We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I stayed here for one night with my teenage son in a private, twin room. Was really pleased with the stay. Staff are super friendly here, which in itself goes a long way to making the stay excellent.
Location is premium, right over the road from the Pavillion and city centre.
Really clean (apart from a minging net curtain). Nice room with its own sink (shared bathroom though).
If you want to be in the city centre, I recommend it. A great place to stay in Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinity2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    41
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
37
63
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I only spent a couple of nights in Kipps but it was a really relaxed spot to explore Brighton from. Perfectly located a short walk from the train station and right next to the Pavilion and the Pier. The staff and regulars were really friendly, and although I didn't spend too much time there (choosing to be out and about instead) it seemed like a nice place to hang out and take it easy and get to know other people as there were a lot of young travellers passing through.
Most importantly, the beds were really comfy and I would definitely recommend it if you're new to the town and want to have a great location, and maybe make some friends along the way.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKS_likes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnborough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

the hostel was very clean, it had everything we needed, staff were very friendly and helpful, very good location. excellent value for money, really have no complaints. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again next time im in Brighton.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfortable. Well run. I think its primarily aimed at travelling students but we were in our 40s and 50s and it was fine. Excellent for larger groups. Good location. Excellent budget alternative to hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moley72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Kipps is like a hotel rather then a hostel. Was very clean but they had stupid rules which outweighed the good.

We stayed there for a few weeks and in that time we could not sleep in even after a big night out. We wanted to save money while we were there but it was impossible as we were not allowed in the kitchen to make breakfast or lunch. What kind of hostel is that! The tv room is closed at 1am so if you want to sit somewhere to read or chill out (and don't want to disturb others in your room) you have no where to sit.

I felt like I was at school camp with times I had to go to bed, times I had to wake, and what times I could eat.

They also have a breakfast which you have to pay for and we did that cause we had no other choice as we weren't allowed to make our own.

We left the hostel to stay somewhere else because of the reasons above. I know they have the kitchen closed from 10pm to 2pm and the bedrooms.from 11am to 2pm for cleaning but its a bit excessive! We weren't even allowed to get a beer from the fridge after 10 pm even thou there was a receptionist sitting right next to the kitchen. This is because they have beers for sale and want you to pay them. Not good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrinabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I arranged to spend a night at the Kipps Hostel on 15th March which was booked on the 14th March. I phoned to cancel on 15th March and was told it was not a problem and that I would not be charged. Subsequently, I was charged for the room without my consent. Had I been informed that I was going to be charged I would have honoured the booking. I made repeated phonecalls to the Hostel to ask to speak to the manager. Conveniently, the manager was always absent. I doubt whether my messages were passed on. I would not recommend staying at this hostel as the staff are not to be trusted and do not take complaints seriously. It is among the worst experiences of customer service I have ever had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughes_x_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Most backpackers will agree, We tend to make early starts to a day. therefore it is totally unexceptable to LOCK THE KITCHEN from 10pm til 8.30am. We were unable to store our milk or packed meals in the fridge for the following day because of this which was a great inconenience and not what you expect from a hostel, and not what we had paid for. So beware, fellow backpackers, unless you want to start your day past 9 o clock in the morning dont book to stay here. Also for any late comers you will have the same problem past 10pm! no crockery, kettle or access to your food and drinks.
THIS IS NOT A HOSTEL as any regular user will realise but a low key HOTEL unless you know these things you will be inconvenienced and disappointed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Officergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipps Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Property: Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Address: 76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN2 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kipps Backpackers Brighton We are a small friendly central hostel/backpackers situated opposite the Royal Pavillion/ Gardens and are close to all of Brighton's Main Attractions, including the Brighton Pier, Brighton Wheel The Beach, The Lanes, The Theatres/ Concert Venues and the Gay District. The Train Station and Bus Station are just a few minutes walk away. We offer a very friendly atmosphere, comfortable, budget accommodation with excellent facilities including a licensed bar. We also offer free Wi-Fi Internet throughout and 2x free internet PCs in our games room. Guests can also relax on our terrace or in our lounge area with XBOX/ Wii and Digital TV. We also offer a self catering kitchen. Our Accommodation is available to individuals and group reservations. We have a variety of room types, including - Private Rooms - Single/ Twins to Double Rooms TV, Radio/ CD player, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Shower and Wash basin. We also offer family rooms 3/4 Bedded Rooms. We also offer Dormitory Rooms for larger groups or individuals with ensuite facilities and free security lockers. We have free nightly events at the hostel including pasta nights, pizza nights and XBox Nights. A great way to meet other guests and the staff We look forward to welcoming you to vibrant Brighton and to Kipps Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kipps Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing