We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel itself offers great value for money, comfortable beds, clean rooms, towels, tea and coffee facilities in the room, very quiet rooms.

The only thing that I wouldn't rate is the "Spa" which consists of a pool and sauna. Treatments are available in the beauty salon. The pool itself wasnt very clean and the changing rooms were very compact and there is no privacy for when changing.

Friendly staff who will do anything to make sure your needs are catered for. The food was amazing! Would highly recommend the Homemade Lamb and Mint burger.

Great location: Clubs and bars literally on the doorstep or west street is a 5-10 minute walk.

Overall I wouldnt rate the hotel itself more than a 3* as its rewarded.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall experience while staying at the hotel. I shall certainly pass on your feedback to both the health club team, and of course I shall mention your comments on the Lamb burger to the chefs.
We hope that you will be back again to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    814
    526
    256
    193
See reviews for
437
944
64
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked the cabaret dinner, four amazing acts, champagne and canapés served by wonderful perfect staff, the dinner was candle lit, and we had a choice menu, the beef was perfect, as was stater and desserts all for £29.00 , the hotel looks cared for with fresh flowers, plants and nice decor, it is a well run hotel and great place and evening with the best cabaret
... Well done we will be back

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and clean with all the comforts I expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Im delighted to see that you enjoyed the evening at last Fridays cabaret and dinner.
We are hosting these nights on a monthly basis , and they are open to both resident and non resident guests alike.
Should you require a list of future scheduled cabaret nights , I have listed them below for your reference:

The Queens Hotel, Brighton Cabaret Dinners

Don’t miss out! Further dates below

Friday 7th February - Diva’s and Dudes
A Fabulous evening of entertainment and fun starring the Amazing soul Diva “Jacquie Bennet” and top UK Comedian the Cockney cheeky chappie “Danny Blue”, Hosted by our resident Drag Queen stand up “Davina Sparkle”

Friday 7th March – Queens at the Queens
Some of the Country’s Top Drag Queens in one venue a Drag Queen super show, from the West End “Cassidy Connors” (Priscilla Queen of the Desert) also featuring Drag stand-up “Davina Sparkle” and The Queen of patter herself live from the London “Saucy Sophie”

Friday 4th April – Diva’s and Dudes
The outrageous Drag Queen comic “Davina Sparkle” with an Amazing Special Guest “Star” and Top Comedian Geoff Jukes an evening of Adult fun, Humour and Cabaret

Friday 16th May – Queens at the Queens
Fun cheeky Drag Cabaret Hosted by “Davina Sparkle” and Brilliant Drag Sensation the Hilarious “Topsie Redfern” with Special Guest star “The Queen of impressionist Comedy” Bella Berserck – A show not to be missed!

Friday 6th June – Music Hall Cabaret
Celebrate the 70th Anniversary of D Day with the best of British, a right old Music Hall Knee’s up 40’s style, with The Oldest Swinger in town Drag Artiste the Legendry “Maisie Trollette” and Brighton’s very own Miss Jason, Hosted by “Davina Sparkle” - Union Jack Flags mandatory!

All Just £29.50 per person, Why Not Book Now!

Look out for more Friday Nights coming throughout the year and Christmas Party Nights too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I wasn't expecting much from the Queens Hotel as I had read a few poor reviews, we were pleased by what we found, I will list the pros and cons:Service was very good, we were greeted by friendly reception staff and our tv remote was fixed within a few hours. Breakfast was good, filling and lots of everything - not the best we've had but definitely not the worse. Our room was spacious, bed was comfortable, the room was a little too hot but as the radiator was turned off we couldn't work out why! Cleanliness was adequate, the bathroom toiletries were adequate; shampoo/conditioner, shower gel and a bar of soap - we received another soap as soon as I requested one. I was a little worried about the outside noise as our window backed onto the lanes however i was only woken up on the second night by some exuberant men. I'm not sure just how noisy it can get on a normal weekend night... We didn't try the pool but it looked very nice. All in all it was good value for money and we enjoyed our stay even if it wasn't as perfect as we would have liked. The reception staff were very good at their job as were the breakfast staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is always great to see that our staff come across so well to our guests , and that you found your visit with us to have been a value for money experience.
May I take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year , and hopefully you might consider our hotel again for your next visit to Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I had read through a lot of the reviews for the Queens Hotel, and will be brutally honest and say I was not expecting much, however on arrival we were greeted by polite, courteous staff, the young lady at Reception going out of her way to check and see if our room was ready (we had turned up early), which it was so she sorted out our keys, and away we went.

We had room 308, kingsize bed, 2 single beds so ideal for a family, sea view and a nice size TV .

The room was clean and tidy, and if I wanted to be really picky, then yes, there were a few cosmetic issues, did that affect my stay, NO....

The breakfast (which had a lot to live up to from reading the reviews) was excellent, good food, well cooked, hot and plentiful, just the thing after a good nights sleep.

It was fun sitting on the small sofa in the window alcove, watching the seagulls on the ledge, and the view of the pier and sea was just excellent.

I would not hesitate in going back, and would happily have the same room again.

We did try the indoor pool, which at just 10m long was enough for a gentle swim, to relax after a hectic day, and I did not get round to trying the sauna which was a shame, maybe next time.

All in all a very pleasurable stay.

Well done.

Room Tip: A sea view, high up would be good, we did have a little noise during the night, but not enough to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surveyor47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to see that there were so many aspects of your stay that impressed you with our hotel , and that your overall experience was that you had a pleasurable time.
I shall pass on your comments to the team about staff friendliness , and I hope that you will continue staying with us when in Brighton .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Queens Hotel, for a very good rate we had a large room and were offered a sea view for a little extra which was well worth it, all staff were very friendly and helpful, food was good and as we were stuck in the hotel due to extreme weather conditions the 2 for 1 cocktails went down very well, our windows did leak during the torrential rain but its an old building so to be expected and once again the staff were very helpful, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aynjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see that you enjoyed your visit , and although the weather along the south coast has been pretty stormy , its marvelous that this did not interfere with your visit too much.
One of the very greatest asset we have as a hotel , is of course our wonderful team of staff , who Im delighted to say get mentioned quite regularly for their friendliness , and again its nice to see that you found this to be your experience also.
May I take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year , and we look forward to seeing you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraardsbergen
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I think this hotel is good value for price. Staff is very friendly, rooms look nice, breakfast is good.
Oke it looks sometimes a little bit dated and windows look dirty but after a stormy night, you understand why.
Sometimes you have to wait a few minutes for breakfast and sometimes the toaster doesn't work but who cares if you are on holiday...
Perfect location to go shopping, wandering. Near Brighton Pier, ...
I've enjoyed my stay in the hotel and I would definitely go back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KittyScheerlinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It was great to see how much you enjoyed your visit , and I must agree that the hotels location is fantastic in relation to the shops and sights of Brighton.
May I take this opportunity to wish you and yours a very Happy New Year , and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Best thing about Queens hotel is the location. You come out from the hotel , and just next to Brighton pier.
It's nice hotel and warm feeling.
But when you think of the price you pay,you'll expect bit more . They used to have a gym with a steam room. But that's not working any more. Gym is ok. Rooms fine.
So it's ok, but I feel it used to be bit better.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SriLankanInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I must apologise for any disappointment you experienced finding our steam room being closed. We continually work on improving our facilities , and our swimming pool , and sauna continue to be popular features , and recently we have installed a completely new suite of TECHNOGYM equipment which has proved to be extremely popular with our guests.
I am very happy to see that you seemed to enjoy every other aspect of your visit , and I hope that you will consider our hotel for future visits to Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing