We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blanch House, say no more!”
Review of Blanch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blanch House
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 July 2012

2 day stay in Brighton @ Blanch House. Could not ask for any more, everything 10/10. If you stay you must try the scotch pancakes!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfcbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

I recently stayed at Blanch House as a solo female traveller in the Renaissance room. I found the staff friendly and helpful. There was a good choice at breakfast time and very tasty. My room was adequate for a single traveller although it was a double room. The bed was comfortable but the furniture looked tired and there was no chair in the room. There wasn't really room for one. However the small bathroom was excellent. On the Friday evening there was a lot of noise from fellow guests using the bar and again on Saturday evening there was considerable noise from the nearby pub. Overall I felt it was a little overpriced. Perhaps if I had been in a different room my rating might have been higher.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise of the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarysmumBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Blanch House is a delightful hotel with very helpful staff.
The room was clean, beautifully furnished and looked exactly as it did on the website!
Very comfortable bed and a great breakfast.
The location is perfect and quiet.
We plan to return very very soon! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at Blanch House for a couple of days mid-week in the Harlequin room. Kerry welcomed us on our arrival and we were treated as his own personal house-guests and made us feel extremely welcome, without it ever feeling oppressive or over-the-top.
The service and attentiveness from everyone we met was excellent - we actually went back to the house for a drink at the end of the evening rather than staying out in the town as it was so relaxing and friendly! The room was comfortable and quiet, and it was only a 10 minute walk to the lanes and central restaurants. The breakfast was very well done and we would stay again without hesitation!
I've stayed in a lot of the sea-front hotels in Brighton - Blanch House is much better value than any of them in every category - we'll be visiting again next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: Use their website to get a great view of the rooms. Harlequin is nice and quiet at the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padsbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend and from check in, the owner could not do enough. The room we studied in was the best on the house and did not disappoint! A 6ft bed and chandelier! Information was available on request and the breakfast the following morning was top notch. Well worth a visit for a b&b in Brighton.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicjg2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had a great stay from start to finish here. When I phoned up to check a few things before we arrived Charlotte was helpful and friendly in the phone. Upon arrival Kerry and Jeremy were the perfect hosts! Breakfast was fab with a wide range of food catering for coeliacs disease with gluten free sausages and the chefs fabulous homemade muesli! All round a great stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinball150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just back from a one night stay at Blanch House. We were made to feel welcome and valued guests from the moment we arrived. The owners and every member of staff we encountered were friendly and accommodating. Our room (Alice) was at the rear of the building overlooking a courtyard that is shared by a local pub. However, the patrons of the pub must be inside by 11pm so there was no noise to bother us. The fact that the windows opened was a bonus for us as we like fresh air, but the room does have air-con for days when the sea breeze isn't enough. The room was small but perfectly formed, it had everything we needed including coffee/tea making facilities and biscuits, hair dryer, huge fluffy towels and bath robes.

The only small fault is the lack of a well lit mirror, so getting ready might be problematic if you need to apply make-up or titivate hair, but we find this in the majority of hotels/B&Bs, so maybe something peculiar to us?

The pillows on the bed were the most comfortable I've ever slept on :) The breakfast was prepared to order and was excellent.

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone and we'll definitely be back next time we're out and about in Brighton.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#5 of 43 in Brighton
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanch House

Address: 17 Atlingworth Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#2 Green Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £87 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanch House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blanch House is an intimate and friendly boutique townhouse Hotel; our personalised service means that you're our guest and we want to take care of you. Our glorious Regency town house is set in the heart of one of the most fun, vibrant, historic and bohemian areas of Brighton - Kemp Town and with the beach just yards away at the end of the street and a few minutes walk from everything Brighton has to offer, Blanch House is your local address.Each of our 12 highly individual rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, LED flat screen TV's, whilst a range of quality teas, coffee and home made biscuits, are provided to aid your relaxation. This is further enhanced by luxury Aromatherapy Associate toiletries and robes in all the bathrooms. We know just how much fun our guests like to have, and our Champagne, wine and cocktail bar, which serves a wide range of alcoholic and non- alcoholic drinks, sets the mood for entertaining family and friends or simply relaxing during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blanch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanch House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing