We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and delightful!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coward's Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Cowards is a special place in every particular. Jerry is so very friendly and chatty which adds a homely touch.
With regard the catering, I always think that the best part of the day is the breakfast at Cowards. Forget the "separate tables treatment" that is to be had in other B and B's, the convivial atmosphere at Cowards is such that every one just gets chatting.
The rooms are oldy worldy which I find endearing.
In short the place is a delight!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uber_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

My partner and I spent a couple of nights at Cowards after the Isle of Wight festival, so we were certainly in need of a bit of relaxation!
Gerry was a fantastic host, and his breakfast superb. Plus Cowards is only a very short walk from the Lanes etc, and of course Brighton was fantastic as ever.
Really liked the fridge in the room, and dvd collection as well.
we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

When i go to Brighton i always go there. The position is handy and the owner is really kind and friendly. The rooms are tidy and the place is quiet. I wuould strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank And75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My partner and I stayed at Cowards for 2 nights in May. We truely enjoyed our stay and we were made to feel really welcome as visitors from America. Loved the full English breakfasts cooked for us each morning as we got the day started. Would certainly stay there if we returned. Thanks Gerry and David.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chieftain42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed 1 night here, and won't be staying again (unless I can't avoid it).

Positives:
The manager is very nice and friendly, the bed was comfortable, the room was a good size, and there was no problem with noise.

Negatives:
The bathroom door didn't close properly (and obviously hasn't for years), the room looks like it hasn't been redecorated for at least 15 years, and 89 pounds is very expensive for such an average place. If it wasn't Brighton, then there is no way they would be able to charge so much.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shortsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Cowards. The room was large, clean and quiet. Gerry is an absolute gem - very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Overall we were made to feel very welcome, and it felt like a home from home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

My partner and I stumbled across Cowards by chance when trying to book a B&B last minute for a weekend away. Gerry was incredibly welcoming and his interesting life proved great breakfast conversation. We stayed in room two which is really nicely decorated and very spacious with a view right down to the seafront. It was perfectly located about a five minute walk from the pavilion and a minute from the beach. We have recommended this to many friends and have just booked to return later on this year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#26 of 95 in Brighton
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 95 in Brighton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#20 of 95 in Brighton
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#29 of 95 in Brighton
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#18 of 95 in Brighton
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coward's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coward's Guesthouse

Address: 12 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £90 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coward's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for its connection to the English playwright Noël Coward, our guest house has the charm and elegance of the regency period. We offer our guests a comfortable and friendly atmosphere in a central, yet quiet location. For our best rates, particularly for longer stays, feel free to contact us directly either by telephone or by email. We are situated in the conservation area of Kemptown, the famous gay village, with its plethora of restaurants, cafes and pubs. The beach is only a few minutes walk away as are the pier and Brighton Pavilion. Kemptown, a key shopping area in Brighton since the late 18th century, continues to host a number of independent retailers and flea markets, while The Lanes and North Laine are also nearby. Our Regency townhouse, built around 1807, has six bedrooms that are individually furnished with your comfort in mind. Prices start from £55 per night for a single room and include a cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Coward's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing