We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant....bland food...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabethan Cottage Tandoori

Elizabethan Cottage Tandoori
Ranked #378 of 1,099 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lancaster
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant....bland food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A friend and I tried Elizabethan Cottage yesterday evening after I read some mixed reviews.....I have to say I was hoping for the best. The welcome was somewhat lukewarm, although the waiting staff were moderately friendly. The restaurant is nicely decorated, welcoming, and it was busy there yesterday.
We had poppadoms and pickles to begin. The pickle servings were a little meagre (we are used to bigger servings up north....) and I had to ask for more onion. Nice cold Kingfisher and Cobra beers.

My friend ordered a lamb pathia (the menu described it as spicy and it looked like it might be quite tasty) and I had their special biryani. We were very disappointed with the pathia - it was sugary-sweet and lacked any spice. The biryani was nicely presented, but again seemed to lack any excitement.

On the whole we were a little disappointed. We might return, but will be hoping for more exciting and tasty dishes next time. And please be a little more generous with the pickles - the poppadoms are the fun part of the meal after all....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank general-lee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Takeaway from the Village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We went here for a take away when we got caught in the snow earlier this year. The food had flavour and was very warming, however it did take a considerable amount of time to be ready whilst we waited in the bar area. They were quite busy, i pressume beacuse of the snow people were trapped! We may have been better eating in the restaurant instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CatAdsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Shame about the wine!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Dined here last week, as being local it is easy to get to and park. I would have given a higher rating if it were not for the very poor wine selection by the glass, which was a single poor brand. The meal itself was fine, but even though the restaurant was not busy, it still felt very cramped. Pricewise, I did not feel that we got value for money and was quite surprised at the size of bill for two at £55 with only a main selection and couple of sides. Will think twice about a repeat visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rofra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have been using this restaurant for a number of years,but since moving away from the area i have not been for a couple of years.We returned last week and were made very welcome,and the food still excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank francis6662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Tandoori near Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have been using this tandoori, known as The Elizabethan by locals since it opened, about 17 years ago or more. The owners are still the same, staff excellent. The owners are always around. NEVER had a bad meal, good food whether you eat in or out.

This would have to be the best Tandoori South of London. It won a lot of awards a few years ago, should win more in my opinion.

Not easy to find if you don't know it's there. It's near The Black Lion Harvester on the Old London Road, Patcham on the way into Brighton.

When I want to cheer my son up, I just bring a Elizabethan back for him. I live in London now, but thankfully have family in Brighton.

If I was to give a negative, they do not have high chairs, or booster seats. Knowing this, I take my own.

A MUST VISIT.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lareynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elizabethan Cottage Tandoori also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Elizabethan Cottage Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing