We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could get more for your money ”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could get more for your money ”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is based in a good location , right on the sea front. We had a sea view room but the windows were pretty dirty , so couldn't really see much out of the windows.
The pictures of the rooms on the website are very very different from what you actually get, which was a disappointment. The rooms are old and very outdated with the furniture & just looks like it needs a lick of paint everywhere. We did end up moving rooms as our first room was tiny but they moved us with no issues , which was good. Breakfast was lovely & the spa was nice to.
Would go back to Brighton but wouldn't stay in this hotel again , as I think we could get a better hotel for the money we spent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I must apologise for any inconvenience caused by the windows not being clean at the time of your stay.
We had one of the worst storms that Brighton has experienced for many years last Friday night , which impacted greatly on the entire city , and of course left lots of salt staining etc., on our windows. I am happy to report that they have since been cleaned by our regular window cleaning company on Wednesday last, and of course are back to how they should be.
It was great to see that you enjoyed the spa facilities , and also your breakfast experience , and I hope that you might consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    802
    521
    253
    190
See reviews for
427
932
63
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a double sea view room and we were not disappointed! Our room was clean, spacious and modern with tea and coffee making facilities and a beautiful seafront view. The location of the hotel is second to none, 2 minutes walk from the pier, Sealife Centre, The Lanes and Churchill Square I would definitely return! The buffet style breakfast was splendid and catered for all; with eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, tomatoes, toast, cereals, porridge, yoghurt, fruit, croissants and fresh fruit juices my stomach was satisfied to say the least. The hotel overall is classic and clean with a friendly, luxurious atmosphere suitable for families, couples and all ages. We shall definitely be returning for our summer break and the only negative point was that the Wifi connection was quite weak. That aside, a beautiful hotel in Brighton's perfect location!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliep0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see that everything was to your satisfaction and of course that as well as enjoying the breakfast buffet , and your room , that our central location all contributed to you wanting to return again in the Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband was running the Brighton Half Marathon on Sunday Feb 16th and we decided to make a weekend out of it. We rented a triple room at Queens for us and our two children (4 yr old and 10 month old) and paid what I feel was far too much (£200!). The hotel is run down with black mold growing on the windows, windows so filthy you couldn't see out of them, Spa facilities absolutely freezing cold, night club under the building where you could here everything on the 4th floor (kept us and the children up until closing time which wasn't until 2:30AM). This didn't help with my husband running in the half marathon the next day. The hotel did not accomodate race goers the next day for a full Breakfast (race started at 8:00AM yet they didn't start serving full breakfast until 8:00AM). I felt that if I could visibly see the mold on the windows and the walls what was on the carpet? I could not let my 10 month baby crawl on the floor in the hotel room for risk of getting sick! In addition, many steps to and from hotel room and with luggage and baby stroller it was very difficult to manage - asked for assistance from hotel staff yet had to wait 20 min! Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I find some aspects of your review to be quite frankly untrue and misleading .
As the Half Marathon did not begin until 9.00am (and not 8.00am as you mentioned), we felt that for the a full breakfast service to be ready for 8.00am to have been a suitable option.
In addition , from 7.00am , as we had one guest requesting an early breakfast for marathon runners , we had a breakfast selection of porridge , croissants , cereals , fruit juice& fruit (we specifically bought in fresh bananas) , tea , coffee & toast.
On Friday the 14th (less than 24 hours before you arrived) , the South Coast of England endured one of the worst storms in living memory with Brighton suffering large scale flooding and wind damage etc. .
Our hotel is located on the Brighton seafront , and many of our neighbouring businesses were shut down because of the severity of the storm . With this in mind I find it a little unfair for you to highlight dirt on our windows on the day following such a severe storm.
Your review is entitled "Health Risk to Small Children" , which is extremely misleading and I can see nothing in your review that substantiates this. I can assure you that cleanliness , health & safety , and the well being of all of our guests are very well documented at The Queens Hotel as being to the highest of standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The rooms were lovely and ours was huge. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were welcoming. The breakfast was good and the times for breakfast were great to with service until 11 am. The pool is small and to get to the changing rooms and the sauna you have to walk through the gym! So, a great stay the only thing that would have been better is to have separate times when children can use the pool!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_jones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see that you enjoyed your visit so much .
Our large rooms are very much a great feature of the hotel , and of course having the breakfast run through most of the morning is an added bonus too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have stayed here twice now, once with my boyfriend and once with my two other friends. Both times were excellent, the service is brilliant, the staff are always friendly and keen to help. It is in a great location, right next to the pier and beach! Also about a 5-10 minute walk from the main town, shops, clubs and restaurants. The rooms are a great size and so are the beds! Breakfast is served in buffet style and there is a lot to choose from!
The pool, sauna and gym are great!
The whole décor and atmosphere of this hotel is lovely, great for a romantic trip away or for a fun weekend too! Would definitely recommend and I am very likely to visit again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We always enjoy having regular guests visit , and from reading your review , it looks like you are becoming one of our regulars!
Im very happy to see that you would recommend us , and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed in the hotel with my boyfriend in October as we were going to see a concert in Brighton. We asked for a quiet room on the seafront based on previous feedback and had to pay £20 more which we felt was reasonable for a seaview and piece and quiet.

Overall we were happy with our stay as the room price was cheap considering we were out of season. The hotel is a bit 'tired' and not decorated with a lot of taste but it does the job. Beds are ok, the hotel is clean and has a bit of its lost grandeur still there. It's nothing exceptional though apart from the staff who were extremely friendly and welcoming

Room Tip: Make sure you book the roooms with the seaview away from the bars and clubs at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
You make a great point about the benefits of the upgrading to a seaview rooms. The views are always spectacular!
Again , I see in your review how friendly you found the staff to be.
Its always so nice to have our guests enjoy a friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

very friendly staff, some areas are a little dated but generally it's a nice hotel , some of the other negative reviews are very picky people. we stayed for the weekend the hotel is very clean and the pool was nice. breakfast was good and my eggs were perfect both mornings.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ANGIE666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
One of the hotels greatest assets is our friendly team , and it is always great to see this point appear in reviews and feedback.
Keep us in mind for future visits to Brighton !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing