We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but could be better”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here over the Christmas period as the location was ideal and the reviews were not to off -putting.
Although the room was of a good size and well heated with enough facilities to be comfortable i felt it lacked a few finishing touches which would have greatly finished it off as very comfortable.
Unfortunately our room was on the left side of the building overlooking the small streets below, although this was no problem during the daytime at night it soon becomes obvious the streets are a mecca for youngsters from bars and clubs until the early hours of the morning. The continuous noise of shouting makes for a very difficult nights sleep.
Away from the room the Hotel offers health club facilities with swimming and spa included in the nights stay, only downside to this are the changing facility which apart from being shabby with no ventilation really isn't big enough for more than a few people to use at the same time.
Bar area was comfortable and well stocked with friendly helpful staff, only downside again they offer cocktails but the staff do not seemed trained enough to be able to put together a properly made cocktail.
Only tried the breakfast here which again could have been just a little better, to make it very good, downside again was the tea was undrinkable tasting of the instant granule type.
Overall a good stay for the money but little changes would greatly improve the experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the left hand side rooms and choose the rooms overlooking the sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,643 - 1,649 of 2,299 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

We spent Christmas Eve, Xmas Day and Boxing day 2012 at the Queens Hotel and the location was excellent. We had room 217 which overlooked the gentlemans club and Club Geisha not ideal for families with kids, but at this time of the year it was largely quiet at night. Our room was a good size (sleeping 3 comfortably) although the bathroom was a bit grotty and the all of the window frames needed replacing, generally speaking it was difficult to know whether the windoes were dirty or simply frosted. The staff were friendly, although there did not seem to be any sign of management at any point during our stay.

Regretably the hotel offerred no Xmas dinner but I was told on booking that food would be available in the bar. On Xmas day however and for reason we are yet to understand service stopped just after lunch and we were advised that the only meals available from then on woere ready m,ade box meals - like pot noodles in a box. So that was more than a little bit disappointing for my daughter who by then was ravenous. We went in search of an open bar and realised that everywhere had packed up for the evening - so no Xmas dinner or actually no food at all on Xmas day!!!!! No apology, no explanation, no rationale.

Our room was spacious but not clean there were red petals by the side of the double bed - which I judiciously ignored, funnily enough the room was serviced during our stay but the petals remained. The carpets was also dusty in places and stained quite badly. The beds were well made with clean crisp white sheets.

There was nothing to do in the actual hotel, although there is a small swiming pool basement - if you are Micheal Phelps or Ian Thorpe then you will be disappointed as you cant do laps. If there were computer points they were not sign posted although my daughter says there was a resident computer in reception (I missed it).

Ideally this hotel could benefit from have combinded TV/DVD players as this at least allows some form of family entertainment, but better still the hotel needs to create a xmas atmosphere by providing some entertainment as Xmas day was spent with many sitting in the bar - the only place with a semblance of festivity, by sheer fact of numbers.

Funnily enough we booked this hotel for the spa which was closed whilst we were there - not sure this was advertsied on the website.

Room Tip: the street side rooms overlook bars, night clubs etc - I would suggest if you are styaing at any tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 22/12/12 I was firstly appointed room 319 which on a Saturday night in Brighton is probably not the best idea as it was set right above the pitcher & piano bar - very noisy all night.
However as soon as I rang reception I was not only moved but upgraded too room 409 a HUGE king size with sofa/desk/sea view. Also it was a lovely quiet part of the hotel. So I am very grateful to the receptionist for that as it allowed a good nights sleep.

Good Points:
Comfy beds, clean & hygienic, helpful polite staff, nice breakfast, nice atmosphere, huge rooms, good location (in the lanes)
Bad Points:
Noisy, drinks are pricey, hard to navigate round hotel, extortionate car parking prices even for hotel residents (£20 per 24hours) , bathrooms could do with a bit of retouching. Book spa treatments in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zjcogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The hotel itself is not too bad, the rooms are reasonably furnished and clean. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough to help. The location is good for both the sea front and the lanes and shopping areas. However there are some bad points. There are lifts however once out of them you still need to negotiate many steps (as you do to get in the hotel). However its the noise at the rear of the hotel. Avoid these rooms at all costs. The hotel backs onto a night club and a 'gentlemans' club. Fights, shouting and police most nights.

Would I stay here again? I possibly would but I would make sure I was not in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not one at the rear of the hotel, avoid at all costs if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I spent a couple of nights here during a business trip last November. What can I say... the only thing I liked about it was the location. The staff was friendly, for the most part. The room was very spartan, as was the bathroom, and they were both rather old and tired looking. The bathroom in particular was badly in need of a facelift. My room overlooked a club or bar or something, and the noise was intolerable! Don't expect to get a good night's sleep (perhaps the rooms with a sea view are quieter). Breakfast was nothing special, but luckily there are plenty of tea rooms and coffee shops in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

My permanence here wasn't completely terrible, but I won't book here again the next time I come to Brighton.

Room Tip: I suggest you look elsewhere if you want to get restful sleep during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowflake70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

After staying in various wacky/not so wacky B&Bs in Brighton and having stayed here at Queens on business I returned with my boyfriend for a birthday weekend treat and Christmas shopping trip.

Our room was very large (king size sea view room) and was a bit chilly but warm enough with the radiator turned up and snuggled under the spare blanket while watching TV. Plenty of wardrobe space (3 in total) but only a few hangers in each so take your own if you're taking more than a few items of clothing. As previous reviews, bathroom small in comparison to the room and the shower wan't very powerful. The curtains were very good quality and ensured a nice dark bedroom in the mornings! I personally think the hotel is well maintained for its age but as always, they could make some improvements. The duvets could do with being bigger on the king size beds for starters!

We expected noise due to the location but were pleasantly surprised with just a bit of road noise and a few late night revellers passing but generally OK depending on your level of sleep - my partner wore earplugs the second night whereas I was able to sleep through.

The location for the beach and shopping is absolutely fantastic, a few minutes' walk from the pier and to the start of the shops. Great shopping opportunities for quirky, arty and unique presents or jewellery.

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable with fruit juice, fruit (although not best quality), cereals (in need of a dust-off), toast facilities (average sliced bread), croissants, jams and a hot buffet consisting of good quality sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, beans, canned tomatoes and fried bread. Black filter coffee and tea was served rather abruptly in a mug with DIY jug of milk on the table, could be better.

Cocktails in the hotel bar area were enjoyable (2 for £7 5pm-9pm) which was nice for pre-dinner drinks. We didn't try the food at the hotel but the menu was varied and what we did see looked well-presented. Could do with some bar snacks or nibbles (olives, nuts etc.) which would be a nice touch.

We parked in the cheaper Regency Square car park (£12.50 per 24 hours) which is no distance at all to walk back to the hotel along the sea front. It's well-lit and had plenty of spaces.

Check-out is 11am but the hotel have a luggage hold facility so you can leave your bags on the last day until ready to depart which was very handy.

All in all, a reasonably priced and comfortable stay but I would consider other sea front hotels next time.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cyberpuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Had a few days away with freinds, the hotel was central for the lanes and centre, Rooms were clean light and airy, bathroom was a little small considering the large bedrooms. hotel was quiet, no banging doors etc, could here traffic on front but not too troublesome, staff freindly and helpfull.
good cocktails!!
Enjoyed the massage, though could not get two at the same time,

Room Tip: up graded to a sea veiw, it was light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £64 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing