We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting collection”

Hove Museum and Art Gallery
Ranked #27 of 163 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting collection”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We came here for coffee and the staff were very friendly. Afterwards we looked around the museum which was based on the theme of blue. We enjoyed looking round it especially at the old toy collection which took us back to our childhood, and also the films of old Brighton.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    46
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Do you know why a lobsters blood is blue?”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited this museum over the bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. In fact because we ran out of time to see it all on the first day we went back again the next day to see the rest. There is a charming tea room,which although a little pricey, have delicious cakes and a very good brew served in an antique looking teapot. The building itself is charming and there are gardens if the weather is nice. There are fascinating exhibits about colours, which sounds a bit boring but believe me it is not and we all learnt something new. Do you know why a lobsters blood is blue, well neither did I until I visited this museum. Upstairs in the museum there are toy exhibits which were a bit spooky but kids love that sort of thing and there were exhibits on film and media, including a mini cinema showing old black and white films over a hundred years old. All in all this place is well worth a visit, a real gem and whats more it has free entry!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank madeline090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Child friendly museum”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Activities for little ones on certain days but lots for them to do throughout . Good collections. Shame the little train didn't work . Great cafe, good coffee. Buggy friendly. Helpful staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great for children”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little museum with special events for children. The staff are exceptional, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We had a lovely visit and the person running the making room was particularly kind and helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank grannywalescc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Give your kids a fear of Wizards for life!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great little museum that has some very interesting things going on in the downstairs galleries. My daughter (and it appears many other kids) has developed an absolute terror of the sleeping wizard in a hammock, above the toy museum on the top floor. He used to snore from time to time but I think the staff have turned him off to reduce the childhood nightmares! The toy museum itself is very interesting with something that will have everyone saying "I used to have one of those", no matter what your age.
Definitely worth a visit, it's free and it has nice little tea room.The tea room is a little pricey (or it was last time we went) Otherwise its an enjoyable way to spend an hour with or without the kids.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartinC71BTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hove Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Hove Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing