We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional bakery”
Review of Real Patisserie

Real Patisserie
Ranked #3 of 13 Bakeries in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An exceptional bakery”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great for lunch/brunch/afternoon tea, they have an inspiring selection of sweet and savoury food. Great quiche recipes - today I had leek, spinach, feta and pine kernel. There are beautiful little pastries, macaroons, lemon tarts, pecan pies, moyeux, nougat, jelly&fruit tarts, chocolate torte etc, Ive enjoyed all those I've tried, except for a croissants which I found too heavy.

Really lovely bread (get there early as it sells out quick) which they cut for you. The sourdough rye especially I would really recommend!

Its a beautiful cafe, I always take guests there. Pretty expensive, and you'll end up ordering a lot but I've never been disappointed. Sandwich, coffee and pastry will be about a tenner, but you'd easily spend that on lunch anywhere!

Only space for about 6 people to sit comfortably at the table, so dont rely on eating in. Closed on sundays!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm, that's all i can say!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is rapidly becoming one of my favourite cafe's in Brighton. Although not in the centre of town, I would (and do) make a special journey out to Kemptown to eat here. There's not much in the way of seating availible, so you may need to wait around a while, but it is well worth the wait.
Their pastries, quiches, breads, soups, cakes, croissants...are all delicious, with the added delight of being able to see and smell them being baked. I'm not a coffee drinker, but I'm told that their coffee is really good too.
There do seem to be rather a lot of new cafe's around this area these days, but this one really stands out for me. Sort of wishing I hadn't mentioned this, cos now you'll all go, and I'll never get a seat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Gem”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Brilliant varied selection of take away croques, quiches, sandwiches, and cakes and soup. Or choose to sit in and enjoy the hustle and bustle of one of Kemptown's best Patisseries. Great selection of breads on sale aswell

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank brightscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macerata, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bread Fantastic...... and....”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Like some other reviewers this place has become a guilty treat when I am in Brighton - often I find myself in there most days for a cappucino and something. When the cappucinos are good they are really good but like the vast majority of places in the UK is depends entirely on who is making it - all too often they are a latte with a bit of froth on top - train the counter staff please!. Quiches can be seriously nice, though the last slice I had suffered from greasy pastry - different Quiche Chef? Their breads are simply fantastic! The atmosphere is great and a long communal table is available if you want to eat in rather than take away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sessoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I visit here often to pick up breakfast or lunch , the coffee is good, it has to be with Ground next door serving the best coffee in Brighton.
The pastries, tarts, cakes and patisserie are all without exception delicious. The savouries and in particular the quiches are superb, worth buying a whole one for family supper.
There are never enough staff on the counter therefore the service is often slow and can result in a queue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Well_travelled_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Patisserie also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Real Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing