We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have booked again!!!!”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“have booked again!!!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

myself and my husband booked for one night and when we came home immediately booked to stay agin in 3 weeks for two night this time as we enjoyed it so much. we stayed in the tower suite and i all i can say is we oved it, the room was huge with amazing views, the tv in the room was massive, 2 seating areas and a king size bed!! oh and not forgetting the spa bath and twin sinks in the bathroom!!! the swimming pool was nice but the mirrors were a bit grubby and i didnt like having to walk through a gym full of sweaty men and women in my bathing suit and the steam room was out of order, but the sauna was great!!! my only dissapointment was that the spa treatment rooms were closed and that had been the main reaon for our stay, however i have been assured by the manageress that the spa will most definately be open for our next stay and even threw in a free treatment when i expressed my few small issues with our stay. would recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone!!!

Room Tip: choose the tower suite, for a few extra pounds it is worth it!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    802
    521
    253
    190
See reviews for
427
932
63
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here for x 2 nights in November with a group of people. The room was nice, clean and a good size. Bathroom was nice and clean and the shower was great. Breakfast was very good as was the bar. Our room was quite far from reception and the corridors are a bit of a maze.

The only down side for this hotel was the noise from the street (bars) on the Saturday night. The spa was also very disappointing. The sauna was broke, the pool was small and full, and you had to walk through a gym area in your swimwear from the changing room to get to the pool.

This hotel is in a great location, close to both the sea front and The Lanes shopping area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny79_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

If you don't mind going without sleep, as nightclubs are outside our room, clearing your own breakfast table before you can sit down, having your morning coffee in mugs, being unable to use the spa facilities until 10am- then this hotel should be fine. We only stayed one night and that was more than enough.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirewanderers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed at the triple room in July for 95 pounds and I think it was worth it. The hotel looks old and it had a funny smell in the room but nothing unbearable. the stairs to the hotel lift are quite small so you might need to take a few trips if you have lots of luggages with you. But the room and facilities are good as they provide the basic stuff like good & new bed, hairdryer, toiletries, coffee&tea making stuff and LCD TV with lotsa channel. However, I only stayed for one night and didnt need to use alot of the hotels facilities. plus point about the hotel is that they have excellent wifi connection at the lobby. the breakfast spread was OK, nothing to shout about but its not that bad either. However, i got the room facing the back alley or something, so cant comment about the view. but i think the location is great, which is located across the beach and fair. there's also a casino next door and plenty of restaurants nearby. the hotel is also not that far from the shopping mall.
just want to warn beforehand that the hotel is quite a walk from the train station especially if you have lot of luggages.
they also provide luggage room, which was a plus point for me cause i arrived at 10am and still cant check in the room because it was fully booked.

will consider coming back especially with large group. i dont usually spend so much time in the room, so a comfy room with a clean bathroom are just what I need.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed at Queens on 10 Dec 11 for the Xmas dinner and dance package. Reception lovely and happy welcome. Room upon first look was very modern and contemporary, then looked a bit closer. The furnishings were eyetaking at first, then saw that the wood of the side board and bedside tables were really rather worn. The carpet very 1980's and stained and grubby. My bedside table lamp didn't work. In the morning, the room was rather chilly, which was good, as outside was galeforce winds.

The bathroom: The grouting on tiles was missing and the tiles were grubby looking. There was a long dark hair that didnt belong to me or my husband waving at us in the bath!!

The meal was very very bad. It was pretty much Aunt Bessies, but cooked wrong!! The turkey was processed and sliced and the potatoes looked like they had been deep fat fryed for 3 days!!! The carrots were nice tho!

The drinks very expensive, nearly £5 for a whiskey & lemonade.

It wasn't a bad experience, everything is what you make of it, but found the hotel a trick of the eye, made it looked it grandish from first glance, but then you see that it was rather basic.

I wouldn't go there for a romantic weekend, just for somewhere to lay my head.

Room Tip: We were automatically given the lovely large bay window room at the front overlooking the sea, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonopolySlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Many of the reviews of this hotel berate it for essentially being in Brighton! I am not sure this is fair. Brighton is garish and noisy, full of life and energy and that is not the fault of the Queen's Hotel. The location is very central, right on the seafront and in the thick of Brighton's campest best. Madam Geisha's club was right outside our window which we did not attend, but we did not resent other people enjoying 'til the wee small hours. Our room was huge, well furnished, clean and comfortable. Not the best sound proofing, admitedly, but given the very central location, it was never going to be a country retreat.

The breakfast was perfectly acceptable and the bar area was lovely for morning coffee. There is an attached spa which is staffed by lovely people who offer great massages and pedicures. Reception staff were friendly and accommodating and for the price, we were really very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Don't go if you are uber noise sensitive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

i never write reviews about hotels because i never usually have a problem but i feel that people deserve to know the truth about this hotel. Trust me I've been to plenty of hotels across the globe and this has got to be on of the worse if not it was the worse! Me and my friends decided to go Brighton and stay for the night for her birthday. Once we arrived the receptionist told us we had to pay on the spot!!... now i was terribly confused and angry by this request and i asked him "is this your hotel policy because i have never heard of paying on arrival at any hotel in my life never mind top class ones?" now this is when he changed his story and said "we do card checks if you don't want to pay on arrival as check out might be busy" i said i don't care i rather do a card check and pay on check out as this is the principle. i don't know whether the guy thought we was a bunch of girls and we wasn't going to pay on check out or if it was discrimination! anyways we ended up paying on check out but there was a catch. instead of paying £159 for the kings suite we ended up paying £179 because we had to pay extra for breakfast which we told them we was not going to eat aswell! RIP OFF! anyways the king suite room was disgustingly spacious in other words too much room no furniture. I would say their room is half trashy B&B with a hint of trying to make it glamorous (FAILED) the carpet is nasty and dirty, our sofa was ripped and had a hole in it. the dressing table was beyond its expiry date. the only nice thing was the wall paper and white bed sheets! i honestly think you are paying for the location of the hotel and not its quality and hospitality! The location was good right by the sea and close to everything! but that still didn't make up for our experience there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing