We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Russell Guest House
Ranked #83 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My mother and I stayed here for 3 nights and although the location was very central, there was little else we enjoyed about the guest house. The property itself has no attendants which firstly feels quite unsafe, but secondly means that a charge of £20 applies if you forget your key. The room we stayed in (Room 1) was far from ideal, the cleanliness of the bed sheets was somewhat questionable and we felt rather reluctant to sleep in them. Our toilet was barely flushing, taking several attempts before it would empty, and the shower curtain was pretty filthy. Credit where it's due, the breakfasts were perfectly adequate (although you had to walk to a nearby hotel for them) and the one member of staff we actually came across was a lovely woman. However, neither my mother or I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evie480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    15
    12
    12
See reviews for
12
20
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting our son, we had room 4 which is a bit of a climb! Nice room with double and single bed, it's not palatial but very comfortable, everything you needed was there. We had a lovely breakfast in the sister hotel. The location was perfect, between the sea and the high street, five minute walk to either.
The only downfall for me was on the Friday night it was quite noisy later on with groups cutting across the square in front, it woke me a few times but didn't bother my husband!
Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13paula25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leysin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Booked this guest house because all other accomodation full for the Brighton marathon. Arrived on the Friday with wife and daughter to encourage son who was running; first had to call to say we were coming (though the booking said an e-mail would be sent for us to advise when we would be arriving, and this info had already been given). On arrival by taxi, we found road works going on right in front of the guest house with almost no direct access.
On entry, the smell was indescribeable: stuffy dirt with a layer of disinfectant spray, and residual smoke, dog and beer. A somewhat inebriated unkempt middle-aged couple were in the process of departing as we arrived.
We asked to see the family room: the beds were old and their bases in disrepair, the windows leaked rainwater, the bedcover undersurface had ingrained dirt, there were no bedcovers, the shower was so small you could hardly turn round inside, and the carpet looked shabby and sad.
The impression was so bleak that my wife and daughter decided they could not stay there. Because Brighton was very full on account of being the marathon weekend, it took a while to find alternative suitable accomodation.
The owner refused to accept any criticisms of his premises, and even argued vehemently that the carpet in the bedroom was new. (Whether true or not, it decidedly needed replacing!) The owner gave no confidence in his establishment, appearing as shabby as his own property, and only agreed to lift the cost of one night's booking. His comment was, well "you get what you pay for".
I do not recommend anyone to stay here, ever! It does not warrant a three star appellation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here for a Saturday night in March in room 7. This is a basement room with 3 single beds that cost us less than £100 (which is a bargain in Brighton on a busy weekend).

As this property doesn't always have a manned reception you will be sent a text message asking approximately what time you will be arriving. When we arrived there was someone waiting to check us in which took all of 5 minutes or so.

The room is ideal for a group of friends who simply need somewhere to stay, a shower and some breakfast. The room was basic but clean. Kettle and tea/coffee were provided. The bathroom is large and clean.

Breakfast is served at the sister hotel just around the corner. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and cheese is available as is a full English breakfast. You can choose any combination of your favourite ingredients (including double everything which we didn't realise until too late!).
The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the seafront and shops and about 5 minutes from the lanes. It is also very easy to find from Brighton train station (about 10 mins walk).

As the title suggests, this is ideal if you are having a night out in Brighton and then setting off early the next day.

Room Tip: Check the visitbrighton website for 1 night weekend stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikeymires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Having paid £60 for the room I was a bit shocked at the appearance which was quite decayed, having stayed at The Albion near to the pier a couple of months ago for the same price in a four poster.!!! But this guest house was pet friendly and we were able to bring our cocker spaniel to stay in our room which may not be allowed elsewhere. We were very pleased with the great breakfast at the nearby Adelaide, the owner, Chris, made us so welcome and made a fuss of Poppy. This guest house is in a great location but is in need of some T L C to bring it up to standard. We would stay again but feel £60 per night is expensive for a room which needs updating, but this is Brighton price, and demand is evident. Please expect to pay an extra £10 per night to park your car in a nearby underground car park.
Angela Wilkins

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelawilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed for a week on business. Positives were a great location (v good proximity to town, sea front, conference centre etc.), very reasonable price and a tasty breakfast.

On the downside the room was quite cold, shower wasn't great and the wifi was poor.

Certainly wasn't a bad stay but could have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dec1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Cleanliness obviously not a priority at this hotel.The staff were rude when I complained about the mouldy shower curtain, dirty kettle,lots of food crumbs left in the clothes drawer and the dirty towels left in the shower all day. I was abused verbally and told the kettle was only dirty on the outside not the inside,I hope they have lifted the standard since I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristinemackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelaide House
Adelaide House
#77 of 94 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel Schmotel
Motel Schmotel
#35 of 94 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#63 of 94 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andorra Hotel
Andorra Hotel
#70 of 94 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queensbury Hotel
The Queensbury Hotel
#9 of 24 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Guest House

Property: Russell Guest House
Address: 19 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Russell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing