We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What it says on the tin !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Londres
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What it says on the tin !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, which is very nice to see!
Comfortable bed, spacious bedroom (seaview one), double glazing windows, great location.
Bathroom is nothing special with a walk-in shower but it does not ruin it for you.
Just a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djou06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    142
    71
    32
    30
See reviews for
25
224
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I couldn't agree more with all the reviews about the friendliness of staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness, particularly of bedlinen and towels. But, the room we had was tiny and in desperate need of some TLC. The television didn't work. The communal areas had the feel of a run down B&B. For the price, i really don't feel that the hotel offered value for money, having said that all hotels in Brighton are hugely over priced so I suppose their prices are no different to anyone else. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed this weekend, two couples,in sea view rooms just above the bar below. Music and laughing until 3am and it,s winter! Noise was very bad, vibration from the bar was very bad. Police cars with sirens all night. Even the plumbing joined in at some point. Breakfast we were asked to leave the room so that it could be cleared, to make ready for the next people.... There were none he just wanted to have the place to himself and the other staff that were clearly trying to,sober up in the guest breakfast area. Well you get the point, great location nice room but sadly the rest makes it a,no go again. Enjoy!?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelfeedbackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed 2 nights (Was in Brighton because Nottingham Forest were playing there). Staff were all very nice. My room had a view of the big wheel and the pier. I liked the small bar and the breakfast was just right for me. Parking and finding the hotel was a bit tricky. I'd advise people to buy a parking permit from the hotel reception so that you can park on the streets outside. The multi storey car parks charge way too much and everywhere else there seem to be parking meters that only allow so many hours. I did drive around and around for ages (getting more and more stressed) until i stopped and phoned the hotel for advice. The hotel is in a noisy area so i'd advice you take ear plugs if you don't want to be disturbed late at night. I always use them anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoCorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Quick visit to Brighton and we needed a reasonable priced comfortable hotel. the Amsterdam hotel give us that. We just looked once in the internet and founded this hotel. The receptionist was very helpful and we quickly got our room key. Me and my BF was good nights sleep. There is plenty of do to.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSuslik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on the 3rd of November 2012 and loved it! We were a group of 6 girls on a hen night and this Hotel was perfect. All our rooms were clean and had flat screen T.V, tea/coffee making facilities and clean towels. The beds were a bit hard but still slept fine with clean sheets. On arrival there was a bit of confusion over the rooms as we had all booked independently but that was soon cleared up and we were told we could check in early which was great. The parking was fine, we bought a permit from the hotel for £5 and parked on the street. We went out for the evening then returned to the hotel as they were holding a themed night which was fab. We went to bed and from our room (37) we could just hear slight bass line coming from other clubs, not enough to keep us awake! After sleeping, we went down for breakfast and we were offered tea or coffee by the lovely waiter as soon as we sat down. Breakfast included,consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, toast,croissants and a selection of cold meats and fresh juices. We all decided to have a cooked breakfast which we paid £5.95 (I think!) for, and it was lovely! All in all a great place to stay right on the sea front, with ultra friendly staff. We will definitely be returning :))

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_chemist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed here for one night. It was a Saturday and they did tell us on the phone when we booked the room that they have a bar on the ground floor and it stay's open till 2 in the morning, so we booked a sea view third floor room. We did hear the noise of the bar but really didn't bother us. The room (32) was nice, sea view was lovely. The best thing about this hotel were the staff, the young man on reception was so so helpful trying to get us a car parking space, which BTW is the hardest part of the stay! We got one in the end after a very long time driving round the streets. The breakfast was really yummy, the cheeses and ham were so fresh we really enjoyed it. Would stay in this hotel again as great location and staff made it a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Property: Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing