We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasent break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a pleasent break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

ideal location . clean hotel , friendly staff. to be fare for the price we paid per head we could of stayed at the youth hostel next door which looked vile. good breakfast selection . nice gym. beware the bath fill up quick .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit , and we look forward to your continued custom in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    783
    514
    250
    188
See reviews for
422
907
61
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner visited the hotel for a one nights stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a reasonable size, modern and clean. Breakfast was delicious .. choice of cereals/fruit/croissants as well as buffet style full english breakfast. The free use of pool/sauna was an added bonus to the stay! The only negative was that the bed i found to be uncomfortable but that could be down to personal preference. All in all a lovely hotel at a reasonable price, would definatley return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melzar1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is always great to see that our guests have found our hotel to have been comfortable , and equally as important , found our staff to be friendly.
Your summary of us as being a lovely hotel , at a reasonable price is indeed a lovely comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Thursday night twin room for me and my brother...booked same day. Massive room 319 and great breakfast....bed was a little soft for my liking. Reception staff excellent. Breakfast staff excellent. The pool and sauna inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Im delighted that both you and your brother enjoyed your visit . I shall pass on your kind comments to our reception team, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having dropped our daughter off at Gatwick enroute to Italy,we drove on down to Brighton,approx` 30 miles.Arrived mid afternoon,cars quueing to get into the Thistle carpark,next door,I parked on a unloading bay, on seeing the traffic warden hovering around I asked him if ok and how long I`d got, as long as it takes!! this being a Sat`.So unloaded cases etc and checked in,the receptionist said I was lucky! so please check first! did all thats required given room nos 207 on the front overlooking pier,great.Left mrs and drove car to Thistle carpark all clear but had to wait anyway as it was full,10min`s and one impatient driver behind me,we`re in.If you park between 4pm and 11am next day its only £10,but I was early and anxious to get parked so cost me £ 20,yes seems a lot .So back to wife who sat with G& T in hand!! went up to room,smashing, lovely and warm room, plenty of space,2 large wardrobes,big bathroom/shower ,plenty of hot water and it all worked ok.tea & coffe making facilities and biscuits to with 2 easy chairs and table with a marvellous view of the pier and beach wow.Got ready and walked around the Lanes looking wistfully at the lovely but high priced clothes etc,then down to the beach tide coming in,so walked along and into the small shops under the front selling allsorts from sea shells to paintings/prints cost a few hundred,the wind blew but most folks were well wrapped up,back onto the pier,yep still have the penny slot machines,places to eat and drink,and a wide range of up to date amusements hurtling people in all directions.To round off our evening we had a meal at the Harvester( more in my later report)Back to hotel yes I know the old ones!!,read mag watched tide come right in,had cuppa,good night few late owls going by, plenty of pubs and clubs close by.Next morning down for breakfast table overlooking front, full range of cereals,cooked breakfast,toast etc,food all nice and hot ,and pleasant staff always ready to help.Packed gear and coll` car,of to Eastbourne just up coast calling at Lewis on way,nice place,nice shops, pleasent staff.Lovely day out,+ meal then back to hotel after parking car,see earlier detail.Again lovely warm room as by now the tide was smashing against the prom` and the wind howling away,but we were cosy and warm,thanks Queens,def` come again,ps always ask for a front/sea view if possible when booking.

Room Tip: see my last note, always ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your very detailed review on TripAdvisor. It is always great to have such comprehensive feedback from our guests.
It certainly seems that not alone did you enjoy your stay at our hotel , but also you enjoyed the many great treats (restaurants , shops , views etc) that Brighton has to offer.
I couldnt agree with you more about the benefits of booking a seaview room , as the views are always breathtaking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burghfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

On first arrival, the front entrance doors were dirty and uninviting and we thought "Oh what have we booked?" In fairness though, Brighton like a lot of the country was being battered by gales, but first impressions are important. Through the front doors though was a lovely reception area, and excellent staff. We had a special request which had been sorted out and was ready and waiting for us.The room was large, extremely clean and well presented over looking the seafront.
In the evening we decided to eat in the restaurant. Food was OK not great, service was not good, staff seemed to be more interested using their mobile phones or disappearing for ages.
Breakfast was good, friendly helpful staff, good variety of food, although quality could be improved slightly.
Unfortunately, we didn't make use of the Spa due to time constraints...maybe next time!
Overall was extremely pleasant and good value for money. Would definately return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see that your overall experience was a good one and that you would stay with us again in the future, but please accept my apologies for any shortcomings on our part with the evening food service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights Sunday and Monday , we were checked in quickly and given advice on parking , which was very expensive ! No fault of the hotel , our room on 2nd floor was big and although a tiny bit worn was clean and tidy , the hotel was of a reasonable standard , nothing a lick of paint wouldn't cure . The gym was well equipped and the pool looked nice. Breakfast was ok nice good hot food, a little more choice would've been nice but it was ok both days . The only problem with our stay which keeps cropping up is the noise at night , it woke me on both nights around 3am . It is unfortunate as it's out of the hotels control. I think this is a nice place to stay for a short break if you don't mind a bit of broken sleep ! 7/10 !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huddo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see that your overall experience during your stay was a good one.
I must apologise for the noise intrusion you experienced from outside the hotel , but thank you for your scoring of 7/10 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Generally a nice stay and hotel. Really nice staff and good service, and the bar downstairs was good too. The only downfalls are that the gym/pool area is combined and subsequently very wet everywhere, and the changing rooms are poorly located in the gym, which you then have to walk through in your swim wear to get to the pool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjmanning89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see that you enjoyed your visit , and found the hotel to your liking , and staff to be friendly.
Unfortunately , due to the leisure club and pool being in the basement of the hotel , we are limited to what structural changes we can make with regard to the lay out of the facilities , but should we be considering changes in the future , we will certainly bear your beneficial feedback in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing