We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a very nice hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a very nice hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

Rooms and furnishings very basic. Shower smelly and with no shower curtain so water went all over the place. Terribly noisy so a good sleep was impossible and it was not possible to have the window open. Trading on its ‘gay’ name only but nothing to recommend it.open

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    142
    71
    32
    30
See reviews for
25
224
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

My partner Tom and I have drunk several times at the Amsterdam and needed to stay at Brighton for a couple of nights so it seemed perfect sense to stay at this hotel.
We had no problems booking in and were very surprised at how clean and pleaseant the boutique room was. This coupled with how Very friendly all the staff were we really had Fabulous stay keep up the good work Kev and Tom

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinpalmer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

I really don't know where the negative reviews have come from, about the hotel being uninviting or not clean etc. I think that those people stayed at a different hotel.
Me & my husband stayed for 4 days in may 2009 & i can't find enough words to say how fantastic the Amsterdam was. Our room was gorgeous & spotlessly clean & the price was really good. We were also in the heart of brighton which was fantastic too.
The food was outstanding along with the staff too. As a straight couple we were treated wonderfully & had the best time ever.
All the staff were so helpful & even went way & beyond their normal duties to help us in any way they could. We made some fantastic friends in the staff & can't wait to go back & stay there again. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now in Brighton. Keep up the fantastic job you are all doing at the Amsterdam, we had a fantastic time, thankyou all so very much.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eeyore_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2009

Nice-looking small hotel right on the seafront by the pier, yards from clubs and within easy walking distance of all the other fun stuff. Breakfast was good; the lack of fry-up mildly disappointed my partner but as a stuffy vegan I was thrilled to have more than one option available. Standing directly on the seafront there's always going to be some noise from outside, but we didn't find it too obtrusive. Quiet early nights, though, weren't the point of our visit. I stayed with my partner; though we are a hetero couple we were made to feel absolutely welcome. The spa's boys-only, though :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frimframsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

Having been looking forward to staying at this hotel, I was firstly very disapointed with the whole check in experience, what a distaster. The young man behind the desk firstly overcharged us and then give us a back room when we had asked for a sea view, the room was a disgrace, as a non smoker we were given a smoking room, as they were only a limited number of non smoking rooms, which in this day an age I find amazing. It smelt of stale cigarettes and damp, not a good combination. The room was tiny, with only just enough room to walk round the edge of the bed, no wondered there are no pictures of the standard rooms on their website.

On a brighter note, the bar staff were fantastic very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler080108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We stayed at The Amsterdam on a Saturday night in February and were very happy with the room and the service. The room had a brilliant view of the pier and out to sea, the bed was very comfortable, it was clean and had everything we needed (apart from a hairdryer). The staff we encountered, from the front desk to the cleaners, were very friendly.

People have mentioned the noise, and I must admit that even in February with all the windows closed it was quite noticeable. We got back to our room at about 2am and the party was still raging at the bar next door with people spilling onto the terrace under our window. Fortunately we were tired enough to get to sleep with no problem, but I would think twice about staying here in summer. If, however, you're a party animal wanting to sample the nightlife then this hotel is probably ideal for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

My partner and I have stayed at the Amsterdam a couple of times and have really enjoyed our stays.

We were a little dubious before booking as it is advertised as a gay hotel, but we were treated really well the whole time.

The reason we booked the amsterdam was it is one of the few places in Brighton that takes 1 night bookings and was able to give us a very spacious sea view double for £100 which is quite reasonable really given the location, view and fact that most places charge more and for 2 nights.

The room was on the 2nd floor and was very spacious with a nice big double bed, 3 big windows to make the room nice and light and the room was spotless, with a flat screen tv with free view.

Id certainly recommend the amsterdam to anyone (well, the room we had anyway) as its located perfectly for the pier, sea front and shops, its comfy clean, has fantastic views and is fair value for money, especially if your only doing one night.

  • Liked — View & The Bed
  • Disliked — Slightly dodgy toilet seat!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusthfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Property: Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing