We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas shopping trip ”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Christmas shopping trip ”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We were given a huge room with sea view costing £185. Furniture was old worn and dated.
Toilet needed a new seat as was stained :(
Lovely view but windows dirty with bird muck :(
Breakfast was lovely, bar area nice.
Staff helpful and polite.
Location excellent.
Worth the money not sure !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Msweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We have our windows cleaned regularly , but unfortunately as we are directly on the seafront , the seagulls can at any time affect the views!
I agree about how great our location is , and thank you for your kind comments about the staff.
I hope that you will be back to stay with us in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    793
    516
    252
    190
See reviews for
425
919
61
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights in December '13. We had two very large adjoining rooms on the fourth floor with views over the sea. Each room had a good sized tv and plenty of seating. We shared a bathroom which looked recently updated. Beds very comfortable but the desk furniture was a bit shabby and chipped and the radiators were discoloured and grubby looking. A plus was the little fridge that we could keep fresh milk in. We liked the adjoining rooms, it felt like having our own little flat.. A bonus in winter when weather can be bad.

Breakfast was disappointing, tables with no cloths and varnish on the wood was all worn away. We asked for tea and the waitress brought two mugs of hot water which had had a tea bag briefly dipped in. It was un drinkable. Coffee was not much better. A proper teapot of tea would be good. On the first morning the toasters were not working. I did tell the staff but I noticed several people went without toast.

Having said that, staff were friendly and helpful, especially on reception. The location was great, a short walk to pier, shops etc and of course right on the sea front.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is great, well above any noise from the street and clubs. The two adjoining rooms on fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggievirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay in one of our family suites. I must agree that they do indeed have the feel of an apartment , and are very comfortable.
I shall pass on your comments about breakfast to our Food & Beverage team, and I hope that you will visit us again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Queens hotel is conveniently situated for the Dome, Brighton Centre, the Lanes, The pier etc. We had a seaview, however, one of the penalties of this is the traffic noise. The windows are double glazed but ineffective at keeping out the road noise.
The bathroom decor and fittings were very shabby and had certainly seen better days.
Worst of all the bed was probably the most uncomfortable I have experienced since I last slept in a tent!
However, it's convenient - and cheaper than the Grand.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EricandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Yes , I agree that our location is ideal for all of the town attractions.
I am sorry to see that you found your bed to have been uncomfortable. We had all new beds in all of our rooms last year , so I shall investigate as to why this was.
I hope that you will continue to stay with us on your future visits to Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This place is me and my fiancés place, really. We had our first real date here, and now were going here every year the same date :) Its nice to stay, lovely spa and area. We had a room with a sea front as well. The only problems we had, that they overcharge me a lot, and they dont have a great service to be honest, but its still fine, because hotel is quite cheap, so I cant really complain. Its a deal for a price :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
How lovely to see that our hotel has played a part in you and your fiances lives !
Rather than the hotel having overcharged you , I think you are referring to times when you might have availed of some discounted accommodation rates in the past , which were not available on your last visit.
We look forward to your return anniversary visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Good English sea-side hotel that gives spacious rooms and polite service. Good breakfast with cooked eggs on demand. Walk round the corner and into the lanes. Only real downside is that can be noisy from late night revellers on street and beach

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codsBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am really delighted to see that we had met with your expectations , and that you found your room , and the service to be to your liking.
We are finding that at breakfast , having the eggs cooked to order proving to be more and more popular.
We hope that you will continue to visit us on future trips to Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for a night and was happy with our stay. We were given two rooms on the 1st floor which were both clean comfortable and spacious. I would have to agree with some of the comments about the outside noise at night time but wasn't a huge problem for us.

Would recommomend visiting the Pretty People Salon. Staff were very friendly and treatments were good.

The breakfast the following morning needs more variety but apart from that a very pleasant and value for money stay at Queens Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 708anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit , finding your room to be clean , comfortable and spacious, and found your visit to have been a value for money experience.
I was speaking with Sandra from Pretty People salon earlier this afternoon , and mentioned your comments in this review and she was very happy indeed at such feedback.
Thank you once again , and we look forward to your continued custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We were very happy to learn we'd upgraded upon arrival when we saw our room we were very impressed. Very comfortable stay overall.
However the gym and pool we found a bit dirty and needed a good clean and maybe a refurb In certain areas.
The breakfast the next morning was a tad budget especially the sausages that tasted cheap. The staff we're very very friendly especially one of the receptionists who went out of her way to make sure we were happy and for that alone we will return.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
it is always great to see that our guests have enjoyed a comfortable stay , and equally great that they found our team here at The Queens Hotel to have been very friendly.
We are often changing and adjusting our extensive breakfast buffet selection , and i shall certainly pass on your feedback to our Food & Beverage manager who can consider your comments for the future.
we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing