We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Legends Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
My Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$245
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
133
44
16
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
44
16
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormgames roomfelt securekitchen areafelt like homelong staywell equipped kitchenshort walkcommon areasshared bathroombreakfast includedlocation is fantastictea and coffeesized roomwater pressurecomfortable staystayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in this hostel for one night. The room was neat and clean but we think the price of 100 Euro per night is slightly overrated for a double room. We can recommend it to travelers who love to go out for dinner and explore the city cause it's situated in the heart of Brighton and only a 5-10 minutes walk from the pier! A simple continental breakfast is complementary when you book a private room! Alex & Murielle, The Netherlands

Room Tip: If you like a nice quiet room this isn't the place for you.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurielleWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi
Thank you for your comments,

We do try to keep prices as low as possible and competitive with other hostels/ budget hotels in the area. You were travelling over the Christmas/ New Year Period when rates are generally higher.

Book again direct with us, and we can offer you a 10% discount on your next stay with us,

Hope to see you again soon

Kipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hostel about a 1-min walk to the centre of town, 5-min walk to the ocean, has very friendly staff and comfortable beds. Upon arrival, you are welcomed and helped with your bags. Every night they have activities in the hostel, for e.g. movie and hot chocolate night, wine and cheese night and free bar snacks! I was there on Xmas day and the staff cooked a whole turkey dinner for 4.5 pounds each person! The things which could be better are: they make you vacate the rooms from 11am - 2pm to clean (no exceptions) and the self-catering kitchen is closed every day til 2pm. This is annoying if you are on a budget and don't want to buy many meals out. Although they do breakfast for 1 or 2 pounds which is pretty good.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi from lounge room and bar is accessible on first floor only.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eloise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi
Thank you for your feedback.

Glad you enjoyed our nightly events and the Christmas Dinner. !! Ill pass your comments on to the staff working that day.

Regarding the closing of the dorms from 11-2, this is only so we can clean the rooms, and present the rooms nicely for the next guests. In the meantime the Lounge and bar are open for you to relax in, and as soon as we finoshed cleaning, we do try and open earlier

We have now upgraded our wi-fi throughout the hostel, so you can get Wi Fi above the 1st Floor :)

Happy travelling

Kipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in the 'suite'. Very cosy and comfortable. You can hear the creaking floor boards, which makes for added ambience. Relatively basic amenities if you are expecting hotel standard accommodation, but pretty good for a hostel. Definitely recommended for a short stay in central Brighton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi
Thank you for your feedback and comments.

We are glad you would recommend us for a short stay in Brighton :)

Regards
Kipps Brighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I was a little worried about taking my friends to stay in Kipps as some of them had never stayed in a hostel before. We were all very pleasantly surprised. Even the usual hotel dwellers were more than pleased. The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and offered more than expected (toothbrushes, a hairdryer and some lovely toffies). The staff presented me (as the bride to be) with a complimentary cocktail on arrival and offered us their local knowledge as well as their hospitality. The location is excellent, a few minutes from the pier and opposite the pavilion, and the breakfast (included) was more than up to scratch. Certainly the best 'hostel' I've ever stayed in; I would definitely recommend Kipps - amazing value for money!

Room Tip: The second floor has the best bathrooms!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi

thank you for your feedback, and it is so nice to receive lovely comments like yours
I will pass your comments on to the staff.

We are also glad you enjoyed the complimentary cocktail. :)

Hope to see you all again soon

Kipps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The staff were very friendly and efficient, the rooms were reasonably clean and comfortable all at a n acceptable price. First time to Brighton and found the whole experience thrilling. Glamour has clearly taken on a new meaning=)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi
Thank you for your recent comments.

We are glad you enjoy Brighton and staying at Kipps.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews