We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smart Sea View
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Una(Brighton)
US$454
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Granville Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$237
US$230
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blanch House(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$217
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$152
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
17
40
60
46
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
40
60
46
80
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Be open minded if staying here as not the Hilton. the room wasn't what I had ordered so make sure if you book to either ring the Sea view and clarify what you are booking. else you will be sharing with other people.
but we were moved to a different room with on suite.
all rooms are basic and facilities, but for the cost and being a hostel it was expected.
definitely suggest ear plugs eye mask. which I did take and had a good night sleep, as
lots of young people having fun, and being a listed building walls are thin, as they cant make to many changes as it is dated and could do with a re vamp which would make it better as the building is lovely.
you can come and go as much as you want.
Breakfast was edible but basic again but you could have as much as you like make sure your the first down at 8 as gets busy.
water was hot but again maybe wake early, four of us had a separate shower and still was hot.
There was no parking at hostel, but on road parking around the corner cost of £5 for 11 hours. bring money as they charge extra using cards. but you get the deposit back on door card, if not lost.
positives near the sea front 1.7 miles walk to Brighton lots of buses, lovely walk by the sea.
have fun be happy its what you make of it in the end. remember its basic and cheap.but I felt safe there.
we went 12th August weather was glorious which helped.

Room Tip: front of building as some you can see the sea, but there are building other side or road. ask for on suite as shared showers are not good as no windows so bit smelly.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneMcgowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

we stayed here on Monday 12/8/13, well to start with my friend booked it and stated she wanted a room with 2 x bunk beds, but when the voucher came it said what we wanted but also the small print stating (in very small words) that it would be in a shared dorm, my friend e mailed and phoned a few times stating what we had ordered was important due to my daughter already suffering from stress and anxiety, but this fell on deaf ears.
When we arrived we said this again but the man on reception insisted all was ok, when we got into the room we discovered there was already 2 other people in the room with their stuff all over the room, we went to the toilet that was along the corridor with NO hand washing in or around the toilet , so we had to go back to the room to wash our hands, we went out for a long walk and talked things through to decide we would go back to the hostel and get our things and then go down and check out, but the man on reception said we could upgrade for an extra £76, my friend kept saying she had booked a 4 berth dorm to which he said they didn't do rooms like that, so we stood firm and said we were going until he offered us a 4 berth room with en suite at no extra cost, this room was ok so we decided to stay but didn't realise how thin the walls were where we had a group of younger people partying in the room next door, they finally went out at around 11 but got woke by them again at 3.30 when they came back. The parking you need to pay for at £5 for 11 hours. and the breakfast was very very basic, Jugs of squash (not even a cheap fruit juice) then cornflakes or cornflakes for cereal (no variety) and white bread for toast (it doesn't cost much to buy brown bread and would of been nice to have something other than jam to go on, so a very basic breakfast)

Room Tip: take ear plugs and anti bac wipes to make it a bit easier.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews about smart sea view I was a bit dubious about what I would expect but was very very surprised and Impressed. Our room was pretty basic but clean, comfy bunk beds and being about a mile up from the main stretch was peaceful when you wanted to sleep. Shower and toilets facilities were very clean, staff friendly. Will be coming here again, excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodlenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed here in a 4 person dorm with 3 friends at the beginning of August for one night when we were attending our friend's hen party. We didn't spend much time at the hostel - checked in and stayed for around an hour to get changed, got back at 2am after a night out and then left at 10am the next morning.

I think some of the reviews below are a bit harsh. Based on the experience we had, I think this place is fine if you're not planning on actually spending much time there and just using it as somewhere to sleep - and most importantly expecting hostel (not hotel!) standards.

The room seemed very expensive (£37 each) for what it was (bunk beds, no curtains and laminate flooring) but it was the cheapest option we could find as most of the hotels and hostels in Brighton had a 2 night minimum policy.

Some advice if you do choose to stay here:

- The room we stayed in didn't have any curtains so worth brining along an eye mask, especially if you're staying there in summer in order to avoid being woken up at the crack of dawn!

- It's around £6 for a taxi ride into the centre of Brighton so worth adding this onto the cost of the room when comparing with other hotels/hostels which are more central.

- Make sure you bring cash with you to pay (on arrival) as they charge 5% to use a credit or debit card.

- No towels are provided (although you can rent one for £2) so worth bringing your own along if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It's not Smart (anything but - see other reviews, words can't adequately descibe the depressing nature of this place), doesn't have a Sea View (some rooms may, but most don't), isn't in Brighton (it is firmly in Hove - check out the postcode! A mile and half walk to the centre of Brighton), and isn't a Hotel its a hostel!!! Reminds me of the films of that name. Apart from that it is great....
Avoid this place if you have any option - even the shelters on the beach are preferable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuanRicardo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews