We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Brighton
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Kent United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had to change rooms because the window wouldn't shut properly and clearly needed repairing, and there was a problem with the bathroom door handle, the lifts were unclean and dodgy
The car park is very small and charges a fortune.
There is a charge for WIFI
On the plus side the staff were professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    218
    118
    66
    60
See reviews for
196
187
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We paid £25 a night to stay in this hotel, which we thought very good value for money, plus £5 per night for parking, which was quite a bit cheaper than the sea front located Travelodge at £15 a night.

The hotel was a 15 minute walk from the centre sometimes felt a little far when the weather was bad, although there were some nice bars and restaurants close by in the evenings.

Although the bed, pillows and room were comfortable, you could easily hear noise from the hallway, and we did have a problem with our window not being able to shut which meant a lot of outside noise could also be heard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank LeeClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

But what do you expect from a budget hotel. I was here here for a weekend 31/01/14 celebrating a 50th birthday. Wasn't in a lot really but found the room to be very clean. Staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Parking for £5. A day is great, I was in brighton for the summer and paid 17.50 a day, and that was just a mile up the road. Hotel seems to be used for group parties as on our second night about 30 men arrived for a stag do, they was placed on all different floors so none off our party got much sleep til after 5am. Breakfast was ok, not worth the money, but I suppose you can eat as much as you want, I only had it once on my stay. Walked into brighton and it took about 20 mins, cabs back were between 7-10 pounds, so consider this when booking. Walking distance to the train station too. In general I'd say the place is ok, but weekends may be noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. Plenty of parking £5 for 24 hrs which is great considering Brigtons car park charges. Checked in, lovely girl on reception. Eventually found the lifts, OMG what a mess they both are. One was out of use and the other was so rickety it didn't think it would make it to the 8th floor! (Seems to be a common observation, looking at other reviews and they are still in a bad state and out of order! , )
Room was spacious, clean and tidy. No toiletries in the small bathroom except the smallest bar of soap ever...now I know why there are no phones in any of the rooms, it's to stop you from moaning....Lol. TV remote missing so back to the horrific lift that sounded like it was being hand wound to reach the ground floor where the lovely lady dealt with me very promptly.
Breakfast was okay but cold and to be honest it was over priced in my opinion.
This is a cheap hotel and ideal for a stop over, but remember you get what you pay for.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank didim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are sorry to learn of the concerns you have raised regarding your recent stay at our Brighton hotel didim09. We have dedicated lift engineers who check our lifts to make sure they are safe for our customers and we’d expect our lifts to be in good working order. Unfortunately a lift can take time to fix depending on the severity of the issue. We do not provide toiletries as part of our brand standard, although our customers may purchase any toiletry items from our vending machines in reception. We'd like to offer our apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

As our daughter was giving birth we had to find somewhere in Brighton for 2 weeks that we could afford. Travelodge offers make it a very acceptable price but versus Premier Inn they still struggle to give the pleasant experience you want. eg There is only a £7.95 full english breakfast option (ironic as it is very much a minority activity in home) . We were no way going to have a budget room then spend £16 a day on cereal and toast . The staff were pleasant enough. We asked for a downstairs room for my wife's access problems and got one, Unfortunately No 5 room has the bins and linen cage pallets outside so we were woken up at LEAST once in the night, every night of the 14 we were there. We might as well have slept in the house with the new baby! Also we had to ask the desk to get the cleaners to hoover our room as it was not hoovered for a week, They still did not so we collared them ("resting" in their staff room) direct. PS Travelodge really needs to sort out their own post-stay site survey. It holds up all over the place, does not give enough free text ability for some questions and one question is ambiguous so that you cannot respond accurately but cannot progress if you do not answer. .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Dudley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
It is regrettable that you were disturbed by external noise during your stay Dudley G. We do expect our staff to be respectful of noise levels so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by the bins outside, we also provide double glazing in an attempt to reduce any noise which may be heard. Our housekeeping staff are expected to service your room during your stay and we would have expected your room to be hovered and cleaned so we are truly sorry this was not the case. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel staff so they can be aware of the improvements which are needed. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very basic but clean. The food is poor quality (no reflection on the cook) it's just the cheapest products you could find - even the BBQ sauce was watery and tasted terrible.

The lady at the bar was nice and the receptionist was fantastic.

The biggest gripe was the parking which has a machine which doesn't work with cards (it's meant to but kept saying no reception). So after 10 mins in the rain the lovely receptionist helped me.

If you're staying here I recommend you get a take away or eat out and don't bring your car!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonah1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Whilst we are pleased to learn you found our staff to provide a great service Jonah1907, we are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the food at our Brighton Hotel. We can confirm that the food we offer in our bar cafes is the same across each hotel and all café staff are trained in how to prepare food to a high standard. We’re sorry to learn of your disappointment and we’ll be sure to pass on your comments to the Hotel Management team so this can be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

All though then rooms have been refurbished I think the lift has been taken straight out of a council tower block from the 60's. Only one was working and didn't really inspire confidence in its ability to get to the top floor and back again. Rooms are clean and tidy. Family rooms are massive but do suffer from road noise, but what do you expect from a hotel sited on the main road into Brighton!? All in all better than most Travelodge's I've stayed in recently, and there been a few thanks to work commitments.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
It is regrettable to learn you found a lift at the hotel out of order during your stay Keith A, while some issues can arise with our lifts they are expected to be fixed as soon as possible and please be assured our lifts are regularly checked by a professional lift company to ensure that they are safe for use. Unfortunately due to the location of this hotel regrettably some external noise may be heard however in an attempt to reduce the noise outside of the hotel we do provide double glazing. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
1.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton

Property: Travelodge Brighton
Address: 165-167 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton Hotel Brighton
Travel Lodge Brighton
Brighton Travel Lodge
Brighton Lodge Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing