We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as normal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Brighton
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“as normal”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Have stayed at this Travelodge a few times, has had a bit of a make over, great sized family rooms, and just far enough from town to walk in, great value for money, but the lifts need a bit of work

Great place for a short stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    220
    118
    67
    60
See reviews for
196
188
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

stayed on a saturday night for one night. exactly what we expected. staff were very friendly and helpful - the room plain and simple as well as very clean. the bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast, which was extra - was good, slightly pricey, but an "all you can eat", and there was plently of choice on offer to suit all tastes. Early check in was from 1200 (extra £10) which we didn't use - instead we left the car there (£5 per day) and caught the No5 bus into town. (the bus stop is opposite the hotel - and buses run every 5mins till late). parking in Brighton is very expensive, if you're lucky enough to find somewhere in the first place. Traffic is bad - mainly due to all the buses! The breakfast area in the hotel is quite small so has the potential to get very busy - we went down around 8.30 and there was plently of space.

Room Tip: we stayed in 508, righthand side corner (looking from the front) - very quiet with rear and side asp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank south-westone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and tidy with new furniture and decor. The lifts were not in the same state being surprisingly grotty. Considering the amount of hen parties we saw there it was extremely quiet and we got good nights sleep. The breakfast was not great but the staff were helpful. The car parking was limited and does cost extra.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gadyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear gadyball. Thank you for your review. Whilst we are pleased to hear you were happy with the cleanliness of our rooms it is regrettable to learn you were unhappy with the state of the lift, we expect all of the public areas as well as our rooms to be up to our usual high standards of cleanliness. Our bar café staff are also trained to prepare food to a great standard so we are also sorry to learn the quality fell below our standards on this occasion. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Hotel Management team so that they are aware of the improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Located slightly further from town than what we would have liked given that our trip was based around this aspect, but not too far that it negatively affected our trip. The building itself is no architectural masterpiece; its appearance reminiscent to that of a tower block of flats, with that said it was again what we expected. We were greeted at reception by a friendly lady who was ever willing to engage in conversation, even joining in the jovial nature of our conversation (I hasten to add this was done in a professional manner.) Our room itself whilst acceptable in size and comfort did have a slight smell of urine around the place which was noted to the staff as we left for the first time and was rectified upon return. The reception/bar/dining area was simply put small but given the lack of occupiers was comfortable and enables socialising. Where this hotel excels itself is with the staff, particularly the night staff who given that they have to deal with the more 'challenging' customers when it comes to behaviour always maintained a high level of professionalism. They duly engaged with everyone that approached them regardless of request and/or questions. In closing if its over the top luxury you are looking for then perhaps a budget hotel isn't the best way to go. If its a comfortable stay you are looking for then I cannot recommend the place enough as the staff are a true credit and are befitting of accommodation demanding 4 times the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Was expecting a dirty & noisy hotel. But this was not the case, rooms have just been done up, the room was very clean & what you expect for the money you pay. Slept very well for the two nights we stayed. Only downside was the price of the parking was quite steep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to avoid the noisy hen and stag party's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eghamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I booked this hotel due to the price being reasonable and the fact it says there is parking. However when we arrived there was no spaces and the carpark is quite small. I went into ask reception and she said i would just have to find somewhere nearby. Being brighton its either pay and display or full anyway!
The room itself was clean and tidy, with tv, kettle and teabags etc. the usual. Bathroom was small but adequate the shower was a good size.
I had left my hair straightners at the hotel and called the day i checked out to inform them.. they did not ring back, i had to call them 3 times, across several days to finally get someone to ring me back to inform me they were not found. Mystery there but when i finally spoke to someone with authority she stuck to her word and called me back and said they could involve the police if i wanted to take things further.

Overall i would stay here again but the only reason i would is because its a cheap place if you want to stay in brighton.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Arrived at hotel. Was able to park outside but did object to having to pay for the privilege. Booked in and was allocated room on the top (8th) floor. This would not have been a problem if the lift had not have been dirty and having seen better days. Entered room with my 11 year old son and walked in on a couple "enjoying themselves". Made a quick retreat and made our way back to reception in the second equally dirty lift. Receptionist was both embarrassed and confused and was then advised by a colleague that the couple in the room had extended their stay. We were allocated a second room. As we were attending a wedding we only had time to quickly unpack and change before leaving. Arriving back in the late evening I was horrified when my young son asked what all the hairs in the bed were. On looking there was head hair on the pillows and pubic hair in the bed which he was sweeping onto the floor. In the bathroom there were no complimentary toiletries but a half used bar of Imperial Leather soap which was matted with hair. There was also a half empty bottle of shampoo left by an earlier guest. There were also 2 newspapers on the bathroom floor dated 25th September - our stay was on the 27th September. In the room there was a dirty cup and spoon obviously left by an earlier guest. It was too late to take issue with the hotel. We actually had a good nights sleep. For breakfast we had Sausage, Bacon and Egg . Only the Bacon was palatable. I have reported the matter to Travelodge - at the moment without response. I had not stayed at a Travelodge for a long time preferring Premier Inns for short stays. On this experience I will not stay at one ever again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveD1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear CliveD1802, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel. We do not expect our customers to be allocated the wrong room and our hotels should also be clean to a specific high standard. We understand you have contacted our Customer Care team who have thoroughly investigated the concerns you have raised and have provided a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton

Property: Travelodge Brighton
Address: 165-167 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton Hotel Brighton
Travel Lodge Brighton
Brighton Travel Lodge
Brighton Lodge Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing