We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bit let down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bit let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We arrived for a long weekend stay, and paid about 160quid a night for a room with a sea view. We got the sea view, but were a disappointed with the cleanliness of the room, for the price I would expect no vomit stains on the carpets and the bath to be properly cleaned out, and the windows to be clean. The staff were however very pleasant and helpful, but I would recommend you ask which side of the Hotel your room will be on. At the back of the hotel/side of the hotel you will hear the nightclub located in the street behind, heavy beats go on until about 3am, and then their clientele arguing on the street outside until about 4am. If you are going to spend this sort of money then you should perhaps think of going to the Hilton or the Grand or the Thistle maybe.

Room Tip: ask which side of the Hotel your room will be on. At the back of the hotel/side of the hotel you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    767
    509
    247
    183
See reviews for
411
891
59
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel with 8 other women. We had 3 triple rooms, all of which were of equal standard with a fantastic sea view.

All three rooms were huge, with a seating area, and one of the rooms had a fridge.

The only negative was that none of the cups in any of the rooms were washed or replaced which was odd as the tea, coffee & milk were all replenished.

We also ate dinner at the hotel in the evening and got the impression that it was convenience food as opposed to freshly made. There is a large choice at breakfast, quality wise it could be better.

There is a quaint spa attached to the hotel that does reasonably priced beauty treatments - an added bonus when the weather isn't so great!

Great location - opposite beach and 2 mins to bars and restaurants. There was a little street noise, but the main noise was from the howling winds - slight sleepers should avoid the bed by the window!

Overall a great find which exceed our expectations - I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a Friday night and there was hardly any noise, this isn't a 18-30 hotel.

Room was spacious. Breakfast a little busy as had to only wait 2mins which wasn't bad I guess. Fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lovely hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location is absolutly perfect, just near the Brighton pier, so all the sights are within walking distance.
1 out of the 3 nights we overheard some noise from the people walking in the streets, we were in a room on the side of the building.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pisa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great location with great restaurants nearby ( dont dine in the restaurant). The hotel suffers terribly from proximity to noisy clubs, pubs and their patrons.Noise continued well into the 'sleepless' night! If you like a peaceful sleep don't come here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

The service was brilliant, particularly by the bar staff. Good sized gym and pool for a hotel. In general the hotel and rooms look a little tired around the edges. But it's only superficial stuff. I stayed in room 112 and the only thing that ruined my nights sleep was being across the road from a bar and nightclub. Constant noise from 11 to about 3.30. No chance of sleeping with the window open - would be painfully stuffy in hot weather as no a/c.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewis_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed at the Queens Hotel in Brighton to be close to the conference centre. The hotel staff are both friendly and efficient. I would say the hotel would be good to stay in provided you are in a sea front room as the back streets can be noisy with night life to the small hours but not unlike many city locations. The room was of good size, breakfast buffet style but reasonable and the added extra of swimming pool was nice to have.
Would say it is nearing the time for a freshen up but was still well furnished and of a good standard compared to many other hotels we stayed at.
Would definitely recommend as a place to stay for a weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front (faceing the sea) away from the noise of late night partying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWBayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing