We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Brighton
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night for a family birthday in Brighton. Room was very clean and comfortable (all with kingsize beds) It was £90 for the two of us with breakfast and parking just outside hotel (£5 for 24 hours- cheap) Definitely stay here again. Staff were friendly

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ClaireMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Once you got inside, this hotel was very good, and we had no problems parking for a reasonable price.
It does look like an office block from the outside and that is fine, but it was clear when we arrived on a Sunday afternoon that people had been outside smoking and drinking- that's fine too as we didn't hear any noise while we were there- but the walk to reception was littered with cigarette ends and half empty plastic cups, it really wasn't very nice in the middle of the afternoon.
Surely someone could have cleaned up for 10 minutes.
But we were there for 2 nights and it was like that outside for the whole of our stay.
Reception staff friendly and helpful, cross the road outside the hotel and take the 5 or 5A bus into the town centre, they are pretty frequent and don't take long.
Rooms were comfy, bathroom clean, TV good, window opened enough on 2 hot nights.
I enjoyed our stay but a bit of exterior cleaning would have made the hotel nicer to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glamourpuss1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Have stayed in various Travelodges in UK and room are mostly functional rather than exceptional, but we were pleasantly surprised with our 3 bed family room. I was bright, fresh, clean with lots of windows and views over the park. We paid 5 GBP per day to park the car, which is ideal, as mostly impossible to park in Brighton. Room was cleaned and all towels etc changed everyday and for once we had more than enough tebags/sugar and proper milk which was also topped up everyday. Delightful stay and most entertaining watching some of the parking antics each morning through our 3rd floor window..hilarious. Only little tiny criticism...buy some WD40 for the 5 doors that you have to pass through to the lift...there was more squeaking than a barrel full of mice...nice hotel though and friendly reception staff.

Room Tip: front rooms have nice views over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travla_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel in March and was pleased to find that we could regulate the temperature in the room ourselves. The bed was comfortable and room of adequate size and was clean. There was cupboard space too which was a plus. Managed to find a car parking space and paid the £5 which was cheaper than staying in central Brighton where parking can be £25.00. The hotel had a small bar area with SKY TV and breakfast and evening meal availability. It was in a very quiet location opposite a park but not too far away from the town centre by bus or taxi. Reception were very professional and helpful.

Will definitely return next time we visit Brighton...

Room Tip: At the back of the building away from the road or not above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 492Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

business mixed pleasure and to see family who reside in the area. a very pleasant stay in this refurbished hotel on outskirts of brighton seafront away from the madding crowd. good value for money and opposite a park with the best wild flower display I have ever seen. this alone is worth a visit to brighton the city council should be so proud of turning two bowling greens into this display of nature at its best. go and visit you will be delighted and impressed



  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

First impression of the room is good, quite a good size with a double and 2 singles. That is the only positive thing I have to say!!
Car parking spaces are so tiny, couldn't even get out of the car when parked (I was smack bang in the middle of the space and had roughly 15cm of space either side!)
Window in 4th floor room was open which we initially thought was because there was no air con (on the hottest day of the year so far......not comfortable!!!) however upon looking at it closer the widow was completely broken!!!! The top hinge was snapped off so you couldn't even close it! My friend tried to open the window at night and it fell on her! Was very heavy and If I hadn't been there to help her prop it back up it would have fallen on her. Went To reception before heading out on the first night and advised it was broken and was told they would go and look at it. The next morning I told them it had nearly crushed my friend and the response from the rude lady behind reception was "it's been logged"........ No "sorry"...... No apologies...... Just "it's been logged". Customer service and general health and safety in this hotel is appalling, please do not stay here, spend a little more money an get somewhere well kept!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review Clare S. We are deeply sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay with us. We do expect all our rooms to be cleaned to high standards and for our facilities to be in good working order. Furthermore, we do not expect our staff to be rude but to be friendly, welcoming and offer assistance at all times so it is regrettable to learn that you did not receive a high level of customer service during your stay. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel has no central air conditioning nor proper air circulation. We spent 4 nights sweating. The heat prevented you from being able to come rest in the afternoons. The hotel really needs to address this issue. If you are too cheap to pay for air conditioning at least provide fans or some sort of air circulation system.

We paid for the internet. Slow and impossible to get onto half of the time. Save your money by going to the McDonald's down the road. Their free wifi was great. Breakfast was a lot cheaper and better too!

The hotel needs to be updated and given some much needed TLC. I would recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddiesGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room AddiesGramy, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis. Our Wi-Fi service is offered through one of our partners called Arqiva who do have a dedicated Customer care team who we will contact to advise of the problems you had with the connectivity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 43 in Brighton
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 43 in Brighton
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton

Address: 165-167 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £47 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton Hotel Brighton
Travel Lodge Brighton
Brighton Travel Lodge
Brighton Lodge Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing