We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently spent two nights in a private room. As a middle aged couple we were a little worried Kipps may have been to young for us but we were pleasantly surprised at what a great place it was. We were greated at reception by a very happy and friendly face and quickly given all the information about the place we needed. There was a communal kitchen, a lounge area with TV, movies and free internet throughout. The reception area also sold drinks at really cheap prices. Our room was clean and comfortable, we had our own shower in the corner of our room and tea and coffee were supplied. There were two toilets on our level which were share toilets. The location was perfect, a short walk to the pier and into the shopping district. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street for less noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KylieRuscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    42
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
38
64
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hostel is very good for short stays and you get what you pay. I'd totally recommend it. Location is great, you can easily go to beach or the city centre by walking. Staff is very friendly and the hostel has a lovely design!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Thanks for the special moments our goup of students from Salzburg got to spend at Kipps over the Easter holidays.
I had a lovely time with my friends and would have loved to stay longer in the hostel and in Brighton! Great Hostel. Perfect location - close to the Pier and attractions in Brighton. Friendliest staff we could have imagined. Clean rooms. Breakfast was simple and nice. Lovely evening treats (Cocktails, Easter Buns, Cake, Crackers and Cheese, ...). Lounge is the perfect spot to relax, write, chat, and surf in the Internet.
I'll definitely come back! Thank you :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamOe125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was the first time I've stayed in a hostel and I absolutely loved it. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a plus. Being close to the pier and the lanes with cute little shops made it a worthwhile experience. I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone visiting Brighton UK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I brought 23 students from Salzburg for a writing retreat. What a smashing hostel! Easily the best I've stayed in. The location was perfect, the accommodation very nice and the staff fabulous. We will all be back for sure. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: (There is no pool -- I clicked it accidentally and now can't remove it!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu_C176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Brilliant staff, lovely room, great location. Breakfast is bread, spreads, coffee tea etc and on a hangover we were very happy about it's existence. We stayed in a lovely double room great nights sleep.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi
We do like the comment "Best Hostel Ive Stayed in"

Thanks we appreciate the comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in a backpackers for the 1st time in my life and was very impressed. Staff were amazing and welcoming. Very convenient to coach station, city centre and all amenities. Overall it was very clean. Breakfast was adequate. Bed very comfortable. Different enteretainment every evening. One suggestion - the 2 communal showers were not very pwerful, perhaps one power shower would help!!!!! other than that a fantastic experience and would definietly stay there again and it comes highly recommended. Thank you very much

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipps Brighton and
it being your 1st time at a backpackers hostel

We are looking into the communal showers, by completely renovating them sometime in 2014, as the current system won't allow for a power shower. But we have tried to improve the flow my installing new shower heads (water/air ) which seems to have made some improvement

Hope to see you again at either Kipps Brighton or Kipps Canterbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipps Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Property: Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Address: 76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN2 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kipps Backpackers Brighton We are a small friendly central hostel/backpackers situated opposite the Royal Pavillion/ Gardens and are close to all of Brighton's Main Attractions, including the Brighton Pier, Brighton Wheel The Beach, The Lanes, The Theatres/ Concert Venues and the Gay District. The Train Station and Bus Station are just a few minutes walk away. We offer a very friendly atmosphere, comfortable, budget accommodation with excellent facilities including a licensed bar. We also offer free Wi-Fi Internet throughout and 2x free internet PCs in our games room. Guests can also relax on our terrace or in our lounge area with XBOX/ Wii and Digital TV. We also offer a self catering kitchen. Our Accommodation is available to individuals and group reservations. We have a variety of room types, including - Private Rooms - Single/ Twins to Double Rooms TV, Radio/ CD player, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Shower and Wash basin. We also offer family rooms 3/4 Bedded Rooms. We also offer Dormitory Rooms for larger groups or individuals with ensuite facilities and free security lockers. We have free nightly events at the hostel including pasta nights, pizza nights and XBox Nights. A great way to meet other guests and the staff We look forward to welcoming you to vibrant Brighton and to Kipps Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kipps Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing