh for you. What we were most impressed about was the valentines event. With it being awful weather we decide to stay and enjoy the French bistro and a five course meal for £25 per head was great value for money. We had a bottle of champagne as a treat as the meal was so cheap! I always expect to pay at Least double that on valentines day. The food was perfect ...... We normally stay at the queens but not anymore I think we found a little hidden gem that we will definitely return to!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much and I am so glad we made your Valentine's special - we hope you will stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We just came back from a one night stay for Valentine’s and loved the New Steine. Being Valentine’s, we wanted to treat our self to a nice a boutique hotel and found it ticked all the boxes. Our room was a lovely boutique room with all the luxury toiletries you expect from a boutique hotel including dental rinse. The bed was comfortable and the art work was very funky. We had dinner in their restaurant, we had booked the diner package, the food was delicious and very French. We both had the same, Duck foiegras to start which was just as good as the one we had in France during our last visit if not better followed by the sea bass with a pastis sauce which we both thought went really well with the fish. Sometimes, boutique places tend to exaggerate when it comes to drinks so we were haply surprised by the selection and prices of wines. The hotel uses a lot of local produce so at breakfast the food was equally good. On check out, we were offered to leave our luggage which again is a great service as the weather was nice and sunny so we wanted to go for a long walk on the beach front. All in all, we would definitely go back and do not hesitate to recommend this little boutique hotel in Brighton, a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

this is a really lovely guest house, ideally located very close to the sea and lanes. The room was small but spotless, a good value stay, friendly staff. The cooked breakfast was very good too! We shall definately return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we hope you can come stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The New Steine boutique hotel in Brighton is a comfortable place, with well appointed rooms, good cuisine and very friendly and attentive staff. There is a 24-hour service and there seem to be plenty of staff on hand at any time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#76 of 93 in Brighton
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#26 of 93 in Brighton
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#28 of 93 in Brighton
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#30 of 93 in Brighton
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Property: New Steine Hotel
Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing