We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, clean and comfortable accommodation in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Court Craven Guest House
Ranked #43 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean and comfortable accommodation in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked two rooms, and on arrival asked if one could be on the ground floor rather than higher up the property as had been allocated.This request was immediately agreed to by the member of staff ,without any difficulty.The rooms were both warm, spotlessly clean and looked to have been recently decorated.The beds were comfortable and although the place was fully booked both nights,there was very little disturbance or noise that could be heard from other rooms or the street outside.tea and coffee and tv were provided, with hairdryers and and iron and ironing board available on the landings.Although no breakfast is offered, tehre are lots of cafes within a couple of minutes walk on St James street.All in all, a very enjoyable and comfortable stay and great value for money too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jancar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    14
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
33
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Whatever you do don't arrive late! We had got delayed arriving due to two serious delays on the M6 and M25 and despite phoning the proprietor a few times to tell him we would be late when we arrived just before 10,00pm and rang there was no one in. After a short while a man came out complaining we had got him out of bed and being very rude about us being late even though we apologised profusely. He was particularly rude to my wife and at one stage accused her of being late because she had been out drinking! We had both been in a car for 6.5 hours and had nothing to eat or drink! A second man then appeared who then joined in with the first man and then told us to go away. The first man even seem to take delight in telling us we would not get a room as it was a Bank Holiday weekend! So we were not allowed into the room and where left without a room for the night late on a Bank Holiday weekend. We did manage to get a bed for the night at a friends house not too far away but this was just luck.. It was like Fawlty Towers. Never experienced anything like in my life. Can't say what the Hotel was like inside because we could not get into the place. If you cross these people you will be insulted in a very Basil Fawlty like way.

Room Tip: Get there on time and don't be late
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for a week to catch Brighton Pride, and were not disappointed! The owners are so friendly and gave us a map for the city, as well as recommendations for breakfast and good nights out. They helped with our luggage and out room was lovely and clean - towels were changed and tea stocks replenished daily. With a sea view, large bay window, and comfortable bed, we really didn't want to check out! We will definitely return; exploring Brighton all day but having Court Craven to come 'home' too made our trip ten times better. Thanks Mark and Eamon!

Room Tip: Double ensuites are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Went here for a business trip with my colleague. We both had a single room and found them really clean. Great service and great stay.
We had to checkout on saturday morning at 10am but our flight was at 7pm. The host Mark gave us a key for the front door on Saturday, so that we can leave our bags in the hotel and could see something of Brighton.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

After deciding last minute to stay in Brighton for the May bank holiday weekend we searched high and low for a hotel and came across The Court Craven, the only hotel with any rooms left that weekend and we were not disappointed.
We were greeted with a very friendly man who offered to give us a set of keys each in case we needed them. Once we opened the door to our room with were greeted with a big, bright and airy room (Room 9) with a lovely sea view.
The room came with en suite bathroom with hot running water as you demand it, large flatscreen TV with free-view, tea & coffee making facilities & one of the most comfy double beds we have ever slept in.
You even get a lovely table by the window to sit at & enjoy the view.
The only slight negative is the curtains not being thick enough to keep the morning light out & the windows are a little thin so can be a little noisy but just bring an eye mask and some earplugs and you'll be fine. The walls are thick enough so you dont really hear other guests & we had have a very relaxing time when we stayed in for the whole of the Saturday night.
The surrounding area (Kemptown) is very cool & colourful & had a wide range of shops for all tastes.
On our departure the owner offered to let us leave our bags at the hotel as our train wasn't for several hours which was such a nice thing to do & he gave us a front door key so we could collect our bags when we wanted & head to the beach for breakfast (less than 5 minute walk to the seafront)
I cant recommend this hotel highly enough, for value & comfort & location.

Room Tip: Room 9. A double bed & a single bed, en suite bathroom and a table & chairs with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just got back from a weekend at the Court Craven. It was a lovely stay! Owners are very friendly and helpful. Can suggest good places to go/eat. Room was spotlessly clean and very big with a nice bay window to sit in. Bathroom was immaculate and seemed brand new. All in all a brilliant place to stay, and we well definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Hotel in good position, next to the kitsch pier, but by walk you can arrive everywhere!
Sea from the window (room number 11).
Staff really helpful
Big double room whith a bench....but without closet.
Modern shower and bathroom, wooden room (no carpet on the floor, fortunately!!)
Hotel 2 floors without elevator
75£/night

Room Tip: The ground floor is the best if you have heavy luggages, because there's not the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#54 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempfield House
Kempfield House
#31 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#15 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#66 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maon Hotel
Maon Hotel
#69 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Craven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Craven Guest House

Property: Court Craven Guest House
Address: 2 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Court Craven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Court Craven enjoys a fantastic central location, just a pebble's throw from the sea. It's a short walk to the Pier, the Lanes, and all the other lovely things Brighton has to offer. At Court Craven, we offer double and single accommodation on a 'room only' basis. Our rooms are clean and comfortable with crisp white linen, TV, and tea & coffee making facilities. We don't offer breakfast, but we are in the heart of Kemp Town - where you have just a few yards to walk to discover an array of cafes, restaurants, cake shops, and bars to cater for your every culinary desire. Call us today to book your room at Court Craven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Court Craven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing