We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant birthday treat”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant birthday treat”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked to stay here on a recommendation and weren't disappointed.The check in was fast and efficient and staff friendly.The location was perfect.We booked a tower suite which was worth every penny as it is huge and overlooks the pier.The breakfast in the morning was a good variety.All in all we had a fab time and would definately return here and stay in a tower suite again.

Room Tip: Tower suite 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseafc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor , (and of course wishing you a belated Happy Birthday !
It is great to see that you had such an enjoyable visit , and of course where better to have enjoyed the wonderful views of Brightons seafront and pier than from one of our Tower suites!!
We shall look forward to seeing you back with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    802
    521
    253
    190
See reviews for
427
931
62
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Queens with my girlfriend for a short break earlier this week. The hotel needs a lick of paint and some new furniture throughout as it just feels really dated. The room we had at first was meant to be a double, but it was more of a larger single room which was a disappointment.

However Ricardo at reception helped us out and moved us into a king room which was much better although £80 extra. I think that this room was over priced for what it was considering I've stayed in the Grand in Brighton and know what that is like for similar money.

I couldn't fault the staff or the food however, and the bed was comfortable so I got a good night's sleep but I just don't feel I got value for money.

If the hotel was to undergo a refurbishment it would be much better as it's suited in a great place near the pier.

In summary, not brilliant, but not bad either. Just not value for money and I wouldn't stay here again in its current state.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see that you found your room , our staff and the food to be to your liking.
We are always working on projects within the building to improve the building , and Im sure that on your next visit you will notices some changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wyrley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great location, rooms were comfortable with a nice spa,sauna pool and gym. The changing rooms could do with a refurbish though as the floor was a little rough around the edges.The reception area needs new chairs as very tatty and ripped in places but staff helpful. However, the rooms were fine, spacious and comfortable beds, again though a little tired but good value for the price paid with the smashing breakfast on offer. toiletries available Does depend on whether the room has good glazing though as the nightclubs on the back can be noisy. very easy to walk to the places of interest as the location is excellent.

Room Tip: make sure your room has the triple glazing or faces the sea as two nightclubs and bars at the back w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jooles2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see how much you enjoyed your visit and that you found your visit with us to be good value.
I agree with you very much about the benefits of booking the seaview rooms . The views are wonderful !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Queens hotel over half term as a short break. We were a little disappointed with our room. We had booked a suite for us and our 2 children and as the break cost rather more than we usually pay was hoping for a luxurious break by the sea. Unfortunately the room looked very tired and a little shabby. There were tears in the curtains and the tables looked like the varnish had disappeared from the top several years ago. The carpet also looked tatty and old. We visited the health club and the pool looked a bit grubby.
However the food was nice and staff friendly.
I don't think we would return especially as we paid over £100 more than we would usually pay for a room that was inferior to many we have had for a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmjc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Whereas it is great to see that you enjoyed the nice food , and found our team to be friendly , I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of the decor.
i hope that you will continue to visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Aldershot, England
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

If like us you can look past the slightly dated look of the hotel and places that could be a bit more tidy, you will be ok. Staff were friendly and food was quite good. Upon arrival we enquired about parking and were give a voucher to get parking for £5 less and advised to pay at the Thistle Hotel reception by cash. On leaving we went to car park ticket machine to give us an idea of how much we had to pay. The ticket machine showed £25. We then went over to Thistle reception to pay where we were told its £40 to be paid. We asked the receptionist to recheck in case there was an error, she assured us it was correct. Needless to say we just paid at the ticket machine. Begs the question of why this big difference? Also why is it voucher says cash only!! This is quite offputting. Had a good stay but the parking bit in the end spoiled it a bit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueb3ll3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I must apologise for any issues you experienced with parking at the neighbouring Thistle Hotel. Upon presentation to their reception desk , the parking voucher we issue to our guests , they should have only charged £20.00. The £40.00 charge that they can issue is normally only charged to guests who are without a voucher. I shall look into this with their team to see what happened.
With that aside , I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to your continued custom in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is based in a good location , right on the sea front. We had a sea view room but the windows were pretty dirty , so couldn't really see much out of the windows.
The pictures of the rooms on the website are very very different from what you actually get, which was a disappointment. The rooms are old and very outdated with the furniture & just looks like it needs a lick of paint everywhere. We did end up moving rooms as our first room was tiny but they moved us with no issues , which was good. Breakfast was lovely & the spa was nice to.
Would go back to Brighton but wouldn't stay in this hotel again , as I think we could get a better hotel for the money we spent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I must apologise for any inconvenience caused by the windows not being clean at the time of your stay.
We had one of the worst storms that Brighton has experienced for many years last Friday night , which impacted greatly on the entire city , and of course left lots of salt staining etc., on our windows. I am happy to report that they have since been cleaned by our regular window cleaning company on Wednesday last, and of course are back to how they should be.
It was great to see that you enjoyed the spa facilities , and also your breakfast experience , and I hope that you might consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a double sea view room and we were not disappointed! Our room was clean, spacious and modern with tea and coffee making facilities and a beautiful seafront view. The location of the hotel is second to none, 2 minutes walk from the pier, Sealife Centre, The Lanes and Churchill Square I would definitely return! The buffet style breakfast was splendid and catered for all; with eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, tomatoes, toast, cereals, porridge, yoghurt, fruit, croissants and fresh fruit juices my stomach was satisfied to say the least. The hotel overall is classic and clean with a friendly, luxurious atmosphere suitable for families, couples and all ages. We shall definitely be returning for our summer break and the only negative point was that the Wifi connection was quite weak. That aside, a beautiful hotel in Brighton's perfect location!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliep0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see that everything was to your satisfaction and of course that as well as enjoying the breakfast buffet , and your room , that our central location all contributed to you wanting to return again in the Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing