We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique on a budget”
Review of Blanch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blanch House
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a lovely stay at Blanch House.

We stayed in the Morroccan room which is up on the first floor at the back of the hotel and so is lovely and quiet even on the busy weekend. The room is nicely decorated and well maintained. Some finish items could do with a bit of tifying up (pump dispensers not working on soap, light bulb not functioning on one light) but these were insignificant. The room is lovely and spacious and while the furniture was in keeping with the room some of the pieces seemed an odd choice - a wine rack for the television table (which meant the plugs were almost impossible to reach) and a low tray table where it would have been nice to have a chair.

The bed was very comfy with good feather pillows and lots of luxurious silky throws - we slept really well (something that ought to be standard in a hotel but often isn't). I also really loved the Morroccan lampshade which gave out a lovely soft light through its coloured glass (though my husband thought the room a little dark). Lovely touches in the room included a good selection of tea bags, fresh biscuit supplies and a few local magazines.

We only got to sample breakfast on one morning, sadly, as we were meeting friends elsewhere in town. On the morning we ate we had a very good cooked to order breakfast plus plenty of cereals and pastries.

We'll definitely stay here on our next trip to Brighton - Blanch House is one of the only places I've stayed in Brighton where I can say that not only is it fairly priced, it's good value for money. Plus Kerry, Andrew and the team went out of their way to make us welcome and to make suggestions about places to go, as well as rustling up G&Ts and taxis equally quickly.

Room Tip: Have a look round because the rooms are all very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss-figgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great location, our room had views of the sea, easy walk to The Lanes and pier. Fabulous rooms with lots of thought gone into them. Huge comfortable bed, delicious food. Service friendly, nothing too much trouble but not invasive. This was recommended to us and I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bpmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My partner arranged a stay at Blanch House as a surprise for my birthday. It was wonderful. We stayed in the art deco (red) room, which was grand, comfortable and had a view of the sea! The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about Brighton. The en suite was extremely clean and very modern. The breakfast was really tasty. I think we will definitely come and stay again and would recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fliss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A wonderful boutique hotel, close to the centre and seafront in Brighton. The rooms are all indiviually designed and the service in the hotel is second to none. I would recommend for both personal and business use, as the facitlites lend themseles well to both. A beautiful bar downstairs with the cocktails being the stand out highlight.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70ChrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at Blanch House as we were in Brighton for a wedding. So pleased we opted for this hotel; the room (Legacia) was very comfortable, tastefully decorated and very quiet, the breakfast was the perfect start to the day of the wedding and the ideal pick me up the morning after! But the best part of our stay was the lovely staff who made us feel so welcome; it was like staying with friends (unfortunately none of our friends have such a gorgeous house!). We'll definitely be back - thanks to all at Blanch House.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KDWKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed for one night and wished I could have stayed longer...such a comfortable bed! Delicious breakfast too. A stylish, comfortable hotel in a quiet location. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#5 of 43 in Brighton
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanch House

Address: 17 Atlingworth Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#2 Green Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £87 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanch House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blanch House is an intimate and friendly boutique townhouse Hotel; our personalised service means that you're our guest and we want to take care of you. Our glorious Regency town house is set in the heart of one of the most fun, vibrant, historic and bohemian areas of Brighton - Kemp Town and with the beach just yards away at the end of the street and a few minutes walk from everything Brighton has to offer, Blanch House is your local address.Each of our 12 highly individual rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, LED flat screen TV's, whilst a range of quality teas, coffee and home made biscuits, are provided to aid your relaxation. This is further enhanced by luxury Aromatherapy Associate toiletries and robes in all the bathrooms. We know just how much fun our guests like to have, and our Champagne, wine and cocktail bar, which serves a wide range of alcoholic and non- alcoholic drinks, sets the mood for entertaining family and friends or simply relaxing during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blanch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanch House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing