We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a hostel, but the VIEW...did I mention the VIEW!”
Review of New Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Madeira Hotel
Ranked #69 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like a hostel, but the VIEW...did I mention the VIEW!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a lot of fun on the one night our family of five adults stayed at this hotel. The hotel is a bit funky, but that's okay, it's Brighton! Right across from the Brighton Pier, wow, what a nice evening view...although one of our rooms was on the backside of the hotel. Beds were comfortable but the hotel is very spare. Has gigantic windows that include warning signs -- not to fall out, make sure they are locked at all times, and one sign suggested not to step out on the balcony...good suggestion. While a little weird, that's what made it fun. Staff was also friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    81
    80
    38
    54
See reviews for
41
60
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Appalling experience! Windows were so bad, single glazed on a main road with added bonus of nightclub attached! We had to stuff gaps with newspaper and towels because it was so noisy and absolutely freezing. Curtains may have helped if they actually fitted the windows! The night manager just shrugged his shoulders at our 1am complaint which resulted in us packing our bags and driving home at 2am. No reply to our emails, absolutely disgusted by our treatment here. No wonder they ask for full payment up front!
Perfect for insomniacs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Arrived at 1pm on Saturday afternoon, although check in wasn't until 2pm they let us check in earlier as our room was ready. I couldn't believe how nice the rooms were, we had 2 rooms between 5 girls. ( triple and double room ) in the triple room there was a double bed and 2 singles, all very clean. We also had a little walk in wardrobe area! Plenty of mirrors for us girls getting flames up. Rooms were very clean... Possibly newly refurbished also. Overall stay was great especially for such good prices. Booking to visit again in February!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldilocks1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Upon arrival on Friday night, we were not exactly greeted but snarled at! The receptionist was not courteous, helpful or very friendly, but very abrupt and rude. There were no parking spaces available and not likely to be any on the following day, contrary to what was said on the Booking.com website. Only 1 key available for the room. The room itself was spacious, reasonably clean and with a fantastic view out over the prom and to the sea, equally the location was also very good.
Unfortunately, unknown to us, on the ground floor is the "Funkyfish" night club which stays open until 3am which when we phoned down to reception at approx 1230am we found out.
On our departure another receptionist was on duty to check us out, at no point were we asked if we had enjoyed our stay, we didn't even get a "Good Morning" or even a "Thank You".
The cost of this stay was £108.75 per night which did not include breakfast and also I paid over £35.00 for parking off site. A very expensive weekend away.
In contrast, we stayed at a 5 Star hotel in Cardiff last night on our way home - Cost £89.00 and all the staff in this hotel were polite and courteous.
I strongly suggest that the hotel owners seriously consider sending all their front line staff on customer service and hospitality courses.

Room Tip: Think very carefully before staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

No sound proofing and overpriced - we were charged £90. No lamps or wardrobes. Night club volume level in our room was equivalent to a stereo turned up high so sleep impossible even when wearing headphones. They should not be letting out those ground floor rooms. Feeling angry and sleep deprived.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldharbourgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night midweek break at this hotel in a supposedly superior double room with sea views. We had the sea views but there was nothing at all superior about it. It was tatty, old fashioned and noisy. Single glazed windows with rotten frames made for a very noisy night, where we had to buy earplugs for our 2nd night. The curtains which didnt even fit the windows were also moving on there own due to the draughts coming through ! It was a very uncomfortable tiring 2 nights and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone !

Room Tip: Just don't go !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamurphy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel has apparently everything going for it! It is well-placed (opposite the Brighton Wheel, just along from the Pier), has free WiFi and, in the superior room we had, a well-appointed and comfortable bedroom with a fabulous sea view. The window is single-glazed, however, so the street noise was readily apparent.
However, staying on a Saturday night, it also hosts a night club. If only we had read other reviews before booking! We were in room 124, next door to James M's room, and the noise was intolerable. Unfortunately, the hotel was full, so we could not be moved, and had to endure the noise until 3am. We did manage to get some compensation, since the room was more expensive than an equivalent Premier Inn, but I would advise anyone to certainly avoid the first floor at the weekend, unless you are a night owl.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms - higher up could be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#40 of 94 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#55 of 94 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Palace Guest House
Old Palace Guest House
#59 of 94 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Madeira Hotel

Property: New Madeira Hotel
Address: 19-23 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Madeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your New Madeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing