We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of West Pier

West Pier
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.67*
and up
Twilight Bike Tour of Brighton
More Info
US$25.56*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Ranked #33 of 167 things to do in Brighton
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

While it's sad that the Pier has burned down, it is still a remarkable sight to see. My wife and I walked by on the beach and was mesmerised by the beautiful ruins.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emil Rømer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    76
    57
    22
    43
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“So sad...”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I remember the West Pier as a child (as a boy born in Brighton) never open but certainly intact. I also remember the many promises to renovate and reopen it. I always hoped this would happen after hearing tales of the pier from my parents, grand parents and even my great grandmother. I hadn't visited Brighton for many years and I certainly had a tear in my eye when I saw what was of the pier.

It is a wicked shame that this beautiful icon was allowed to decay.... I realise that some unfortunate events did befall the pier but I have literally seen the pier die in forty years. It is worth visiting... If nothing to contemplate what might have been...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for the view... nothing more...”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

It's very interesting to visit but only to admire the structures and the views...
The amusements are very poor...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SNadir22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Pier no more”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

As other reviewers have commented, the burnt out ruins of Brightons West Pier can't really be described as an 'attraction' but it is an interesting peek into the past. Visiting the pier inspired me to research into it's history & it is facinating to see the pier in its heyday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kazbar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning scene”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have to say I think that the pier and posts make an iconic view of the sea, I love the way it has been left, and hope it stays as it is - pure art and the artist who made sculptures of people out to sea surely got inspiration from this magnificent sight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Pier also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to West Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing