We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloutly Terrible!!!!! save your money and go elsewhere!!”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 24 March 2011

booked the room as it was our anniversary. at first glance the place looked spot on with it being rght accross from the pier and beach. thts where the good news ends. we specifially booked a delux double room with sea view for 4 nights. No onsite parking so had to park in a place called "the lanes" which charged £23 per night. They Originally gave us a standard room with views of theback alley where the clubs are!! then they changed it after spending an hour with a trainee who had difficulty reading the screen. room was ok-ish but the service was terrible. bed sheets were not changed (in fact the housekeeping woman who could not speak english simply made the bed with the same sheets!!). bathroom is too smal. TV is ridiculously placed at the corner of the room. No ironing facilities unless you specifially ask for it from the reception. the staff are simply unhelpfull and talk to you like your dirt. overall.. a shamble! One unhappy customer and will never go here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bo55ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Having read a few bad reviews about this hotel we were unsure of what to expect but loved our stay here. The location is perfect with everything we wanted to do very close by (shops, pier, restaurants etc) and right on the seafront. Our room was very big, with a seaview despite having only paid for 'city view' and staff were friendly. It's a nice modern hotel and both our room and the public areas were clean and well maintained.
We made use of the gym & pool and although they were a little small, it was nice to have them as an extra to our stay.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from and staff very attentive.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG1986London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Stayed in tower suite, wednesday fantastic, Thursday night club 100 yards away no peace until 5 am. Not impressed. Didn't help that fire alarm went off at 3.30. Ended stay feeling absolutely shattered. Breakfast not good either.
Also not impressed that had to ask reception for room to be made up at 3 pm!! Considering how much was paid for suite, no attention to basics not alone details!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzaCc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

My daughter and I had a one night stay in the Tower 4 suite, we were celebrating her birthday, the room was huge she loved it, the Jacuzzi wasn’t that powerful, which to be honest was one of the reasons I booked the suite. Also it was on a smoking floor, ( cigarettes) I’m not a smoker and it stunk !!!!! In the hall ways, and crept into our room I had to put a wet towel at the bottom of the door to keep the smell out. I didn’t know you were allowed to smoke and there isn’t anything to state on the online booking that there were any smoking rooms in the hotel. So that was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssinbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Pretty much in line with expectations but a decent hotel and slap bang in the middle of where its at. top marks for location meant it was a little noisy but that is what you expect for a 1 minute walk from all the action. hotel staff were helpful and made us feel welcome, my girlfriend had a great day at the spa, the girls in the pretty people salon made her feel very special and she came back to the room very happy after her treatments. having read a few reviews on this hotel before booking, we didn't know really what to expect, some good ones and some bad ones. But our experience was worthy of a quick review as most people only seem to review if they have a problem. we would go back to this hotel next time we have a weekend in brighton.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

My husband and myself went to Brighton during the first week of February to celebrate my birthday. Our bedroom at the Queens was very comfortable with a lovely view of Brighton 'front' and the beach. We could control the temp, on the radiator, which was great, as it was a bit nippy outside. We were on the third floor, and found it very quiet, bearing in mind it was mid-week and February.The cleanliness of the rooms was very good. We decided to book an extra night, and had to change rooms as our first room had already been booked, we had a 'smokers' room on the fourth floor which had been well aired, and all our luggage had been transferred there by the staff. That room was also comfortable with a view of the beach, and the rough sea. The breakfast was very nice, although not being keen on fried bread I would have preferred hash browns, and perhaps mushrooms would have been nice. There was a nice range of cereals, and croissants. The bar was very nice, especially the hot chocolate, which was nice to have after a chilly February walk by the sea. My only gripe was that the steam room was out of action, and apparantly had been for some time, but the pool was nice.
The location of the hotel was great for 'The Lanes', Brighton pier,The Pavillion,The Aquarium, in fact pretty near to everything .We parked at the Regency Square car park, which is £12.50 for 24 hours, a bargain by Brightons car park charges.
All-in-all I would stay at this hotel again. The staff were very nice and helpful, which always makes a hotel stay that much nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Excellent location, clean and cheap. our room was very narrow with only room for one bedside table. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient, breakfast was basic. Our one night stay was spoiled by the fire alarm going off at 3.30 AM and then again 3 times breifly at several minute intervals. Then lots of noise in the street for about an hour. The bar behind the hotel is open late and shares the same fire alarm which was set off by drunks and not the hotels fault, apparently. Had to drive home the next morning feeling completely shattered. I will stay in the Thistle next time which looks bland from outside but is amazing inside, check thier websirte.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manninca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £58 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing