We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4* definitely a B&B”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #45 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not 4* definitely a B&B”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

How this property was given a 4* rating beggars belief. It is a bed and breakfast and not a good one at that. Staff not at all friendly, Jane the deputy manager unable to give a refund for an appalling stay as she didn't have that authority and the Owner/Manager was out of the Country! We were a large group of 5 rooms and the New Stein could not cope. Many many issues with the showers and toilet, eventually having to use a shared toilet that had not been cleaned even though we had paid for ensuite. When I took up our issue with the owner/manager he was extremely rude, and fabricated there issues with us to prevent a refund. DO NOT STAY HERE if you are looking for good hospitality you will not receive it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Janice V,

Thank you for your review. Feedback from our departing guests is always an invaluable source of information, so that we may continually maintain and improve our services to a high standard for our guests.

We are disappointed to hear that you did not find our staff friendly or welcoming during your stay. We are often commended by our guests for our personalized service, which we do indeed value highly and so it is an unusual occurrence to receive a negative observation such as your own on this matter. We do understand however, that you may have already been disheartened by a few problems in your room.

As was mentioned during your stay and over the phone post departure, we are very sorry for any problems you might have had with your bathroom. Please note that of your five rooms, only one was reported to have problems.

We are grateful for your understanding that some issues are not ones that can be foreseen and as soon as we were aware of the problem i.e. running toilet and low water pressure, we were able to source emergency weekend maintenance to fix it. In addition our public facilities are checked and cleaned regularly 24 hours a day for guest usage.

Please be assured that we are well experienced with large groups, some even larger than your own; and we take great pride in being able to offer memorable weekends for many different occasions e.g. hens/stags, birthdays and even weddings! Unfortunately however sometimes things happen which are beyond our control and we can only attempt to fix them at the time and put in place suitable preventative measures that might help deter them from happening again. Alternative private facilities were made available to you during the few hours of maintenance, although we do regret that this was not satisfactory for you.

Please be aware that customer satisfaction is of the highest priority for us and we always hold ourselves accountable when service or quality levels of the hotel fall below standard. We do not by any means evade monetary compensation to our guests, when indeed this is due. But we do also take the comfort and relaxation of our other guests into account, as well as the standard of our rooms and in such cases when disturbance and damage has been caused, we must take this into consideration when offering refunds.

Thank you nonetheless for your feedback. Your comments have been passed directly onto the owner of the hotel and we the management team are already taking action to ensure an improved service for our future guests.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    202
    81
    36
    42
See reviews for
83
280
57
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had booked as a group & had 5 rooms in total, the rooms were pleasant but much more like a b&b than 4*. One of our party quickly discovered they didn't have a working toilet or shower & running water that couldn't be turned off. They were unable to sleep from the noise on the 1st night they were then moved & the shower didn't work there either. All our showers were either freezing cold, scolding hot or the water would stop running completely all during 1 shower, very frustrating with a head of shampoo. The rooms were boiling hot, they said ours was air conditioned which was a unit almost the size of the room which made a defending din. The staff either didn't understand English or were just rude but what I most shocked at is in complaining on our return we were told that other guests had complained about our noise (the 1st we heard of it) and that 1 toilet was vandalised (by women in their 60's) furthermore in my own room a towel was blocked into plug hole & water left on to flood rooms. I was last to leave the room & evything was tidy & there was certainly no water running or towels in sink. I'm appalled that on receiving a valid complaint they have told such lies, we are respectful people that would never treat anywhere in such a way, all we expect is working toilet & showers when we pay to stay in a hotel. I'm fuming that they made so much money from us & are so unapologetic over the problems we faced & have then lied. Places like this make me feel customer service is dead. Once they have ur money they couldn't care less. Thanks for attempting to ruin our stay in Brighton the new stein luckily it takes more than a cold shower to dampen our spirits. The lying now we're home really is bad business, u should be ashamed of yourselves. Leah Francis

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1981leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Leah Francis,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and for allowing us to take this opportunity to address some of the concerns outlined in your review.

We are very disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our service. We do apologize for any problems that were incurred during your stay. Please note however that of the five rooms occupied by your group, we only received reported problems with the bathroom in one of them.

Once we were made aware of the problems with the toilet and the water pressure, we immediately contacted our maintenance supervisor (who is not usually stationed onsite at the weekends) and he swiftly came in to address the issues. Alternate facilities were provided in the meantime. Unfortunately he did not have a look at any of the other rooms that you were occupying at the time, as we were not made aware that there was any need.

Like many of the boutique hotels in Brighton, we do not have air conditioned rooms as the temperature on the coastline often does not create need for them. We do understand however that when Brighton does have the pleasure of a heat wave, some rooms can get warm and so we provide fans upon request at reception. We do not advertise air-conditioned rooms, so in the past we have always found guests to be pleasantly surprised when they are allocated into a room with air conditioning. We are sorry that this was not the case this time.

Please be assured that we have a plethora of experience with groups who come to Brighton celebrating a special event. But unfortunately as is sometimes the case with large groups, certain problems can ensue. In such situations when the comfort of our other guests’ and the standard of our rooms have been compromised the situation often becomes far more complicated.

Please note that certain members of your group were made aware of the disturbance that they were causing, as our night receptionist was called up to their room by another guest who was struggling to sleep due to the noise. This was then further discussed with a member of your group the following day with management, so as to ensure that it did not happen again. Unfortunately by this time, the damage had already been done and our other guest chose not to stay the second night of their booking.

Please understand that for reasons such as the above, for the hotel to maintain our 4 star rating and for us to sustain our highly valued principle of good sleep quality, occurrences such as these cannot be tolerated. Damage to the rooms and the refusal to check out until hours later (thereby delaying the housekeeping team and preventing new guests from checking in on time) are also concerns that are taken very seriously by management.

We by no means wish to dis-value your dissatisfaction over the one bathroom which was suffering maintenance issues and we are sincerely apologetic for this. But we would like to assure our future guests that we always deal swiftly with unexpected problems that occur and that we are vigilant with regards to the comfort and respectfulness of all of our guests and at all times.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed at New Steine Hotel 7/07/14 to 11/07/14. Must say how pleased we were when we arrived,Pleasently greeted on arrival, checking in very easy, we booked a twin delux room and it was very clean, comfortable, nice large bathroom , really served our needs. Toilettries very good and notice saying if you needed more just ask. Food of a very good standard excellent breakfast sets you up for the day ahead, quite a good choice, freshly made to order. Staff very pleasent and helpful. Will certainly use this hotel again if we return to Brighton. 10 out of 10

Room Tip: room 114 very good, slight drawback is being at the front and could be a little noisy,but I am heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Hilda A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time.

It is always a pleasure to see that our guests have appreciated our services and we are most definitely proud of our locally sourced breakfast produce.

We look very much forward to welcoming you again sometime soon!

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

... when booking with this hotel when staying with young children. Both on their website and on the website in which we made the booking they stated that they were child friendly and offering cots/cribs and children's television stations etc. However, upon booking and providing our bank details we were informed that children under three were not allowed in the restaurant for dinner or in the dining room for breakfast. When we queried this they informed us that they didn't even so much as have a high chair for our daughter to sit in and that we would have to eat in our room. In light of this we asked to cancel our booking as we felt we had been misled into believing that we were booking into a family-friendly hotel as none of the above information was present on their website (which the website we made the booking with agreed and advised the hotel to update their website to include this). We were then told that we would not be able to cancel our booking and that if we chose not to stay that we would still be liable for the £387 fee for the three nights if they did not manage to re-sell the room. Needless to say they 'apparently' did not manage to re-sell it (which we pretty much guessed they wouldn't) and they have now proceeded to take £387 from our account without our prior permission !! Instead of just accepting their mistake (which they accepted that we had been mislead) and cutting their losses, they took our money !! No doubt the manager of the hotel will reply to this review with a sugar coated reply explaining that this was all one big misunderstanding when in truth they did not have the facilities they led us to believe they had to accommodate children and then proceeded to take the money of a hard working family who saved up so they could take their daughter on holiday. You should be ashamed of yourselves !!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you value morals as much as a decent nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Wayne R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us online. We are sorry to hear that you feel you have been wronged by us. As a 4 Gold Star establishment, our aim is to provide quality accommodation to our guests and it would never be our intention to deceive any of our clients.

Unfortunately many of the smaller hotels in Brighton are adult only establishments. This can at times be a more preferable choice for couples or business travelers or even parents who are just taking a weekend away by themselves. We however are delighted to be child friendly and to provide accommodation for all. We have nice large family rooms on offer sleeping up to 4 persons and we even have a more privatized lower ground floor with interconnecting rooms that are perfect for larger families.

As is mentioned on our website and those of our partner sites, we have a quaint and cosy restaurant onsite which acts as our breakfast room in the morning and our French Bistro in the evening. Because of the bustling nature of this area, our experience has taught us that for the comfort of everyone it is best not to have very young children in this area. For this reason we have since adopted the policy of offering breakfast free of charge in the room for those families travelling with children under 3 years old. This was by no means ever intended as a deception or insult to any of our guests and in the past we have often found that families are happy with this arrangement. Hence why we have continued with this practice.

Please note that when you had booked via Booking.com and indicated in the notes of your booking that you would be bringing your daughter, we contacted you immediately to reiterate our restaurant policy and to ensure that you had clearly seen online that we do not offer cot facilities and so it would be appropriate to bring a travel cot. We do apologize if you were unhappy with this, but we always make every attempt to make sure that our guests are fully informed and happy with their booking. If our guests have questions prior to booking, we do always encourage them to contact us directly and prior to booking, so that we can cater their booking specifically to their needs.

Furthermore, in reserving through a third party site, unfortunately you do enter into a contractual agreement to adhere to the cancellation policy and thereby pay any late cancellation charges due. As a gesture we did indeed offer to try and re-sell the room, bearing in mind that May is not yet high season and so the majority of hotels are not yet fully booked.

We are sincerely sorry if you believe that we have somehow wronged you and your family. In light of this incident, please be assured that we are already in the process of ensuring that this kind of misunderstanding does not happen again.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

we stayed at this hotel in june of this year .Very freindly people welcoming on our arrival and helpfull with how and where to park our car. Room was clean and all that you needed for the stay. Breckfast was again all that you needed and a good choice of menu. Short walk into the heart of brighton with plenty to do.You could allso eat an evening meal at the hotel which what i saw looked really good for the price. Areally must and we will go back again very soon .


dei and theresa

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for your lovely comments regarding your stay. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself and it was a pleasure having you with us.

We do hope that you can come back and visit us again sometime and indeed it would be wonderful if you joined us for dinner in our on site Bistro the next time you are in town. Don't forget that we also offer some very good deals on dinner inclusive, if you choose to book directly with us!

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOS
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Asked for an upper room with a view. We got the top floor, double room with a single. Really clean room. The view was of the top of houses and the Brighton Wheel. Pretty nice really. The shower needs updating and the shower head replacing. But other than that the place was great. Parking was ok too. They give you a voucher to park on the street for £7.50. Most places in Brighton are 18-20£'s.
Found staff at check in to be really friendly. The hotel is close to all Brighton's attractions. We would come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spydog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to write about it.

Please be assured that we have passed on your maintenance comments to our management team, who will make sure to follow up on any improvements necessary.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very clean and well decorated. The family room sleeping 3 was lovely and spacious. Only marred by the view of a white wall out of both windows. Breakfast was good but only if you totally explained what you wanted. I asked for poached eggs on toast. I got one egg on a plate and two halves of toast in a basket. It was however very nice. We had it cracked by day two. Pancakes gorgeous!! Extremely friendly especially Jane. Would definately go back. Location beautiful and a stone throw from the beach.

Room Tip: Ask what your view would be!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for all your lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy a view of the sea from your room during your stay. Indeed our rooms on the top floor of the building do have a safety wall in place and due to regulations, this is not something that structurally we are allowed to change.

However all of our Deluxe Rooms on the lower floors have wonderful views of Brighton seafront and these rooms range from Singles, Twins, Doubles and Family Rooms. Please contact us directly next time you come and we will endeavor to get you a wonderful ocean facing room for you and your family.

We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#74 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#40 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#29 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Property: New Steine Hotel
Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing