We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little guest house!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coward's Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thanks so much to the lovely ladies who now run Coward's for a great stay. I booked Room 3 which is listed as a single room (but does infact have a double bed) for the Bank Holiday weekend. They really have thought of pretty much everything to make your stay comfortable - from a hairdryer to ironing board, bottles of water and a fridge.

The guesthouse is in the perfect location - 10 mins to the town, 5 mins to the beach.

There's a late sitting for breakfast (9.30 to 10.30) which I'm sure a lot of people would appreciate. Nothing was too much trouble. My friend is vegan and was super-impressed with pre-planning on the breakfast front!

There's really nothing I could fault & I'll look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: If you're a single traveller, book Room 3 as you'll get a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank vintagen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at Coward's with my partner for 3 nights and we had a really lovely time. The new owners, Julie and Melina (hopefully spelt correctly!) were very genuine and gave us a very warm welcome.

We both had a few days off work and on a whim decided to visit Brighton and contacted Coward's to see what availability they had. We were delighted that they could accomodate us for the days we requested and we were very happy with the location and the size of our room.

The room was very clean, had an en-suite bathroom and a beautiful bay window where we could sit and we could see the sea from our room. The breakfast was cooked fresh every morning and tasted fantastic. There was a feeling of being "home from home" and we really appreciated everything that was done to make our stay so enjoyable.

We will be recommending this Guest House to our friends and we will be staying here again later this year, when we next visit Brighton.

Room Tip: Room 2, fully en-suite, good size, view of sea from bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank chunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there a couple of weekends ago and the new owners were nothing short of delightful. They were flexible with our late check in and very friendly and helpful with recommendations.

The room is very spacious although the bathroom is a tad small but functional and still has everything you need. Water, tea, coffee and yummy biscuits were provided.

The breakfast was amazing with perfectly cooked eggs and other yummy English breakfast items, the coffee was also really good!

Checking out was easy and they held our bags for us.

Security is fine, you are provided a house key and a room key so you can come and go when you want.

All in all it was the cherry on our sundae for a couples weekend!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a really lovely stay!! You were amazing and thank you for looking after me so well!! :) Yummy Muffins!!!! The rooms are lovely, especially the double room I stayed in and had a really great time. Also the location couldn't be better!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Millie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here for a weekend whilst visiting a friend in Brighton. It is an excellent place to stay-a few minutes walk from both the seafront and Kemptown and you can walk into town in 10 minutes. The new owners are very welcoming and friendly, the room extremely clean and well presented with all the facilities you need. You have a key so that you can come and go as you please and you really feel at home there. The Full English breakfast is superb and also served at a reasonable time of 9:30-10:30. Definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Brighton!

Room Tip: My room was on the 3rd floor and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A great location in Kemp Town, on the edge of the LGBT district. Ideally situated for most of Brighton's main attractions.
Gay friendly guest house, but all will be welcome. Gerry, the owner, is friendly and helpful.
The room was clean, with TV/DVD player, fridge, iron and free WiFi.
Breakfast was good - cereal/fruit/yoghurt/tea/coffee/juice as well as a fry-up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank msuxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. It's not far from the pier or any of the bigger clubs.

The staff were very nice and easy to talk with. The room was very clean and we had a fridge and iron.

The owner made it clear that we can come back whatever time we want and we got a key to the front door and our room.

The breakfast was nice and we were given vegetarian sausages (as we're veggies). Everything was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Nineteen
Nineteen
#17 of 95 in Brighton
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#43 of 95 in Brighton
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fab Guest
Fab Guest
#19 of 95 in Brighton
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#23 of 95 in Brighton
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kemp Townhouse
Kemp Townhouse
#30 of 95 in Brighton
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coward's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coward's Guesthouse

Address: 12 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £60 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coward's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for its connection to the English playwright Noël Coward, our guest house has the charm and elegance of the regency period. We offer our guests a comfortable and friendly atmosphere in a central, yet quiet location. For our best rates, particularly for longer stays, feel free to contact us directly either by telephone or by email. We are situated in the conservation area of Kemptown, the famous gay village, with its plethora of restaurants, cafes and pubs. The beach is only a few minutes walk away as are the pier and Brighton Pavilion. Kemptown, a key shopping area in Brighton since the late 18th century, continues to host a number of independent retailers and flea markets, while The Lanes and North Laine are also nearby. Our Regency townhouse, built around 1807, has six bedrooms that are individually furnished with your comfort in mind. Prices start from £55 per night for a single room and include a cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Coward's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing