We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get your act together!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brighton Marina

Brighton Marina
Book In Advance
More Info
US$189.09*
and up
Private Group Powerboat Ride in Brighton
Ranked #2 of 60 Shopping in Brighton
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get your act together!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I booked a weekend getaway for my family at a charming studio on the marina. The facilities at the marina itself and office staff were a big disappointment. After parking at the multi storey car park as instructed, we realised the lift was unavailable and has to lug my one year old and her buggy up three flights of stairs! Picking up our holiday rental keys from the marina office proved to be a nightmare as we were first told they didn't have any keys for us, ( not what you want to hear after a two hour drive), then an agonising hour and several phone calls later, the keys, which were very much in the office, were apologetically handed to us.
The bunch of keys included a fob which can be used to enter and leave the office area. After handing in the keys when we were leaving, I requested the staff to unlock the gate so I could wheel the pram out, I was told I just needed to press a button at the gate and it would open up. Said button proved to be non existent, and some kind passers by helped me out. Really appalling! I would never stay in the marina area again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christie_Minj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    155
    101
    69
    52
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Brighton Council should be ashamed for giving planning permission to such a monstrosity. The only redeeming feature was the Volks train trip to get there. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank philap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you use the buses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Situated just out of the main attractions but easy to get to if you use the local transport. We had the hop on hop off tickets which take you up to the marina.

plenty of shopping and food options and worth a trip just to see how and where they built it.

Tip - if you get the hop on/off ticket you can use it for the returning bus service later at night if you want to stay later which is a great idea, just check timings etc when you go

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont go on a busy day”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place use to have a working disabled lift, it doesnt now, in fact most of the staff didnt even know of its existence.
We went on a day when half the serving area's were closed, the wait for food was over an hour from ordering, thats after the chaotic queuing meant people were pushing in & the staff didnt care.
The place was littered with dirty tableware, unswept floor & sticky tables.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete_the_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Some goodbits, but some not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited this area on a weekend break. There are some nice restaurants located along the boardwalk above the marina and ‘hidden away’ behind Palm Drive with its plastic palm trees that are illuminated at night. However, the area is spoilt by a poor designed ugly concrete urban jungle. The marina itself has a good variety of boats on the east side mixed with ‘rusting hulks’ on the west side. They are carrying out some piling work on what appears to be a new area within the marina.
The marina has the potential to be so much more than it is at the moment, similar to others that I have visited, but needs some help from its owners and good architects.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mayfields4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brighton Marina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing