We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully relaxing stay at Blanch House”
Review of Blanch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blanch House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderfully relaxing stay at Blanch House”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Had a really lovely time last weekend at Blanch House, great location with the beach just a few minutes away. Had a big room at the front, felt very luxurious and very quiet too. Jeremy and Kerry were great hosts and the cocktails before dinner were delicious. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    188
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
761
33
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hotel itself is stylishly decorated, and well maintained. We stayed in one of the largest rooms, which was art deco themed (not sure it worked, I prefer hotel rooms to be neutral), with a brand new bathroom, including a roll top bath.

Bed was exceptionally comfortable.

No air con in our room, although the cheaper rooms had air con (?). Wifi was unusable it was so slow.

Some of the smaller rooms are really small, so choose carefully!

The staff in this place really set it apart from other places I've stayed in town - they were friendly, helpful, welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and hot food cooked to order. My only gripe is that breakfast on the weekend starts at 8.30 - we don't all like a lie in on the weekends, way too late!

Definitely recommended for a weekend in Brighton.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreynano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed a Blanch House last weekend and cannot say enough regarding the wonderful hospitality and such a good breakfast. Room was small and some furniture a little tried but clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at Blanch House recently, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room which I stayed in was very stylish, clean and comfortable and the bed was incredibly comfortable! Location is great, being just a couple of minutes walk from the beach but far enough "out of town" to not be noisy. The fantastic breakfast was the icing on the cake. Would highly recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfcbun
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

2 day stay in Brighton @ Blanch House. Could not ask for any more, everything 10/10. If you stay you must try the scotch pancakes!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfcbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I recently stayed at Blanch House as a solo female traveller in the Renaissance room. I found the staff friendly and helpful. There was a good choice at breakfast time and very tasty. My room was adequate for a single traveller although it was a double room. The bed was comfortable but the furniture looked tired and there was no chair in the room. There wasn't really room for one. However the small bathroom was excellent. On the Friday evening there was a lot of noise from fellow guests using the bar and again on Saturday evening there was considerable noise from the nearby pub. Overall I felt it was a little overpriced. Perhaps if I had been in a different room my rating might have been higher.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise of the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarysmumBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan/London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Blanch House is a delightful hotel with very helpful staff.
The room was clean, beautifully furnished and looked exactly as it did on the website!
Very comfortable bed and a great breakfast.
The location is perfect and quiet.
We plan to return very very soon! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanch House

Property: Blanch House
Address: 17 Atlingworth Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#2 Green Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanch House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blanch House is an intimate and friendly boutique townhouse Hotel; our personalised service means that you're our guest and we want to take care of you. Our glorious Regency town house is set in the heart of one of the most fun, vibrant, historic and bohemian areas of Brighton - Kemp Town and with the beach just yards away at the end of the street and a few minutes walk from everything Brighton has to offer, Blanch House is your local address.Each of our 12 highly individual rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, LED flat screen TV and a DVD player, whilst a range of quality teas and coffee and home made biscuits, are provided to aid your relaxation. This is further enhanced by luxury toiletries and robes in all the bathrooms. We know just how much fun our guests like to have, and our Champagne, wine and cocktail bar, which serves a wide range of alcoholic and non- alcoholic drinks, sets the mood for entertaining family and friends when you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Blanch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanch House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing