We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Evening Star

The Evening Star
Ranked #297 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time here on Monday 4 August - drank some very well kept beers in the sunshine outside. The toilets were absolutely fine and the staff were pleasant, helpful & knowledgeable.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice beer!! Rude staff :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited at the weekend with friends and have the say the beer was top notch and the pub itself has a bit of a local feel to it which is nice. However the burly barman was obnoxious and should really consider if the hospitality is the right path to be grinding along. Would I go back? jury is out on this one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I don't generally like real ale... I prefer a pint of Stella... but as I write this review now on the train back to the royal county after a couple of drinks at the star, I am already planning how to return and also how to ignite my taste buds again with dark star beer

Close to the station... Excellent
Outside seating... Limited but it does have some sun drenched chairs
Inside... Minimalistic but clean and wooden.
Landlord friendly and...
Beers great... Dark... Light... Fresh... Strongly alcoholic or not so brain damaging... Your choice
Regulars sit slowly sitting a pint... Mixed with the odd tourist (us) and ozzie from the outback. No music only absolute silence. My phone ringtone raised eyebrows

Had to line my stomach and the baguettes were wonderfully crisp and fresh..

Lovely pub... wouldn't change it

Toilets... CLEAN and stimulating decor

Helpful?
1 Thank chappers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A "PROPER" PUB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Cosy atmosphere - can sit outside - don't be shy to share a bench. Fascinating selection of beers (ales, not euro-fizz), and cider. Knowledgeable, keen and dedicated staff. Didn't try the food but I hear it's good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank randbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best ale pub in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Minute walk from Brighton station. Absolutely rammed when we called in, with five staff working like demons to keep customers supplied with what this pub does best - beer. It is a Dark Star outlet - and Dark Star beers are simply superb. However it is not parochial, and always makes the effort to have interesting and unusual beers on from other breweries. Ales are perfectly kept. There are some tables outside, though it is a busy road so don't expect a verdant beer-garden scene.
This is a drinkers pub, pure and simple: no electronics, sofas, goat's cheese with rocket (or food of any sort), bottled 'cocktails', children or fake brasses.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11diner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Evening Star also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Evening Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing