We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Brighton
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Was expecting a dirty & noisy hotel. But this was not the case, rooms have just been done up, the room was very clean & what you expect for the money you pay. Slept very well for the two nights we stayed. Only downside was the price of the parking was quite steep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to avoid the noisy hen and stag party's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eghamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    210
    114
    62
    59
See reviews for
187
177
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I booked this hotel due to the price being reasonable and the fact it says there is parking. However when we arrived there was no spaces and the carpark is quite small. I went into ask reception and she said i would just have to find somewhere nearby. Being brighton its either pay and display or full anyway!
The room itself was clean and tidy, with tv, kettle and teabags etc. the usual. Bathroom was small but adequate the shower was a good size.
I had left my hair straightners at the hotel and called the day i checked out to inform them.. they did not ring back, i had to call them 3 times, across several days to finally get someone to ring me back to inform me they were not found. Mystery there but when i finally spoke to someone with authority she stuck to her word and called me back and said they could involve the police if i wanted to take things further.

Overall i would stay here again but the only reason i would is because its a cheap place if you want to stay in brighton.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Arrived at hotel. Was able to park outside but did object to having to pay for the privilege. Booked in and was allocated room on the top (8th) floor. This would not have been a problem if the lift had not have been dirty and having seen better days. Entered room with my 11 year old son and walked in on a couple "enjoying themselves". Made a quick retreat and made our way back to reception in the second equally dirty lift. Receptionist was both embarrassed and confused and was then advised by a colleague that the couple in the room had extended their stay. We were allocated a second room. As we were attending a wedding we only had time to quickly unpack and change before leaving. Arriving back in the late evening I was horrified when my young son asked what all the hairs in the bed were. On looking there was head hair on the pillows and pubic hair in the bed which he was sweeping onto the floor. In the bathroom there were no complimentary toiletries but a half used bar of Imperial Leather soap which was matted with hair. There was also a half empty bottle of shampoo left by an earlier guest. There were also 2 newspapers on the bathroom floor dated 25th September - our stay was on the 27th September. In the room there was a dirty cup and spoon obviously left by an earlier guest. It was too late to take issue with the hotel. We actually had a good nights sleep. For breakfast we had Sausage, Bacon and Egg . Only the Bacon was palatable. I have reported the matter to Travelodge - at the moment without response. I had not stayed at a Travelodge for a long time preferring Premier Inns for short stays. On this experience I will not stay at one ever again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveD1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear CliveD1802, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel. We do not expect our customers to be allocated the wrong room and our hotels should also be clean to a specific high standard. We understand you have contacted our Customer Care team who have thoroughly investigated the concerns you have raised and have provided a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is situated just outside the main drag of Brighton but has easy parking and Accessibility for cars. There is a £5.00 per day (24 hours) charge, The rooms are clean and well care for and the facilities are fine. No frills but has a shower toilet and wash basin and was well maintained. There is a TV and coffee making facilities. We decided to eat in the cafe which again was clean & tidy and the food was fine. Not a gourmet meal but was tasty and warm and not over expensive. We were on the 6th floor and were able to use a lift. There are 2 available.
Overall we were very content with the accommodation and the staff were very helpful and cheerful with a nice smile each time we went to the desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
613 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Almost everything you want from a hotel like this: clean, comfortable, friendly staff and decent value. The only things which weren't quite perfect were the location (about 25 minutes walk from city centre) and the breakfast which was okay but not great (although it was cooked).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danrzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a last minute Saturday night trip to the seaside. No parking control, despite them taking money for it. Had to walk through the entrance which is also the smoking area - not so good with a small baby. Cold room, with a view of a local doss house and garden full of rubbish bags. No soap in the dirty bathroom. Just very cold and basic, all in all. By contrast the staff were very pleasant. Have since been refunded but have all intentions of avoiding Travelodge if this is the current standard.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear sunshine2107, we are sorry to learn of the problems you encountered at our hotel. It is regrettable you found the room to be cold, all of our heaters should be working however as part of our focus on minimising climate change impact, heaters are turned off until your arrival. We do have a number of spare blankets and duvets available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. We expect our rooms to be clean and fresh and the hotel will be made aware of the feedback that you have left which will help support any improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September. Building work was going on around the hotel but it did not cause much disruption. There was noise from the main road outside but again, not too much trouble. The main inconvenience was the distance from the seafront. It seems a lot closer on the map than it actually is. It was a good 25 minutes walk and a taxi cost anything from £5.40 - £8.10 depending on traffic so despite its lower price you may be better off booking the travelodge closer to the seafront if that is where you want to be.
Breakfast was disappointing. We only had it on the second morning but there was no fried eggs available and no bacon. When we asked we kept being told it was "on it's way" but it did not appear while we were in the dining room. Space is also very limited. The tables are crammed together and it was very difficult to sit comfortably without being in someone else's way.
The room was average. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room but only 2 tea bags, the shower leaked over the bathroom floor and there was no ventilation in the room as the window didnt open far and there was no air conditioning. It was very hot in there at night.
For the price, it's what I expected from a Travelodge but I would definitely book one closer to the seafront next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virtualsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the breakfast service Virtualsal. Our staff are trained to prepare food to a good standard and in a timely manner. We do not offer fried eggs as a breakfast item however the bacon should be readily available and we will ensure our Hotel Manager is made aware of your comments. We do offer tea and coffee making facilities, which is popular with our customers. If customers require more tea/coffee, they are available from our reception anytime. We are also sorry to learn of your disappointed with the temperatures in your room, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on a first come first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
1.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton

Property: Travelodge Brighton
Address: 165-167 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Travelodge Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton Hotel Brighton
Travel Lodge Brighton
Brighton Travel Lodge
Brighton Lodge Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing