We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girly hen night in Brighton”
Review of Smart Sea View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Sea View
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girly hen night in Brighton”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

There was a group of 6 of us on a hen night and stayed for one night in the smart sea view. We were a bit concerned after reading the reviews but our stay was much better than expected. We had quite a giggle with the bunk beds and who was going to sleep where. The sheets were clean, folded and ironed, ok you do have to make your own bunk but this just added to the fun. Our dormitory was clean, the bathroom was clean. You can come and go as you please as you pay a £10 deposit for a key card and you can come in as late as you like.

The staff were all helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had the continental breakfast, again all set out nicely, cereals, toast, jam, plentiful tea and coffee, squash. You could have the cooked breakfast for extra but we found the contintental breakfast just right.

Dont expect carpets and curtains and posh furnishings, but to be honest for the price we paid we would go and stay again, not for very fussy or finicky people but a great night was had by all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    38
    56
    40
    69
See reviews for
15
29
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

It was not a hotel it was a hostel/Doss House. We paid £126 for one nights stay! Upon our arrival in reception we found it filled with drunken fouled mouthed yobs. These yobs kept us awake all night by coming back in the early hours and standing outside in the street near our filthy hotel window drinking and arguing all night long. We had about one hours sleep and in the end we gave up on sleep and decided to watch TV to drown out the noise. However, as we searched for a suitable programme to watch we found lots of porn channels yuk, and when we tried to find the news channel the only news channel we could find was Aljezeera news. Says it all really!

We didn't bother to stay for breakfast we couldn't wait to get away, so we left at 6 am in the morning before all the yobs got up. In fact if we had not lived so far away we would have gone home even though we had paid. It was a very intimidating place to stay.

We have stayed in many B&B's and hotels and have paid a lot lot less than £120 and they have been lovely.

DO NOT STAY HERE EVEN IF YOU ARE DESPERATE BETTER TO SLEEP IN YOUR CAR! AND IT CERTAINLY IS NOT A HOTEL FOR FAMILIES UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR CHILDREN INTRODUCED TO PORN EARLY AND BE PART OF DRUNKEN BROKEN BRITAIN!

I should have looked at the reviews before I booked I will always always look at the reviews in future before I book anywhere again because all the bad reviews on here that say how appalling the hotel/hostel is are true.

If you are in the area just check out the dirty unkempt exterior with the ground littered with cigarette ends, bottles, cans and goodness knows what else!

Unfortunately for us and possibly you this hotel/hostel has very creaky floors and thin walls so that hostel residents using even private rooms as dorms made a heck of a din right through the night with their constant comings and goings.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms steer clear of this hotel! It appears that groups of youths/hostel inmates w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed here with about 10 mates and booked out a 10 bed dorm room. When we got there they were extremely keen on us paying cash, I can't think why other than possible tax reasons perhaps. We laid out about 60 quid for key deposits and walked down into the basement to our room.

Upon arrival in the room I would say facilities were extremely basic. Tile floor, basic bunks, nothing more nothing less. One thing to note is there was only one socket, so that meant we all had flat phone batteries for the trip.

The loo was ok, there was a 20p coming in it - this may or may not be a Brighton tradition for luck (unconfirmed).

We set about drinking heavily and had a good night out. Upon returning, we were as my welsh friends would say 'swilled'. The window would barely open so you can imagine how hot and sour the air was after waking up.

The breakfast was hilariously basic. Dirty squash, gross cereal, mouldy bread, a vat of jam with one knife that had jam on the handle, no set virtues or sink so you can imagine the sticky fingers. Oh, and rank coffee. AVOID AND STAY IN BED IF 'SWILLED'.

Overall, for 34 quid, this place did not represent good value for money even as a crash zone after a heavy night. I'm voting with my feet and not going back.

Special note: due to how the trip was centred on getting 'swilled', and the way the room felt like a prison cell, we now refer to the room as the SwillCell™.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here with 18 other guys on a stag do, and after reading the reviews prior to my arrival I feared the worst.
However, my stay was overly enjoyable.

Upon arrival, the approachable staff were very friendly and happy to inform us of all the small print we'd missed about the 5% debit card fee.

Our rooms were very pleasant, and the experience of having three-high bunk beds was great fun, just like being a kid again!

The choices at breakfast was enough to satisfy the needs of all. Coffee, tea, toast, cereal. Delicious! Also guessing how many times the bread had to be put in the toaster in order to toast it was a great game to play at 8 in the morning, a great way to end our stay!

All in all a great adventure, would recommend to all!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here for a rugby tour and couldnt actually believe what we witnessed. Had to make our own beds, had terrible duvets and terrible beds. Toliets and showers were disgusting. 'Breakfast' was dry toast with cash n carry margarine. The staff literally couldnt give a two hoots, very unhelpful and rude. On the second day when we returned to our rooms all our bags and belongings had been bagged up in black bin bags and put in a locked room because they accused us of not paying when they didnt know themselves how much they charged for their rooms. I honestly do believe prisoners get better treatment and they dont even pay! Avoid this at all costs!

Room Tip: None. when looking at swimming pool rating, i mean the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Budget hotel & hostel. I can't comment on the hostel part as I stayed in a private single room.

I knew it would be basic and it was but no problems there. I paid £35 for the night so you get what you pay for. The bathroom was small but clean and modern. Bed was fine. Room was small but again it's budget.

The only thing I'd say is the top end of the bed was right below the window, which was really drafty. So in the summer I guess this would be nice! but not quite the weather to make it pleasurable when I stayed.

Reception was fine, although having to pay £2 to store my bag came as a bit of a surprise.

It's about a 30-45 minute walk to the pier etc so worth considering that as there's not a lot else going on around the hotel...apart from the Alibi pub directly opposite which I found to be a good one!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My mother and I stayed here for the Brighton marathon, I am absolutely disgusted by this place and can't believe we paid £140 to stay here. There were no parking facilities even though it stated there was on the website. The room absolutely stinks and we can hear everything that's going on next door and in the hall. Shower was blocked and absolutely rank. Reception staff were unhelpful and couldnt manage the visitors in reception, disorganised. Can't wait to leave and get home tomorrow.

Room Tip: Don't stay here to begin with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Smart Brighton Beach
Smart Brighton Beach
#18 of 25 in Brighton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Sea View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Sea View

Property: Smart Sea View
Address: 9-12 St. Catherines Terrace, Brighton BN3 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Sea View 2*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smart Sea View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing