We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We came down to Brighton at the last minute on Friday night and could only get booked in elsewhere for 1 night en-route so needing to find a room for a "2nd night" in Brighton we called into The Amsterdam on Saturday morning. Although fully booked the very helpful, and friendly staff did all they could to secure us a cancellation if one came up when the whole of Brighton was fully booked due to events in the town that weekend making find a room impossible which was more than any of the other 10 or so large Seafront Hotels we popped into even offered to do. They kept in touch by phone and were able to offer us a room by early afternoon, The Hotel reception immediately looks & smells very clean and fresh, All of the staff on every shift are very welcoming and eager to help in such a friendly way. The room was bright, spacious airy, clean and fresh, with immaculate bed linen and towels with a spotless bathroom. The bed was King Size and we enjoyed a very comfortable nights sleep so much so we forgot to go down for Breakfast. We had a side room with views of the sea and the Brighton Wheel. This hotel has lovely little personal touches from the toiletries, to the door mats and the bed dressing. The A Bar was a lovely friendly, comfortable relaxing venue to spend as many hours as you wished taking in the view of the seafront and we enjoyed a few cold beers & cocktails before we went out in the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be the only hotel we book in Brighton on any future visits. As with any busy seaside town parking needs to be planned into the equation if travelling by car and this hotel provide permits for local zoned streets etc if you have not chosen to park in one of the local multistorey car parks for the whole weekend as we had already done.This hotel is in a superb location for the Pier and seafront, socialising, eating out and walking to all the local attractions,The Lanes and all Brighton has to offer. If you want a friendly, clean base with home from home facilities ( ironing board, iron and hairdryer, hot drinks/kettle etc all in the room ) in a great location for your stay with a lovely relaxing surrounding to enjoy in-house Food and Drink then we would certainly recommend The Amsterdam Hotel Brighton. The staff here are always there with a friendly face and cheery smile if you need them for anything at all but leave you to enjoy your stay your way which was perfect as staff at some other hotels tend to either over fuss all over you or are nowhere to be seen when you need assistance. All the staff here genuinely seemed to hope you had a lovely stay, Once you come across little gems like this you almost want to keep it to yourself, but, as it certainly made our weekend so much more enjoyable by finding it - we are happy to share our experience about this Hotel.

Room Tip: On this occasion we are only able to get a cancellation at the last minute - we had a 'standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnBWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, which is very nice to see!
Comfortable bed, spacious bedroom (seaview one), double glazing windows, great location.
Bathroom is nothing special with a walk-in shower but it does not ruin it for you.
Just a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djou06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I couldn't agree more with all the reviews about the friendliness of staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness, particularly of bedlinen and towels. But, the room we had was tiny and in desperate need of some TLC. The television didn't work. The communal areas had the feel of a run down B&B. For the price, i really don't feel that the hotel offered value for money, having said that all hotels in Brighton are hugely over priced so I suppose their prices are no different to anyone else. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed this weekend, two couples,in sea view rooms just above the bar below. Music and laughing until 3am and it,s winter! Noise was very bad, vibration from the bar was very bad. Police cars with sirens all night. Even the plumbing joined in at some point. Breakfast we were asked to leave the room so that it could be cleared, to make ready for the next people.... There were none he just wanted to have the place to himself and the other staff that were clearly trying to,sober up in the guest breakfast area. Well you get the point, great location nice room but sadly the rest makes it a,no go again. Enjoy!?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelfeedbackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed 2 nights (Was in Brighton because Nottingham Forest were playing there). Staff were all very nice. My room had a view of the big wheel and the pier. I liked the small bar and the breakfast was just right for me. Parking and finding the hotel was a bit tricky. I'd advise people to buy a parking permit from the hotel reception so that you can park on the streets outside. The multi storey car parks charge way too much and everywhere else there seem to be parking meters that only allow so many hours. I did drive around and around for ages (getting more and more stressed) until i stopped and phoned the hotel for advice. The hotel is in a noisy area so i'd advice you take ear plugs if you don't want to be disturbed late at night. I always use them anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkoCorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Quick visit to Brighton and we needed a reasonable priced comfortable hotel. the Amsterdam hotel give us that. We just looked once in the internet and founded this hotel. The receptionist was very helpful and we quickly got our room key. Me and my BF was good nights sleep. There is plenty of do to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSuslik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on the 3rd of November 2012 and loved it! We were a group of 6 girls on a hen night and this Hotel was perfect. All our rooms were clean and had flat screen T.V, tea/coffee making facilities and clean towels. The beds were a bit hard but still slept fine with clean sheets. On arrival there was a bit of confusion over the rooms as we had all booked independently but that was soon cleared up and we were told we could check in early which was great. The parking was fine, we bought a permit from the hotel for £5 and parked on the street. We went out for the evening then returned to the hotel as they were holding a themed night which was fab. We went to bed and from our room (37) we could just hear slight bass line coming from other clubs, not enough to keep us awake! After sleeping, we went down for breakfast and we were offered tea or coffee by the lovely waiter as soon as we sat down. Breakfast included,consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, toast,croissants and a selection of cold meats and fresh juices. We all decided to have a cooked breakfast which we paid £5.95 (I think!) for, and it was lovely! All in all a great place to stay right on the sea front, with ultra friendly staff. We will definitely be returning :))

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_chemist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 43 in Brighton
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £58 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing