We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Value For Money”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Myself and my friend found ourselves unexpectedly in Brighton two weeks ago and decided to treat ourselves to a spa hotel. After a quick google search we found the Queens hotel called and made a last minute booking in the Tower 2 suite for £250 (no small amount of money to us). We made our way over to the hotel and alarm bells were instantly ringing when we entered the somewhat outdated and a little shabby lobby. We checked in and were assigned our keys to the Tower Suite. What we found there was beyond surprising. A freezing cold bleak and shabby room which quite honestly reminded me of the budget travel lodge rooms I have stayed on on business trips. The room came with NO added luxuries at all- no robes, two plastic wrapped digestive biscuits, 1 mini bottle of generic shampoo and moisturiser and having run my hands over the sheets they were scratchy and starched. The bathroom was ice cold the waste paper baskets un-emptied a pretty grubby 'jacuzzi bath' and the sofas in the main room were shabby and a bit dirty. All in all pretty horrifying when you have decided to blow that amount of money for a bit of Luxury. After an approximately 60 minute search looking for elsewhere to stay we stumbled upon the Kemp Townhouse at £135 for a King Standard (suffice to say it was one of the most luxurious and wonderful nights stays I've ever had). We called down to the front room and advised them we would be checking out and were told we would have a full refund. Upon arriving at the desk we were offered a 50% refund as we had been in the room for an hour. We have explained in person on the phone and in writing that we were building up the courage to a. make the complaint and leave and b. finding somewhere else to stay on a freezing evening in Brighton yet the hotel refuse to fully reimburse us. The room I could probably forgive as I'm sure the hotel is great for a budget night but to be so resolutely refused £125 of our hard earned money on a room we did no more than sit on the sofas in for an hour is beyond belief. I can assure you there are an abundance of reasonably priced budget hotels in Brighton with better decor, more luxurious extras and overall a much higher level of customer care. Avoid avoid avoid!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abigaild454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 2,303 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

The queens hotel is a massive and old establishment, that probably was a very good hotel, but now, needs an urgent refurbishment.

We booked a tower suite: supposedly, one of the best in the hotel, but we found a huge room with scattered old furnitures. The charmless room I've ever stayed.

Special mention deserves the bathroom: is impossible to get a worse way to distribute the pieces: with more than 100 sqft, the toilet is located in a place where you barely can sit on it!

Last, but not least, the room was very noisy due to the traffic and to a close nightclub.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanmcamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed a Friday and Saturday night in one of the large family suites, with lounge, bedroom, hallway and bathroom. We liked the size of the rooms the bedroom was big enough for a king size bed, plus wardrobes, chairs, dressing table etc. The lounge had another king, single, plus we fitted in two cots. All rooms had high ceilings and superb views of promenade and sea. Breakfast was included, and the staff were very relaxed when each morning our 16 month old twin boys threw most of their buffet on the floor. The pool was fine but a bit chilly for very small children. We were really happy with this hotel and would stay again, we've awarded four stars not five because the stay on the Saturday night was very expensive, and the food available and times in the hotel was limited. Overall very satisfied.

Room Tip: Most family suites have some sort of sea views, but check in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

just had one night in the Queens hotel, main reason for booking was location and price. it's right on the front, a few minutes from the pier, and surrounded by shops bars etc. we parked in regency square car park, (£10 for 24 hrs) and left it until we left brighton. we was in a room on the 4th floor but was still woken by party goers at 3am then again by the beer delivery at 6am. it's a old building so not much the hotel can do about the noise but if i stayed again i would ask for a quieter room, if that is possible given the location, ya can't have it all. the room itself was very nice, clean with a flat screen tv and free wi fi. the shower was good and powerful, no problems with temp like some other posters have mentioned, we could see the pier from our room. the breakfast was good, i didn't really like the cooked part but was happy with the cereal and toast, hub had it all and enjoyed it. would stay again in a quieter room, location was excellent and far cheaper than other seafront hotels

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorrabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Was prepared to give this hotel a glowing review, but then on our second night, a huge storm hit Brighton and the noise of the wind howling and something slapping against the outside wall was enough to try one's patience. I had read that there was a noise problem, but hoped for the best.

We were given a really terrific room on the fourth floor, in that it was very spacious and overlooked the water. And the staff are really helpful, friendly, and informative. The best staff experience I've had.

But the noise gives me pause. When I woke up at 3 a.m. I noticed that from the street side of the room, you could hear people below talking and thumping music (Bobby McFerrin). It made me wonder how bad that would be if the wind weren't howling and the storm blasting. If we had a room facing inland and on a lower floor, the partying noise could be a nuisance.

Other than that, it was quite good value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JQ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at the Queens for 4 nights. The hotel was nice and our sea view was ace! Breakfast was a bit limited choice wise. You are able to leave luggage in a secure area after check out. Location to the centre was great and within walking distance.
The spa in the hotel isn't too bad -- went when there was a rainy day afternoon.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MovieGirlManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Very old with creaky uneven floors. Make sure you get a sea view room. We had a very large room with a comfortable bed. The room needed decorating and the furniture was very tatty. I love my showers but this one was awful, no power to it and slippery underfoot. The room was clean but some public areas need attention.
Very good location for everything to see in Brighton, literally a few minutes walk from The Lanes and the Pavillion.
The food was ok, breakfast is buffet style either cooked, fruit or cereals but not much choice. If you want a fried or poached egg just ask but be prepared to wait 10-15 minutes. 2 for 1 cocktails for £7 between 5 & 9pm in the bar are worth a try.
Worth staying here for the location but don't pay the full price. The cheapest price I found was on their own website.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view room on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDay365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,842 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £63 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing