We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value, delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Three of us booked a 3 person room at the Gulliver Inn, but they must have overbooked, so they put us up at their sister hotel very close by. Although up many poky stairs, we thought the room was comfortable for 3 people; a king size bed and a single. Perfect for a girl's trip!

The shower, though like standing in a coffin, had AMAZING water pressure and was just the ticket for washing away jetlag. Just wonderful!

Breakfast was delicious, I wish we stayed a couple more days to enjoy more of their great food. Brighton was a great town to visit. I'd go back again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moma_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do own and operate both the New Steine and Gulliver's, right next door to each other, and when possible we do like to allocate larger rooms than originally booked if available, which was the case on your booking, and I am glad you were pleased.

The rooms are upstairs and though we do not have a lift, we are happy to offer assistance with luggage.

We hope you will come back to see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    202
    81
    36
    42
See reviews for
83
280
57
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WANTAGE, OXON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My online booking was for Gulliver's Hotel, but my room was actually in the New Steine Hotel, a couple of doors away, with the same owners.Check in was efficient and friendly but my heart sank when I discovered that my room, 106, was up several flights of stairs, which I am not good at. The second downer was that my booking stated " There is a hand wash basin in the room. A private toilet and shower is outside the room". The shower was actually in the room, but the "private" toilet was two flights of stairs below, and was for general use.
Other than these fairly major problems, everything else was fine. Although very small, the room was adequate for a one night stay, very clean with a crisp cotton duvet cover and pillow cases, thick towels, toiletries, tea and coffee making equipment, biscuits and bottled water. The bed was comfortable and the shower efficient. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked to order with local produce, good bread and served by friendly staff. I would certainly stay there again, as long as I could have a ground floor room!

Room Tip: Check how many flights of stairs you need to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHYTEROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review - we do have ground floor rooms, but unfortunately none of them are the singles, but we would have been able to offer a rate for you for one of the ground floor rooms been available. We do encourage guest's to contact us as soon as they have a booking with any requests, so that we can best advise and try and offer what we can to ensure a pleasant stay.

With regards the bathroom, each of the singles (which are the only non-en suite rooms) have a bathroom each allocated, so they are not shared or for public use, and I am sorry if you thought this.

We do hope you will return again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Keep smiling as you are phoned by the hotel while on your way to tell you one of your rooms has been "double booked" on "the other system" by "a colleague"!!

Feel comfortable as the staff talk about you in French while you are checking in!!

Take time to enjoy the dirty teacups that "housekeeping" have left in your room for your use!! Feel safe as you realise your room is protected only by an ancient yale lock!! Feel rested after you've endured hearing your neighbours walk up and down the stairs to reach their bathroom!!

Feel the emotion build as you realise your "deluxe" room has an extra bed crammed in to achieve that hostel effect, and that your bathroom is so tiny a cat couldn't begin to swing itself, and you have to have a couple of ribs removed to sit on the loo!!

Wake from your sleep - in the tiny double that has your feet well over the end of it - to the pleasant aroma of drains from the tiny bathroom in the middle of the night!!

Feel very spoilt by the coat hook on the bathroom door falling away and the massive hole in the wall by the side of your bed!!

Be amazed by the cold "Full English" breakfast, having to mime to another waitress of French descent a well-done fried egg while she limits you to a half a cup of coffee a time!!

And as an encore, realise that you have spent two night sleeping on bedding over a mattreess protector with old, dried in blood spots on it, and laugh as the receptionist promises to change them - after you have checked out!!

Then realise with relief that you will never have to stay here again!!

A mustn't-see experience for all the family!! And all this for little over £300 - now that's comedy!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry if everything was not as expected. I note from your booking record that you had two rooms booked within the £300 mentioned for 2 nights, and I believe the guest in the alternative room was happy with everything, but I am sorry if this was not the case for yourselves.

The error in the original booking was an administrative error and as soon as it was noticed you were contacted. An alternative room was offered and, to ensure you were happy with the change, a discount was offered, of which you accepted.

The team we have are made up of many nationalities and I am sorry if you felt they were speaking in French about you - I can assure you all our team are professional and may have just been discussing the booking or an alternative matter, but we do want our guest's to feel looked after and they will be spoken to about only speaking English in front of guests.

With regards the Housekeeping issues, this is below standard. As you should see from other reviews we usually score very highly for this element and I know that as soon as it was reported, the situation was rectified. Also, I thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to light and these too have now been actioned, and we do wish you had mentioned these during your stay and we could have resolved this sooner.

As for the stain, there was a small mark on the Mattress itself, and I can assure you this had been professionally cleaned and the offending mattress protector at the time disposed of. As a standard, our Mattress Protectors are cleaned and replaced regularly.

As for the breakfast, apologies if this was not to your liking, but from our daily log book it is noted that this was replaced straight away and a fresh breakfast prepared for you to your requirements, which I trust was ok.

I am truly sorry if you did not feel that everything was up to our standards, and I do wish you had spoken with our team during your stay, as we could have addressed any issues straight away.

We take all comments seriously and all matters have been fully investigated, and any issues fixed, and I thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My first time visiting Brighton and when we return we will look no further than this great little hotel! Situated a stones throw from the beach and few minutes walk to the pier. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. Helpfully they have a parking permit scheme going which was good as I had previously been told parking in Brighton is a nightmare. The room was quite small which was expected but was perfect for the two of us, shower was great(I always look forward to good shower in a hotel as mine at home is rubbish!!) view was of the sea and over looked a green, was surprised by quiet it was despite the location. Breakfast was a little small to be honest but maybe I'm greedy! All in all a great place to stay. We will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope you will return again soon to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My family of two and I stayed at the New Steine a couple of nights as we were visiting Brighton College during the Easter break. Excellent location, walking distance from the College and the Brighton Pier. Nice, clean, airy rooms. The friendly staff and their willing attitude requires particular mention in this review.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review - we pride ourselves on our product and service and it is so good to have that recognised. We do hope you will come visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for one night. good place right near to town and sea front. People very friendly although all foreign. Our room was right up on top floor, lots of stairs to climb with heavy suitcase. Nice clean room and modern. Big queen size bed which was lush. Breakfast was good. Help yourself to buffet and order cooked breakfast. Maple pancakes with bacon excellent.
Car parking right outside hotel but expensive for 24 hours. You can purchase a ticket for £7.50 from hotel and park a couple of roads away for 24 hours.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you stated you would stay again.

We do have concierge services to assist with luggage to our higher floors and I hope this was offered during your stay

We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Comfy beds, good shower facilities etc good breakfast choice - full English offered
, croissants, etc. Very clean rooms, Pleasant staff, very sociable, good location to Brighton. thoroughly enjoyed the stay...and will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much and we do look forward to your promise to return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#74 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#40 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#29 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Property: New Steine Hotel
Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing