We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competitive prices during The Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Competitive prices during The Great Escape”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I looked at a LOT of places and knew that Brighton would be busy because of the Brighton Festival but namely The Great Escape happening over the weekend - that I was attending.
I thought the price for a twin room was better than the competition & included breakfast & wi-fi and all amenities more than adequate.
The breakfast was a really well stocked, tasty continental with possibly the best brie I've ever had. here's what was on offer: 3 juices, coffee/tea, toast, jams, croissants, pain au chocolate, selected cheese (3 varieties), & meats (also 3), yoghurts, fruit salad and the option to pay for a cooked breakfast.
The staff were all absolutely amazing - friendly, helpful and attentive.
The location was perfect - opposite Big Wheel.
We luckily had a room at the side so avoided the downstairs music (which is late Fri/Sat only I believe).
The wet room bathroom wasn't ideal but the water was hot and all features adequate.
Yes the room was small but comfy bed & pillows and to be honest, Brighton is surely a place you're visiting to go out, not stay in?
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.
Oh and there's a lift for those who don't find stairs easy to use.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    154
    76
    36
    35
See reviews for
26
244
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great location and very friendly staff but room was really overpriced for one person. Room was clean apart from the telephone & shower. The room lacked a decent hairdryer, instead it had one of those like they have in leisure centres attached to the bathroom wall. As the bathroom was a wet room, I ended up with soaking feet, trying to dry my hair. The shower was terrible with a trickle of water and the head badly needed cleaning.
Luckily I was only there for one night for a conference but getting an early night was impossible as the noise from the music downstairs was unbearable. Breakfast was poor for the price I paid

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Good location, very friendly staff. Just used as a base for one night, so that we could go exploring in the lanes and bars. Accommodating in letting us leave our luggage there before check in time. Helpful reception clerk, who gave us an ice cream voucher! (unused) However - the room itself was small, but clean. Functional is the best description, would not want to stay too many nights, as bar below is quite noisy - but then Brighton is noisy - and fun!! Very close to the pier - easy walking distance to everything really. Brilliant couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our room was very clean and cosy however the view was awful. It was a very pricey one night stay and although it was a lovely place I did think it was over priced for what it was. The people were all extremely helpful and the location was very close to the front.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Spent one night before the marathon here; location is very convenient for the race finish. We had a sea-view room which was fairly substantial and did have a good view. Before the damage from the gales of course; right now the front is all covered with scaffolding so you cannot really enjoy the view. What you do get from Brighton pier, however, is a lot of noise until about 4 am. The bed was very comfortable, but it was difficult to sleep even with windows fully shut.
The staff is very good and friendly; there was some special effort to accommodate runners on the morning of the race, and for a small fee one could extend checkout to take a shower after the race.
The rates I found extortionate, but perhaps that was because of the high-demand weekend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

had a lovely one night stay here with my wife, staff very friendly and helpful, great location, opposite the pier and excellent rates - will certainly come back. The room was clean and we had a great balcony view and to make it better, the sun was out and we had a great time in Brighton, which is a fantastic city by the way. It can get rowdy downstairs late into the night but if you indulge in alcohol you should sleep through most of it. Seriously though, it is a bit noisy but it is located in a lively area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky_g_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I spent a long weekend in Brighton and stayed at one of it's horrors. I decided to check out and ask if it was OK to spend my final night at the Amsterdam as I had walked past it daily. Charles was an absolute Gentleman! I explained that I had not had the best time, had 2 broken ribs, and he invited me around within 30 minutes. The room was beautiful, accessed and immediately next door to a lift, the bed was tightly double sheeted (I expect particularly prepared for my injury), the wet room was fabulous and the staff so very kind (Duty Manager & Jefferson). Coming from within the industry, I choose not to be negative at all. There are no 'buts', for me this was just great. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepoissonrouge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,153 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Property: Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing