We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Brighton
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The parking is really limited and first come first served, no alternatives signposted. Interior of the building and bathroom not up to a good standard and cups and spoons in the room dirty - good location but not somewhere I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    215
    115
    64
    59
See reviews for
192
182
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The location of this hotel is really good, it is just 15 mins walk away from the Station area but far enough away to be fairly quiet at night when you walk back.
Unfortunately the rooms have no airconditioning, so you have to open a window if they get too hot. One snag is people congregate around the entrance to have a smoke, so make sure you ask for a room towards the back and then you won't hear too much noise if you need to open the window. Ours faced the back and we could hear nothing at night which was good.
There is a car park with limited spaces. One downside is that there is nowhere dedicated to cycle parking, we had to chain ours to a fence rail. This is a shame seeing as a main red cycle route passes the front of the building!
There was a little bit of noise from a couple of other guests talking loudly in our corridor and slamming their doors late at night, but this cannot really be helped and happens in any hotel to be honest. To the room's credit I didn't hear anyone next door or below/above through the walls/ceiling.
We had an accessible room, which I presume is wheelchair usable. This meant that the bathroom had hand rails everywhere, which wasn't a problem in itself but it did mean that there was a particularly big (and cold) bar alongside the bath which got a bit in the way of a good relaxing soak.
But then on the flip side, the room seemed to have a lot more space inside as a result.

All in all I would definately go back there as it was a good location, and it did everything you would expect of a Travelodge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jonyboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for the bank holiday scooter rally. The location is a mile out from town and easy to get in (walk, quick cab, bus or sixties style scooter). Place is simple, clean with friendly staff - especially Miya).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 10Splash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel was 15 minutes from USussex which was positive. The parking cost 5 £ per 24 hours IF you could find a spot. The room was not very clean. The bath smelled of urine. There was no soap in the shower, we had to ask for the dispenser to be filled. We felt it was very expensive for the accommodations.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. We'd originally been booked into a room on the 4th floor, but we're swapped to 702 on the 7th. When we got to the room (and when we returned the next day after the room had been made up) the bedside lights & a fan were both on. Seeing as no-one was meant to be in the room, I dread to think how much energy is wasted lighting & cooling empty rooms.
The room was a decent size and clean. The bathroom was a little musty smelling and the toilet was like those shown in other reviews, which was a bit grim.
The room had a nice view across Preston Park, which was amazing when there was a rainbow. The downside was that we were directly above the front door, so we're kept up til 3am with people (hens, stags & workmen) shouting & laughing while they were smoking. The smoking also meant that we couldn't have our window open.
The car park is fairly small, maybe 20 or so usable spaces. There were a lot of works vans there which took up more than a space each and which made manoeuvring tricky.
On the whole, you have to remember that it's a budget hotel in a seaside town. It does the job, but I think next time I'd stay further out of town & in a higher grade hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepgep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Staff were helpful and understanding, the location was just 30-40 minutes walk from the pier and about 15 minutes walk from the high street. The room itself was clean and eye catching. Parking could be better! The road markings weren't totally clear as to where one could park and the pay & display machine caused unnecessary stress after a long journey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank londonsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay the room was clean and well maintained I didn't eat at the hotel so I couldn't write a review about the food but when I checked in I did see other people with food and it smelt nice and looked nice. The young lady on reception I think her name was Maya was really helpful smiled every time I saw her and always polite. I would stay here again when come back to visit Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northside-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 44 in Brighton
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton

Property: Travelodge Brighton
Address: 165-167 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton Hotel Brighton
Travel Lodge Brighton
Brighton Travel Lodge
Brighton Lodge Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing