We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smart Sea View
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Imperial(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kings Hotel(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Topps(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
17
40
60
46
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
40
60
46
80
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When you pay £13 for a bed in Brighton (Hove) on a Saturday night, you can't really expect very much, but we somehow still managed to leave feeling stiffed.

The sea view ain't a sea view (there are quite a few shops and flats in the way), but that didn't really matter anyway since you couldn't see anything from our basement-level 20-bed dorm. The manager on duty when we arrived seemed to take exception to everything we said, and enjoyed telling us that a number of surprising fees were included in the small print. We found out from a different manager that the only deposit required was for room keys (£10 each), but he was unable to explain this to us and seemed to be making up reasons as he went along. We had already tried to change our booking from 6 beds to 5 the previous day, but had been denied because we had only given 23 hours notice instead of the mandatory 24. There is a 10% surcharge if you want to pay by card on arrival.

The dorm was a little crowded but the beds were comfortable at least. 'En suite' bathrooms don't really mean much when you're sharing it with 19 other people, and while the showers were nice, they have a bit of a mold problem due to lack of ventilation. There was a lot of noise (and cigarette smoke) from the streets, a very creaky staircase above, and a bright green light on the ceiling which we weren't able to turn off. The sleepers in the other room were bathed in the glow of the bathroom lights every time someone used it during the night.

The 'continental' breakfast in the morning was literally just toast, cornflakes, and orange squash. Yeh, it was free, but it actually made the place feel like more of a rip-off, not less. We left and got a fry-up.

Overall: this place is extremely cheaply run, and it shows. Every expense has been spared. If you only want a bed to sleep in (and don't mind the 30 minute walk from the town centre), then go for it. If you're expecting anything more, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

When you're paying £30 a head for a seaview hotel in Brighton in the height of summer you know what you're going to get. We had a 14 bed dorm which looked like a prison cell. But where else would an entire stag do share one room? There was no toilet seat and we ran out of toilet paper. Whilst we were getting ready it started raining in our room as someone upstairs was incapable of using a bath. The manager immediately came in and sorted out the problem and offered us a partial refund and room exchange which we were impressed with but declined to accept. The shower was ridiculously low to the point where a vertically challenged individual would even struggle to stand up under it. Would definately stay there again for a lads weekend but seriously. If you're looking for a romantic weekend break.... Stay well away from this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Be open minded if staying here as not the Hilton. the room wasn't what I had ordered so make sure if you book to either ring the Sea view and clarify what you are booking. else you will be sharing with other people.
but we were moved to a different room with on suite.
all rooms are basic and facilities, but for the cost and being a hostel it was expected.
definitely suggest ear plugs eye mask. which I did take and had a good night sleep, as
lots of young people having fun, and being a listed building walls are thin, as they cant make to many changes as it is dated and could do with a re vamp which would make it better as the building is lovely.
you can come and go as much as you want.
Breakfast was edible but basic again but you could have as much as you like make sure your the first down at 8 as gets busy.
water was hot but again maybe wake early, four of us had a separate shower and still was hot.
There was no parking at hostel, but on road parking around the corner cost of £5 for 11 hours. bring money as they charge extra using cards. but you get the deposit back on door card, if not lost.
positives near the sea front 1.7 miles walk to Brighton lots of buses, lovely walk by the sea.
have fun be happy its what you make of it in the end. remember its basic and cheap.but I felt safe there.
we went 12th August weather was glorious which helped.

Room Tip: front of building as some you can see the sea, but there are building other side or road. ask for on suite as shared showers are not good as no windows so bit smelly.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneMcgowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

we stayed here on Monday 12/8/13, well to start with my friend booked it and stated she wanted a room with 2 x bunk beds, but when the voucher came it said what we wanted but also the small print stating (in very small words) that it would be in a shared dorm, my friend e mailed and phoned a few times stating what we had ordered was important due to my daughter already suffering from stress and anxiety, but this fell on deaf ears.
When we arrived we said this again but the man on reception insisted all was ok, when we got into the room we discovered there was already 2 other people in the room with their stuff all over the room, we went to the toilet that was along the corridor with NO hand washing in or around the toilet , so we had to go back to the room to wash our hands, we went out for a long walk and talked things through to decide we would go back to the hostel and get our things and then go down and check out, but the man on reception said we could upgrade for an extra £76, my friend kept saying she had booked a 4 berth dorm to which he said they didn't do rooms like that, so we stood firm and said we were going until he offered us a 4 berth room with en suite at no extra cost, this room was ok so we decided to stay but didn't realise how thin the walls were where we had a group of younger people partying in the room next door, they finally went out at around 11 but got woke by them again at 3.30 when they came back. The parking you need to pay for at £5 for 11 hours. and the breakfast was very very basic, Jugs of squash (not even a cheap fruit juice) then cornflakes or cornflakes for cereal (no variety) and white bread for toast (it doesn't cost much to buy brown bread and would of been nice to have something other than jam to go on, so a very basic breakfast)

Room Tip: take ear plugs and anti bac wipes to make it a bit easier.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews about smart sea view I was a bit dubious about what I would expect but was very very surprised and Impressed. Our room was pretty basic but clean, comfy bunk beds and being about a mile up from the main stretch was peaceful when you wanted to sleep. Shower and toilets facilities were very clean, staff friendly. Will be coming here again, excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodlenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews