We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices - fantastic location”
Review of New Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Madeira Hotel
Ranked #70 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed at the new madeira hotel this week. Upon arrival we were very dissapointed with the room we were given as we was in a real dark n dingy room with a rather small window looking out over nothing other than the back of the building. The room also had an issue with damp and this was all coming down the wall opposite the bed. After asking the receptionist if there would be any chance of upgrading she said this would b possible and that she would speak with her manager. The upgrade cost us an extra £30 for both the nights we stayed. Which we didn't mind paying as we were given a choice of 2 family rooms. Both much nicer and more luxurious than the first room we were given with a sea view.
A great hotel to stay in if you are just wanting somewhere to sleep and not too fussed about the rooms. However if you make sure your getting a superior room the it isn't so bad.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoelouiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a hen weekend. Not really being sure of what to expect, I was very pleasantly surprised. It is slap bang on the sea front, just a stone's throw from the Pier. The room I had was very spacious, with good quality furniture, plenty of storage space for my things, a great tea/coffee/biscuit tray and a wonderful bathroom with a shower and a bath. The room was most importantly spotlessly clean! I didn't have a great view, but as we were simply dumping our bags and off back out, this really didn't matter to me. Upon return, we were greeted with a friendly scurity guard, which made us feel very safe. I had a great night's sleep in a very comfy and cosy bed, unfortunatley my friend could not report the same as she was above the adjoining night club part and was kept awake until very late. In the morning I enjoyed a second hot bath, and took advantage of a very tasty cooked breakfast, which impressively they were able to do as a fully vegetarian option. The lady on reception was also kind enough to allow us to store our bags whilst we went shopping before being collected. All in all, for the price we paid, this far exceeded my expectations. Personally speaking I couldn't fault it, but as mentioned, a number of the party did have a lot of noise from the downstairs club, so it would definitly be worth asking for a quieter room if this would bother you.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the club if late night noise will bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

As and addition to our "Never again " review, I emailed a complaint straight away. A month later and a couple of extra emails later, we had no apology, refund or even acknowledgement. Yes it's on the seafront but so are the toilets. Definitely slept in far better budget hotels. And to not even reply to an email afterwards is shocking service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xxx186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel is brilliant. I had a great sea view room on the third floor. The room was spacious and clean, and very bright. The view was stunning. This hotel is centrally located, in easy walking distance to all the sights, and the staff is very friendly. The beds were very comfortable, I slept as well as I sleep at home. I would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKorzerRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I was here on a hen weekend and found the hotel to be clean, tidy and my single room at the back of the hotel was nice and quiet with a very comfortable bed. I had a good nights sleep despite the club below however I can understand some of the bad reviews if you were unfortunate to be nearer the club like my friends who didn't get a wink of sleep as the club didn't shut until 4am.

All I'd say is that if you don't care about the noise of the club, or you're likely to be there partying until 4am yourself then great, otherwise you might want to request a quieter room.

Great location and perfect for what we came here for.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miimii34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

A reasonable hotel if you manage to get a refurbished room...which the people we were travelling with did. We however did not. Room was dated and minimal. I have stayed in nicer budget hotels. We had a damp issue going on, where liquid was actually dripping down one wall! We advised the hotel on checkout and all we got was 'oh sorry about that we'll have a look'. Hotel was attached to nightclub but no noise problems and hardly anyone went. Bar was reasonably priced during the day and increased in the night which was a bit off! If you're looking for a base near the pier it's just outside the big wheel.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becs00uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

i booked this hotel for a business trip. Nice place to stay after a stressful day! Right on the seafront, room was basic but had all i needed with nice seaview. Nice bar with reasonable prices. All the staff I met were very friendly.

Room Tip: Try the nice little italian restaurant located next street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris00101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#25 of 43 in Brighton
1,356 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 43 in Brighton
2,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Madeira Hotel

Address: 19-23 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £44 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Madeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Stayforlong S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Madeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing