We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot room and slow costly internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Brighton
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel has no central air conditioning nor proper air circulation. We spent 4 nights sweating. The heat prevented you from being able to come rest in the afternoons. The hotel really needs to address this issue. If you are too cheap to pay for air conditioning at least provide fans or some sort of air circulation system.

We paid for the internet. Slow and impossible to get onto half of the time. Save your money by going to the McDonald's down the road. Their free wifi was great. Breakfast was a lot cheaper and better too!

The hotel needs to be updated and given some much needed TLC. I would recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddiesGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room AddiesGramy, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis. Our Wi-Fi service is offered through one of our partners called Arqiva who do have a dedicated Customer care team who we will contact to advise of the problems you had with the connectivity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Clean hotel that looks though it was converted from an office block. Unfortunately there aren't enough car parking spaces for the number of rooms and there's very little else close. We, plus many others, paid the princely sum of £5 to double park, advise reception of our room number if we were blocking someone in and then get up at 6.30am to move the car into a space that had become available. Madness and hardly relaxing!

It was also a hot day and due to the lack of ventilation in the room sleeping was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Alansart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Another really good Travelodge. Easy to find, onsite parking - charges reasonable. The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was very comfortable but very hot - the window restrictor needs to be slackened a little to allow more ventilation. Breakfast was just what is needed in the morning. Can't find better at the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Car0lMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

second time me and my girlfriends have stayed here . got to hotel about 4pm and it was full in carpark , there was one really small space we managed to squeeze into . £5 for 24 hrs parking . quick and easy check in, all staff we dealt with very professional and friendly . gave us a good cab number . £8 to clubs early evening £10 on way back about 2am . a lot of fire doors to open on way to lift which is annoying when you travel with as much stuff as we do. booked a room for three adults and , again, got a double bed and two singles . lovely large room. only two double plug sockets located on one side of room. all seemed nice and clean , apart from bath which was a bit brown and a hole in one towel but for £75 between the three of us for a Saturday night well worth it . £7.65 for breakfast but we didn't bother , scrambled eggs only type of egg and no mushrooms or hash browns . check out not till 12 which is great . love brighton so friendly and enjoy pryzm (previously oceana) on their Facebook page can get guest list- free entry before 10.30pm . wetherspoon in town for cheap drinks and late large lunch . will be back next year and will stay at hotel again. very happy, especially for such a cheap price .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sam_T_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Recently refurbished with comfortable beds run by an efficient team. Park your car for £5 for 24hrs. bus stop opposite to get to beach and town centre. Would definitely stay here again. Buffet breakfast top set you up for the day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 01206wilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Good location. Good value for money. Would definately stay at this Travelodge again. Menu choice could have been better especially for breakfast - not a lot of choice for vegetarians.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 437Diana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hotel is not bad,large room,TV,tea coffee,nice comfy bed.
The problem with this hotel the entrance is under a number of bedrooms and at this time of year groups of people congregate here smoking and drinking and sorry to say lots of bad launguage.
You cannot open your bedroom window unless you want your room full of cigarette smoke and worse of all the noise goes on till early hours.
To be fair the hotel might not always have groups of yobs staying but on this occasion it certainly did.
The cooked breakfast was very good and worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, this will limit the distress that might occur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 43 in Brighton
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 43 in Brighton
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton

Address: 165-167 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £47 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton Hotel Brighton
Travel Lodge Brighton
Brighton Travel Lodge
Brighton Lodge Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing