We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but that's all.”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location but that's all.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic for all the restaurants, shops & Brighton pier. The sea view from the tower rooms is just great. The hotel itself is old and despite renovations, looks tired outside and in. The staff seem to have a culture of not caring about customer service and doing things to the minimum standard. There is a real lack of professionalism with the exception of one or two staff. The breakfast was just awful: undercooked sausages & bacon and eggs that were like plastic and coffee slapped down on the table in a mug like we were in a transport café. My advice would be to spend the extra and stay at The Grand if you can. Customer service there is excellent. If that's a bit pricey, then stay somewhere cheap as the staff and the breakfast could not be much worse than at Queens Hotel which is just too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet with your expectations.
We have an incredibly dedicated team here at the hotel , as is so often mentioned in our reviews that we recieve , but if for whatever reason you felt that customer service is not what it might have be, we would always welcome the matter being raised at the time, as this allows us an opportunity to rectify any matters for you during your visit.
I am delighted to see that you found our central location to have been so much to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    802
    521
    253
    190
See reviews for
427
932
63
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent a few days here with my sister and niece just before Easter. We had a fantastic room with a double bed and a triple bed. We had a lovely sea view although it was a little noisy at night but we expected that and the view more than made up for it. The staff were great and very helpful. The breakfast choice was huge, plentiful and delicious. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveB272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am so delighted to see that everything at the hotel was so much to your liking during your visit , and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here, wonderful location, great room, staff are ok.
I say this as when we stayed, the room next door to us was smoking, to cut a very long story short, it took 3 phone calls to reception and me going down to tell them about it to get it sorted. They then got our room numbers mixed up and accused me and my partner...when they came into our room they realised it wasnt us.
Anywho, we spoke to the manager and they gave us a discount for another stay. We stayed there again and it was ok. But breakfast is not up to scratch.
I wouldnt stay again because the price is far to high for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that the hotel did not meet with your expectations , and we shall certainly take your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked this hotel as a secret hotel with last minute.com which came with a free upgrade to an executive room. The location is really good being virtually opposite the pier with the Lanes out the back. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful our room was out the front with a view of the pier. The room was very spacious with one queen size bed and one king size we slept in the queen size which was really comfortable. The leather settee was great to sit on and watch the busy sea front Out of the ceiling to floor windows. The bathroom was very smart. Even though the sea front road was very busy the room was very quiet. Breakfast was a buffet style with a good selection. This was our first visit to Brighton and the queens was a good choice. Looking forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISCA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that everything was to your liking during your recent visit , and that you enjoyed the wonderful views from your room.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great location by the beach and pier, with helpful staff on reception and in the breakfast room. Our room was both larger and nicer than we had expected, and generally the decor throughout the hotel was good. We were out-of-season so noise from the streets outside wasn't an issue, although I imagine it would be at some times of the year (partly due to the original single-glazed windows).

Negative points: the only real option for parking is one of the public car parks in the town, which aren't cheap. Breakfast was plentiful but the quality of the ingredients was quite poor. Bathroom was surprisingly cold in February, not that this really bothered us as the bedroom was warm.

Positive points: good decor, large room, helpful staff, great location.

Room Tip: Higher floors to reduce noise from streets outside, plus naturally go for a sea view if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that overall , you enjoyed your visit with us , and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I slept very little at this hotel owing to the night club opposite. Once that stopped, the seagulls started ( not complaining about that ) then the lorries collecting rubbish and loud crashing noises as bottles were collected? Goodness knows! But if you need a good night's sleep you may not get one here. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast was fine if you don't mind a buffet style. The breakfast tables need replacing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gohopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to read that you experienced some noise intrusion during your visit. For the next time , I would suggest you consider one of our seaview rooms , as they tend to be quieter.
I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as the complimentary breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in other hotels along the seafront but none were as noisy as the Queens. Started off on the 4th floor at the back but even with the Windows shut the noise from a nearby bar and club was too much, went on until 5am too. Got moved to a room on the 3rd floor at the front and while it had a nice sea and pier view, it was still noisy. Not worried by traffic noise as I live by a main busy road but the noise from the room above was unbearable, the floor boards creak so loadly it was like and elephant marching up and down the room for hours. This is a big let down as despite being an old hotel it was still quite nice, with good facilities. The reason I only gave them two stars though was the fact that no one asked me if I had a good stay or if everything was ok when I checked out. Not even the chance to discuss the problems which meant I had two bad nights of sleep. Not good when you are attending a conference.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chwb2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that you experienced some problems during your visit. We try wherever we can to rectify issues that our guests bring to our attention , and I must apologise if we did not. It is great to see that you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities , and certainly if you mention when booking again your previous issues , we will allocate a suitable room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing