We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Birthday Celebrations”
Review of Blanch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blanch House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I can highly recommend this lovely Hotel for a stay in Brighton. It is beautifully decorated with all the bedrooms being very individual, I stayed in Legacia which was divine. The bar is a great way to start the evening, the staff are all very helpful and jolly, and breakfast was a big hit and very needed ! Siony & the team couldn't do enough for us in terms of advising on where to dine on Saturday evening, booking the restaurant, providing maps and generally offering really great advice on where to go. Thoroughly fabulous and we will return, thank you very much.

Room Tip: We had Legacia, Galaxy which are 2 wonderful & large rooms at the front of the hotel, Sakura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPOUK, Owner at Blanch House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Libby
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent birthday celebrations in Brighton. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and your guests to Blanch House, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our rooms, cocktail bar and breakfasts. We are always happy to assist with restaurant and entertainment suggestions, and are very pleased that we were able to recommend a good restaurant! We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to Blanch House in the future. Best regards, Kerry Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    190
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
768
33
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at the end of October, the night if the storm.
After a hard days walking on the Downs, battling the winds, ir=t was a real pleasure to stay at Blanch House.
Don't be put off by the outside, inside it is warm and welcoming.
Excellent staff- I know most reviews say that, but they really were friendly.
Good breakfast.
Only downside is finding parking, but a few minutes search found a space.

Room Tip: All quiet rooms. They all looked pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPOUK, Owner at Blanch House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent stay in Brighton. We are thrilled that you found a warm welcome waiting for you at Blanch House after your long journey, and that you were very happy with our customer service and breakfast. We do understand that parking can sometimes be a problem in Brighton, but are pleased that it did not take you too long to find a space. We do hope to welcome you back to Blanch House in the near future.
Best regards, Kerry Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at Blanch House and have to say we are both very impressed with the service and quality received during our stay. The Peony room which we stayed in was beautifully decorated and the overall appearance of the hotel was excellent. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, ensuring our stay was enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious and had a great selection on the menu. The location is ideal as it's a very swift walk into the centre of town. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we'll definitely visit again in the future.
Hayley and Sam

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPOUK, Owner at Blanch House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Hayley and Sam, Thank you very much for your kind comments about Blanch House. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and were happy with the service you received from our team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Kerry Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My Partner Jo and I celebrated our civil partnership at Blanch House on 11th October 2013.
This was the first potential venue we viewed and we fell in love. We didn't bother with any other venues because Blanch House was everything we wished for.
From the early planning stages right through to the big day, Kerry, Josie and the staff of this gorgeous hotel did absolutely everything they could to accommodate us.
The Belle Epoque suite is intimate and beautiful and accommodated our 40 guests well for our wedding breakfast and the champagne and cocktail bar was the perfect setting for a party.
The food was delicious and the wine list was excellent. Nothing was overpriced and we felt that we had extremely good value for our money.
We stayed in the Perrier Jouet suite which had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and with its stunning elegance and tasteful decor, made a great setting for some photographs of myself and my wife which are beautiful.
Many of our guests stayed at Blanch house in one of the gorgeous themed rooms and they have all said how welcome they felt and how lovely the hotel was. The breakfast was excellent and Jo and I came away having had the most perfect day of our lives.
We have nothing but praise for the team at Blanch House who made sure that everything went smoothly and that our guests wanted for nothing.
Thank you Kerry for helping us to have the most fabulous wedding day!! We will most certainly be popping round for cocktails!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPOUK, Owner at Blanch House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Katy and Jo,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure to host your special day at Blanch House. We all thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and your guests and so pleased that you were delighted with the wedding breakfast, champagne and cocktail bar and the décor of your Perrier Jouet guest room. We all very much look forward to seeing you both soon for cocktails!

Our very best wishes to you both. Kerry and the team at Blanch House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just returned from my second stay at this excellent hotel. After a long day travelling on business from Yorkshire, I am always really made to feel very welcome. Kerry and the staff at Blanch House go that extra bit further to ensure your stay is perfect. Every part of the hotel is impeccably presented. Kerry has a real eye for detail and this shows in everything, even down to the small detail in the rooms.

The location is adjacent to the seafront and perfectly positioned for venturing out into Brighton. Without hesitation I would heartily recommend this hotel to all. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPOUK, Owner at Blanch House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Kevin,

Many thanks for your kind words – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay when you returned for a second visit after a very long drive from Yorkshire. We always strive to ensure that everyone is met with a warm welcome so that they are able to relax and enjoy their stay with us at Blanch House. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Brighton.

Best regards, Kerry Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My daughter and her partner chose this hotel for the ceremony and subsequent meal to celebrate their civil ceremony.What an inspired choice! From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and tireless staff. The themed rooms were amazing and beautifully decorated (every wedding guest who was not staying there insisted on a tour of the rooms!) and the bar/ reception area is lovely.
The food was of an extremely high standard and the choices for breakfast were excellent.
I can't wait to go back again for a weekend break, and would have no hesitation in recommending Blanch House to anyone.

Room Tip: Look at their web site to help you decide the "theme" of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPOUK, Owner at Blanch House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Stuart,

Many thanks for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure and honour to host the civil ceremony and reception for your daughter and her partner – and we are thrilled that their guests had a wonderful day here at Blanch House! We are so pleased that everyone enjoyed the food and was impressed by the individuality and décor of our rooms. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards, Kerry Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This is such lovely boutique hotel in an accessible part of Brighton. The rooms are just stunning, I was in the Moroccan, and fell in love with it. Even the cosy rooms give a feeling of quality and comfort. Totally lush! We had a business meeting there and the staff, especially Kerry and Jo couldn't do enough for us. This is our second team event at Blanch House, which just speaks volumes, as we only came back because they are so good! And it didn't feel like a business meeting, I would most definitely return with my husband for a romantic weekend, and would wholly recommend it to anyone looking for something special in the great city of Brighton, but also affordable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank P_and_D_Steyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPOUK, Owner at Blanch House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind words about Blanch House following your recent stay and business meeting here. We are so pleased that you were happy with the quality of the rooms and the level of customer service provided to you and your team. It was an absolute pleasure to host your second team event here, and we do look forward to welcoming you back for business or leisure in the future.

Best regards, Kerry Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanch House

Property: Blanch House
Address: 17 Atlingworth Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#2 Green Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanch House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blanch House is an intimate and friendly boutique townhouse Hotel; our personalised service means that you're our guest and we want to take care of you. Our glorious Regency town house is set in the heart of one of the most fun, vibrant, historic and bohemian areas of Brighton - Kemp Town and with the beach just yards away at the end of the street and a few minutes walk from everything Brighton has to offer, Blanch House is your local address.Each of our 12 highly individual rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, LED flat screen TV and a DVD player, whilst a range of quality teas and coffee and home made biscuits, are provided to aid your relaxation. This is further enhanced by luxury toiletries and robes in all the bathrooms. We know just how much fun our guests like to have, and our Champagne, wine and cocktail bar, which serves a wide range of alcoholic and non- alcoholic drinks, sets the mood for entertaining family and friends when you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blanch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanch House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing