We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical seaside hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
A TripAdvisor Member
“Typical seaside hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Was looking forward to our trip to Brighton and our stay at the Queens. Rooms aren't cheap so I arrived with high expectations. The positives are the location, couldn't be any better! Breakfast was included, buffet style and you could eat as much as you like!, full English coffee and orange juice all available. Negatives, hotel too hot during the evening, windows that hardly open, I kept banging my head on the wooden pelmet above the window...and the beds are too small. That said we loved our weekend in Brighton, lovely place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your visit. Over the extremely warm spell , we were providing fans to our guests to use in their rooms , but I fully appreciate that the warm weather was so humid , that these only partially helped.
It is great to see that you enjoyed our central location , and buffet breakfast , and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    815
    527
    256
    196
See reviews for
439
945
65
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I used to live in England, but now I live in The USA.
I have to say, I thought I was booking a somewhat nice place for myself and my teenage son, so we could go visit my brother.
I could not believe what a bad hotel it was.
The rooms were like jersey shore motels without AC!
I had to sleep with the windows open because it was soo hot in the room.
But because the windows were open, all you could hear all night was laughing and screaming from the bars and club outside. We could not sleep. I will never stay there again
The bathroom was really old and needs updating. No fridge in room.
Pretty sad and depressing.
Oh, the breakfast was good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that your visit did not meet with your expectations. I appreciate you would have enjoyed fridges in rooms , and of course over the extremely hot and humid weather , air conditioning also.
However , as with a majority of old (Queens Hotel is over 100 years old) traditional British seaside hotels , air conditioning is not a feature that is frequently available. We do however offer fans which can be requested from our reception team.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your breakfast during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff were friendly enough and the location can't be faulted at all, so why only three stars for the Queens? Well, it's just one of those venues that you're either going to love or hate. If you don't mind hotels that are, and feel very, very old then you'll probably not get what I don't like about it. It's just that old, shabby, run down feel around the edges, the little details and wear and tear that just put me off. I've stayed in older, but wonderfully presented and maintained hotels, but this is just one of those that feels unloved.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 404tuneless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that you thought the hotel came across as being a little unloved. A majority of our team have been here for many years , and it is the love of the hotel and what we achieve on a daily basis that keeps us here.
I was delighted to see that you found the staff to have been so friendly and that you enjoyed our central location.
We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff here are very helpful and the level of service is great, the hotel is let down by some shabby spots in the decor and furniture, although the bedroom we stayed in was a lovely large room. It was very clean and the housekeeping team did a fabulous job of changing and cleaning the room daily. Room service was very swift and helpful and the meal itself was superb. The buffet breakfast is very good but not outstanding, but again the staff were very helpful. The central location is fantastic although there is some street noise until rather late. The real negative for me was the heat in the room which as we could not open the window more than 4 inches was quite overwhelming. Air con would have been very good! Overall I would stay here again for the location and staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is really wonderful to see how you found our staff to have been helpful and friendly throught your visit , and how generally you enjoyed the time you stayed.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for one night as part of our first wedding anniversary celebrations. It is in a very good location. We stayed in a classic double room (room 105) with a sea view. The room was clean and lovely with high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows. We had a great view of the pier. Bed was comfy. We arranged for champagne in our room on arrival which was brought in as soon as we entered the room. The breakfast was average but nice and edible.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurpreet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor , and congratulations on your anniversary!
I am delighted to see that you both enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The positives - The hotel is very central, practically on the pier! Rooms are of a good standard, breakfast is great (buffet style), staff are friendly, they let us check in early, baggage storage is available, clean and comfy beds.
The negatives - the spa does not have a steam room anymore but this is not deleted from info, no parking so be prepared to pay heavily for the multistorey. What only gave this review 2 stars is that we hardly got any sleep as there was excessive noise from nearby clubs and pubs until gone 4 in the morning! As it was hot, we had the window slightly open but would have stifled otherwise as there was no aircon.
I love Queens but would not stay again because of the noise factor unless I could pay for a seaview room (considerably more expensive than a standard double) which does not face the road near pubs and clubs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathySGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
As we are so centrally located , there can be some occasions when noise from outside can affect our hotel guests , and as you so rightly mentioned , rooms that are higher up and sea facing tend to be the quieter option. Please accept our apologies for any issues you experienced.
In relation to parking options in Brighton , we have a very helpful section on our website (the "contact" section) which provides very helpful information as to the various locations and costs of car park throughout the city , and should be of great help on your next visit.
I am delighted to see that you found our staff to have been friendly , and that generally you enjoyed the hotel facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 for 5 days in a sea view room and were amazed at the size of the room - super large and reasonably well appointed. The hotel is close to the pier and The Lanes so is in the perfect location for a relaxing time in Brighton. Breakfast was pretty well done although I think that a bit more fresh ( not tinned ) fruit would have been an improvement. Also, I was disappointed that you had to pay for a freshly made cuppachino or latte at breakfast. The WiFi was free and fast and the staff were cheery and helpful. I was somewhat surprised that there was no Bar Fridge in the room though. Nonetheless a pleasant stay and most certainly far superior to the Thistle just up the road. Recommended.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room - trust me, it's worth the little bit extra !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozziemozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We shall certainly bear in mind your feedback regarding the breakfast for the future. I am delighted to see that you found our staff to have been welcoming and friendly , and of course it is so great to see that you would recommend us to others!
We look forward to seeing you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing