We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked a suite for a night”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Booked a suite for a night to treat myself and found this place to very nice! room was big, comfy and came with great views!

It also had a lovely jacuzzi bath which I made full use off and to be honest I hardly slept due to
wanting to watch all the life out of the suites windows,

A very nice room indeed! OH and breakfast the next morning was lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,773 - 1,779 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here for a night oiut, and were pleasently surprised at the size of the Suite we had, which has views over the pier and the Beach.

The bathroom had a spa bath and seperate shpowers as well as a double sink, great if you have a wife like mine.

The room was good to come back to after a heavy night due to its size, and extra sofa and chairs, its nicely decorated and very modern looking.

The only big down fall is that it is so noisy, you might as well be sleeping on the road. They need to invest in some triple glazing I think, or a nice touch would be some disposable ear plugs in the rooms.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

were to start, If you like sleep then dont stay here, i asked for a top floor room so would't get noise from above.. well our room overlooked the side street, which has a nightclub and a bar in it. The nightclub seems to go on till the early hours (3.30) you are actually overlooking the front of the club were they queue, smoke and throw up. so the u finally drop for a couple of hours till about 6.30 when the road cleaners come out to clean up the mess from the nightclub. did complain and were moved to another room overlooking another side street with a brick wall for a view but as long as it was quiet we were going to put up with it.. there was no noise from the street, but it was then we realised that there was a strange noise like a boiler or generator which comes from above, and is constant day and night. THEN the lights didn't work so had to go to the loo at 5.30 in the dark..apparently they people next door tripped the electric. great!! was a bit worried about going to bed the 3rd night... didnt no what mite happen nxt.. so 1 fair nights sleep out of 3.YOUR a hotel for gods sake... sleeping should be what you do best!!!
beds were rock hard!!!
there was a chandelier type light fitting in the 2nd room we had. fine for me at 5 5 but if you were any taller you hit your head on it.. my husband had to go round it like a roundabout.. but he hit it more times than he went round. and it had lots of the glass beads missing indicating that it had been hot more than once
Rooms need updating, the 1st room we had was better than the 2nd, so you either had a nice room and no sleep or a grotty room with a bit of sleep!!
steam room is out of order and has been for some time
pool and gym quite nice but is shared with 4 other hotels and the public also the ladies changing room is comp open plan and you have to walk through the gym to get to the pool
STAFF WERE VERY NICE but are" flogging a dead horse really"
BREAKFAST WAS VERY NICE
LOCATION PERFECT
i really dont no how the hotel can in good faith give out these rooms at the end of the hotel, and charge money for them!!
obviously they dont read the comments on here cos they never put a reply!
AVOID THIS HOTEL if you want to sleep

Room Tip: AVOID 414 and i assume 314, 21, and 114 also avoid the top floor as there is a terrible noise from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Over the past 7 years I have stayed a number of times at the Queen hotel Brighton and always found it to be a enjoyable experience.

Unfortunately the same can't be said for my last stay (12.09.12 - 14.09.12) my partner and I decided to have a couple of days away in sunny brighton for a well deserved rest. When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff were friendly and polite as always, our room was recently decorated with modern wall paper and pictures of the pier, the furniture and fittings in the room do need a revamp to match the rest of the room but were clean and more pillows were brought up to the room upon request.

Our room was facing the side street at the end of the hotel and the view had little to be desired, a nightclub being the main focal point. The nightclub became alive from around midnight and carried on well into the early hours, the well deserved rest that we had dreamed off became a nightmare, from 04.00 onwards we could hear every drunken argument and fight spilling out from the club this was then followed by a bin cart and a road sweep all disappearing before the sun rose on the picture perfect sea front but leaving us wide awake and sleep deprived for both nights.

Although this wasn't anything to do with the hotel it made our time away one to forget, a real disappointment for such a expensive couple of days rest!?

Avoid room 315 to 317 as they are all on the corner.

Room Tip: Location of the hotel is perfect for the sea front and the shops but as stated in my review rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RACHAEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were hoping to luck out and have a room with a view of the pier and channel but we didn't get it. Instead we got a room at the back but were quite happy with it. The room was absolutely giant, with high ceilings and and lg bathroom. Great to stay in a place that has some character instead of the usual plastic and sterile standard hotel room. We had a twin room and were quite satisfied with everything. Brekkie was typical and the staff friendly. The front desk staff was very nice and helped us with a place to park, which turned out to be at the hotel next door. We were able to unload and take our bags to our room then go park and car and did the reverse the next morning. It was only a few meters away so not much of a problem at all. The elevator was very welcome even though it was like an oven.
For the price and location we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Me and my hubby stayed here for a mini moon break after our wedding! Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. We payed for a sea view room. The view was amazing, it was noisy at night but hello your in Brighton!!! The location was perfect for the lanes shops and brilliant for our evening entertainment :-) the room was well decorated, bathroom needs some tlc but it was not unclean! Only major let down was the cooked breakfast!!! :-( but apart from that a lovely hotel and we will be back :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Where to begin? What a disappointment. We paid £350 for two nights for a room with a sea view. No aircon, windows barely opened. Had to keep them closed at night to try to drown out the noise of local clubs and drunkards which went on until past 4am. Bed was very uncomfortable - we woke up with backache both days. Shabby bathroom - all tiles need regrouting. Toilet roll holder was hanging off wall when we arrived and soon fell off. Reported it to reception - no apology, just that it would be mentioned to the maintenance man. Threadbare towels - mine had a hole in it. Appalled to be charged £2 for using the in-room safe to store valuables. A new one on me. Breakfast was passable. Staff seemed disinterested rather than friendly. It was more like a hostel than a hotel. Certainly not value for money. Certainly won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £54 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing