We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regency Hotel Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Went to Brighton over the weekend with some mates as a base for our London to Brighton Charity Bike ride. Hotel whilst not spectacular was good value for money was very conveniently situated near the town centre with secure parking (public car park be it not cheap) right outside. Is free after 8pm each you can find a space. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and tidy and a great sea view from one of the rooms. We did not stay for breakfast as we had to be away early both mornings but heard it was good. Only one word of caution for the older generation is there are lots of stairs to climb if you are on the top floor ! Would most certainly consider it again though for the cost paid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2013Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed here with work last week and it was excellent. I had booked a single, but was upgraded to a double due to vacancies. The cold breakfast selection was wide, as was the hot (although I only had cold). Owner was friendly and helpful.

10 minutes walk from central Brighton and 1 minute from the sea.

Superb for the price paid.

Downside was the £10 car park outside where I parked, although street parking is free after 8pm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossH1049747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

What a great place! From my booking over the phone, the manager couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms was lovely - big comfy bed, spotlessly clean, with a great sea view. Well cooked breakfast. Overall excellent service. I'd definitely stay again. It's the perfect location for Brighton too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Went to Brighton for Easter and although we didn't book anywhere found the Regency had double vacancy, we were showed the room first and although a little tired looking the room was spotless as was the bathroom. Everything you needed in the room and the hotel was in the process of being redecorated. Breakfast was served in the hotel across the square which was no problem and all I can say about the food was delish !! Bacon good quality as was the sausage, nothing to much trouble and all food cooked to order meaning you could pick whatever combination from the full english you wanted, and extra toast was always offered (proper cut bread too) Location was perfect and the car park on the square was the cheepest in Brighton. Will definatley stay again if down that way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpiefan5853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

First thoughts where mixed. It grew on us in the end. We stayed in room 7,this overlooked the square and we had a good sea view. I agree it is over priced, but it is Brighton and you would be pushed to find a cheaper hotel in that area.
Room was vey small but clean. Bathroom was tiny and a mechanical toilet was noisy. Bit worrying because the electric plug was by the side of the loo, being a Man and a bad shot could lead to a very painful end...
Room was warm and we slept well in the bed. No hand towels, just a bath towel. Breakfast was from 8.30 am until 10.30 am. Breakfast was very good, lots to choose from, so no complaints there.
Parking, it's free from 8pm until 9am, but you have to make sure you are parked in pay and display. This is £3.50 per hour or £6.00 for 2 hours. There is an underground car park and that is £12.00 for the night. Overall the hotel was fine.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KenL419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Although very well located, Regency Hotel ultimately provides a disappointing experience.

Our double room did sport a four poster bed, but at a hundred and five pounds a night was certainly on the small side. The view over Regency Square and the Brighton sea front was magic, but the grubby windows took off some of its shine. The same lack of care extended to the bathroom, where the broken handle was missing its lock. There were no hand towels and the disposable tooth brushes provided had a habit of coming apart in your hands. Small things, but they don't give you the feeling of a space that's really cared for. The mattress and linen weren't modern or high quality, which is always disappointing.

Certainly there were none of the imaginative flourishes that bring a smile to your face in other hotels. The packet of complimentary Nik Nak crisps by the bed I thought was novel in a kitsch sort of a way, until I realised they were 70p. £100 room and you're charging me for crisps? This isn't Ryan Air. These things can't make much odds on your bottom line, and as guests we're conditioned to expect food in baskets in rooms to be free. What's the sense in appearing cheap?

Same goes for the £20 charge to checkout at 12:30 instead of 10:30. Ten thirty isn't exactly generous to begin with, why make your guests anxious about incurring a punitive fee? If there are cases you need to come to a late check-out arrangement, work that out case by case. People stay in independently run places rather that chains to avoid just this kind of nonsense.

Finally, breakfast. There's a hot food buffet, which was mostly empty when we arrived at 9:40 (late, but well within the posted serving times). The table cloths were disposable paper things that had been reused many times. The waitress hardly looked at us.

Nothing was awful, but everything could have been better.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Super friendly service from the owner- did everything he could to meet our needs, including a tour of the whole hotel and a bit of background and history of the hotel and area. I was very excited to be upgraded to stay in the Dowager Duchess's old living room, looking out over that gorgeous balcony down to the sea. I think we stayed in the biggest bed I've ever seen, and we both had a fantastic, peaceful night's sleep. We'll be back when we're in the area. The owner also mentioned that they are re-doing the website soon to reflect the newly done up rooms, which will be nice. We were really happy with the whole experience- the friendly attitude of the staff was up our street and made us feel good about our trip.

Room Tip: We had the large double with a sea view- room 3. A beautiful room- the old Dowager Duchess's liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy_Mij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,827 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Brighton

Address: 28 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range: £114 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regency Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing