We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
hampshire england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“short break”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

very freindly, very helpfull, very nice hotel. a little noisy late at night ,but you must remember you get this in all towns over a weekend, sea views ,plus pier and wheel views great lovely sunny terrace where you can sit and watch the world go by, would stay again and would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    148
    75
    33
    34
See reviews for
25
236
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is simply not good enough to justify its prices. Its tariff is presumably premised on its location which is a double-edged sword: yes, it is on the seafront but that means you have traffic noise from the main road along the promenade and you cannot see the sea because the hotel's windows are so dirty. The first impression is underwhelming, as the reception is a dirty, half-finished construction project. Parking is extremely difficult at best, and you can expect to drive around the annoying one-way streets around the hotel for around half an hour before finding a space. Breakfast will not improve your impressions either because the selection is very basic and hardly features anything genuinely fresh.

The main reason we were disappointed, however, was that when we made the booking the hotel failed to inform us that our rooms would be directly on top of the bar, where there would be a party going on until 2am. This wouldn't be a problem if we were advised of it beforehand but not to have informed us is pretty deceitful. It is not acceptable to return to a hotel expecting a good night's sleep to find that your room is gyrating to the beats of a party fuelled by loudspeakers situated immediately beneath your pillow. Nor is it acceptable that when you raise this to the attention of the hotel management the following morning, no discount or reduction is offered.

This hotel has little to commend it. For the same price, there must be several hotels or B&Bs in Brighton which are much, much better.

Room Tip: Specify that you DO NOT want rooms 10 or 11 as they are directly above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Badger885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Had lunch on their terrace. Great food and good portions. Excellent price and wonderful service. Allow dogs and a lovely view. Go and try it yourself! The liver and bacon to die for and their puddings out of this world. All went down with their house wine at £9.00 a bottle. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Great stay - 2 night stay recently. We had a very nice room - large room with a great view of the sea and the Brighton pier. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A very homely feel to this hotel. In a great location, opposite the Brighton Pier and walking distance to The Lanes and some great restaurants, cafes, shopping etc. Free wifi a bonus. A continental breakfast was included with our room - was good value. Would stay again of we go back to Brighton.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Came down to Brighton for my birthday. Booked this hotel because of the price for 4 of us and the location. Right opposite the pier and near to all the bars and nightlife also only a 15 min walk from the railway station. The hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly and the atmosphere in the bar was great!
There was a lift to take us up to our rooms (both twin rooms with wet room) Both rooms were clean and the beds were very comfy. There was a kettle with tea/coffee and also an iron and ironing board. Ideal for a short stay in Brighton.
If you don't like nightlife and a bit of noise outside then I wouldn't advise on booking here!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

An excellent position. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Other reviews mentioned the noise from the nightclub late in the evening, we had a seaview room and didnt hear a thing. Also loved the walk in shower room, i normally use a bath. The only criticism would be, there were no bread rolls at Breakfast, which would have gone better with the lovely cheese's and hams, rather than sliced bread, but thats my personal choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

we booked a room through booking .com. Parking terrible , noisy filthy room. hairs in the shower dirt on the, floor awful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bes_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,082 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Property: Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing